Jackall Replicas? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Jackall Replicas?

Re: Jackall Replicas?

Quote Originally Posted by rob tranter View Post
    How about this one then Leigh77 and Roydsy.
    Do you attach them direct to your line or use one of those little clips?
    If the clip, does it change the action of the Lure?

I fished the Orara last weekend and used every lure in the box, including the jackall and lookalikes. Most success?
    One fish on a Smak16
    four fish and three misses on a jitta bug surface lure.
    The Jackall produced Jackall, but in it's defence, it was used sparingly due to the amount of snags about and it's monetry value
    It's good that you have success with them.
    I'm either to impatient or have little skill in there use or both

As far as my above question goes, I personallly use the little clips, and see no significant change in the lures action, others I fish with refuse to use them because they believe that they do change the action.
    Your thaughts?
    I always use a snap as well...the smallest size possible though (its still rated at 30lb). I could not be bothered tying a new knot everytime I change a lure. I have found no ill effects of using a clip in my 14 years of solid Bass fishing.

As for the jackall vs snag thing...I throw mine into the same spots I would a $3 lure. If you arent going to use a lure to its full potential then that lure will not work to its full potential...Tacklebacks and other lure retrievers are worth their weight in gold, so if you dont have one...get one!

And I have been known to go for the occasional swim to get a lure back too.

But remember that with any lure that you use...you must have confindence in that lure. I know for a fact that soft plastics catch bass, and quite a few of them. But I dont use them that often because the personal confidence just isnt there.

If you are fishing with the frame of mind "this lure wont catch fish" then to put it simply...it wont! Be confident in what you are using as the jackalls are a great product.

Quote Originally Posted by NOjacks View Post
    hi rob

ive had good luck with the kokoda coppies and the jackals mostly in natural colours. but im finding i dont use them unless im trolling. i have quite an addiction to slider grubs with "beetle spin" blades on them you get 3 blades in a pack for $6 and the grubs are usally $8 much cheaper and they work very well best colours are baby bass and purple

NOjacks
    I don't have any jackalls . I do have some lippless cranks tho'. Cotton cordell rattlin spots, Rapala,g-vibe and frenzy's. Havn't caught a cracker on any of them........also haven't tried some of them either. Thanks for the tips on retrieves. i was using them more like a plastic and just short hopping them along the bottom.....perhaps thats why i wasn't doing so well. Live and learn eh!

I'm with NOjacks. beetle spins and plastics combo has been my mainstay for wild bass for some time.

cheers, roo.

I reckon colours make a dif.
    Like I’ve used a certain lure for a while, changed to the same lure, dif colour and everything’s changed.
    Also been fishing with mates, and found later that day when comparing notes, than in spite of different styles of lures might have been used, colours have seen real trends in success and failures.

But apart from that, there’s also the consideration that dark colours work well at night to better silhouette them against the night sky, and I believe colours become les visible at different depths. For instance I believe the first colour to loose it’s ability to reflect light is red, which apparently goes almost invisible below 6 feet. So I’m told, I have no scientific knowledge of this.

I’ve bred rainbowfish and other Aus natives off and on most of my life, and something I’ve considered a lot (although have never resolved) is the different colour of native feeder fish in our rivers/creeks. I wonder what effect it might make on the fish feeding on them.
    Like east of the divide (south Queensland) rainbow fish are green/red, while west of the divide they’re blue/green.
    This might make sense of the green trends that are said to be best for catching natives such as bass and yellowbelly, cod..

Deep still water is the endemic area for purple spot gudgeons etc

The further north you go, the rainbows become more colourful, some chequered, some bold bright colours…

But then I’m completely unaware of any gold bombers swimming around the place, so who knows?

But I do believe they make a difference for sure. Then again I’ve been deceived before.
    I was just saying the other day I was so proud of an extensive collection of wonderful lures in every colour imaginable, my brother (who rarely fishes) was very impressed but pulled out his one and only lure he owned. A small toby. He caught 40 bass on it that arv, virtually fish for fish with what I caught.
    So much for showing off huh.

rob

Quote Originally Posted by roydsy View Post
    Feral are you not using tackle back or some sort of lure retriever? 3-4 lures is way too many! I am unlucky to lose a lure every 3-4 trips, not the other way around.
    Tried that, lost that as well!
    I am just a newbie to hard body lures, I am getting better! (Also using Frenzies, or cheap minnows from Ebay, I must admit if it looks like getting wet or muddy for a $4 lure, I give up easy! )

Mind you I threw away a $15 spinner bait on my last trip, Previous trip I had caught a barra just on close of the trip, and had not checked the leader afterwards. Third cast on next trip saw leader part, and spinner bait go sailing up the dam. Checked leader, and rub marks all over it, ouch!
    Last edited by Feral; 02-03-2007 at 05:34 AM.

Kokodas are great and at $5 each I can loose 6 for one Jackall

I bought my first Jackall TN 60 a few weeks ago ....... I dont know how good it fishes ... BUT IT LOOKS GREAT ON THE WALL IN ITS FRAME ! NAGG

I see a jackall look-alike called a
    -xps tri vibe crank-
    that looks very interesting, it's a hard body though, maybe metal. These have three different places to hook ya line onto, supposedly to get differnet depths I suppose? You'd all know better than I would.

-Berkley Frenzy-
    which has already been mentioned here as worth a look at. 21/4 inch.

-rat-L-traps-
    which I've had in my tackle boxes off and on over the years and never even attempted to use them. usually would have come across them at flea markets and such. they're always very large examples I've had though. Still have a couple, but they look a bit average I suppose. But then I know nothing about it all.
    -Cordell Super spot- in 2 and ahalf inch, and 3 inch sizes.

-Ratllin Rapala- these come sin 2 inch, 2 and 3/4 and 3 and 1/8 inch. These look real good. So far as one can tell from a photograph. I'd be real interested in what these are like.

Actually I just noticed this Rapala one comes in a 1 1/2 inch (35mm?) jobbie and is only 3 bucks american. That;d have to be a good size wouldn't it? Anyone got any experience with this beastie? I'd love to hear if you have.

Then there's
    -Lucky Craft Hardbaits Lipless Vibrator-
    There better be worth using, because they're selling for between 15-18 bucks each Americana dollars. Compared with all the others running at around 3 or 4 bucks each, they better be something special. They come in sizes 2, 3 and 3.4 and 3 and 1/2 inch. also look like hard plastic.
    But the ones that have really caught my attention for interest sake is this one

-Megabass Vibration x Ultra crankbait.-
    Can't be any advantage to use jackalls, after all, thy want 20 American bucks each for them, but they do look pretty good.

-Strike King Diamond Shad-
    in just about every size you can imagine and seem to be metal.

Yo Zuri make a real good lookin one called a
    -Hardcore Drum-
    in 23/4 inch. But again, aren't exactly cheap either. not like the jackalls, but still exie.

They're all ahrdbody types, but then there's some really grouse looking softies too, and they're pretty cheap, some down around a few dollars.

-Northland Lip-Stick jig-
    at 2 and ahalf bucks with 2 per pack they've gotta be worth a go. They look real good. Not too sure if you have to rig these as a soft plastic ina typical manner, or if they're a soft body in the same sense the jackalls are. But at that price it's gotta be worth a look.

Storm makes a whole bunch that are very reminiscent of the jackall (so far as pics can tell), called
    -Wildeye Live Shiner-
    being the most interesting one I reckon, at 2 inches long.
    the -Live Goby - looks the gear too.

There was another brand I saw a few weeks back that was specifically interesting because of the size of it. Whatever it was called it was a "wee" version of the original.

Anyone had any experience with any of these at all? I'm seriously interested.

cheers all
    rob

Last edited by robyoung2; 02-03-2007 at 08:47 PM.

Have used Rat L Traps, Rapala, Berk Frenzy, Cot Cordel, Mega Bass & Lucky Craft.
    Also Kokoda & River2Sea twin vib, and caught bass on all of them to some degree. However since I started using Jackalls I wouldn't even bother tying another vib style lure on my line, esp in a comp. They are that much better.

Thanks mate, I appreciate the sincerity, and experience.

rob

get the peacock coloured jackall no matter what situation they work. or the light blue 1s caught good bass on both

Hey Rob,
    Have stopped to do the conversion rate our $ to the septic $
    At $0.72c to the $1.00, the lures you're looking at could very well end up costing you more then they would if you picked them up here.
    Just a thought.

Our dollar was worth 80 cents last I looked, but even at 72 cents, most lures rom USA are worth the transfer rate.
    say a ardbody lure such as a manns 10+ US$ 6 , something like $7.50 Aus- and the cheapest I ever seen them in tackle shops around here is 16 bux. Maybe 13-14 bux, in some bizzare colour you'd never use.

Most hardbody lures from USa run 3-4 dollars, storms etc..good brands. Mind yhou, since I began using America some years back, Austrlian home made lures have come a long way, and are extremely well priced I reckon as a rule. Top lures wqit UAs fish in mind fr ten bux and so forth. Can't complain about them prices.

Things like norman
    'speed clips", what we see here as "Hawaii" clips. They cost nearly 20 bux for a dozen or so at BCF, and BAsspro has them for 2 and half bux american for 12. That's 3 dollars Aus if I order them from OS, or 20 bux bought local.

Cicada reef runners, I have no idea how much they cost here, but the smaller size in America is 2 dollars American. That's about 2.40 Australian.

Postage for an order at around 150-200 dollars is usually around 20-30 bux, so it's reasonable too.

I've been buying my gearfrom there for 15 years or more, but you're right, some things you have to watch out. Like anything they themselves have to import, once converted to Aus. dollars can be heaps more than ocal dollars. Just check their prices on Calcutta reels, they're by no means cheap.
    Their fishing rods are dirt cheap, even when a rod tube and insurace is added.

Plano Tackle boxes run next to nothing. A magnum 44 plano is only 26 dollars! I think they're over a hundred here. Plano 771 tackle boxes Their newsest and most fad one) is only 50 dollars. 130 here from memory.

I wrote an article and a bloke in USA I never met read it, and was moved by it (yanks are emotioal lots), He asked around and found Iliked to fish, and bought me a plano 7771 boz, a penn ultra lite reel, small ultra lite rod, 2 huge spools of line, lures, bla bla bla.. i calculated it at around 1000 dollars worth!
    Bu he prob only paid a few hundred (yanks are also very generous guys too).

Nilsmaster lures cost more in USA than herre, and a number of things. Some of those jackall look likes will run into more than jackalls, and I think that must be what you're thinking of.

Frankly I feel compromised buying the stuff from USA, because it's cheap due to cheap mexican labour and I'm a raised and bred trade union bloke. I detest slavery, but on a welfare pension as I am, it's buy it as cheap as poosible, or don't go fishing anymore.

rob
    Last edited by robyoung2; 04-03-2007 at 06:53 PM.

Well it certainly looks as though you know what your getting into then

I suppose you would after 15 years or so.

You don't know any other septic tanks that would like to spend a quid or two do you

Good luck with it all.

So can anyone honestly say that they have fished say a Kokoda tournament Gold G Vibe side by side with a TN60 Jackall ....... & the Jackall has come up trumps! ..... very keen to hear some responses
    I plan to toss a mate a couple of the Kokoda sprogs tomorrow night & compare them to Strike Pro Pigmys & Eco gear SX40s that I'll use ..... Yeh , Yeh .... I know ... but would you toss a mate a $18 lure amongst the oysters NAGG

Rob_tanter, mate, that blokes sendingme all that fishinggear,and I swear I didn't know him from a bar of soap. He was an interesting bloke but. Lives under police protction, gave evidence that saw that mafia family going down ten years back or so.

He ws an undercover cop for years.

Probably got more money than sense, and no future to save it for?

That's a bit mean huh.Sorry, shouldn't say crap like that

rob