Jackall Replicas?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Jackall Replicas?

Jackall Replicas?

A mate of mine in America is going to Bass pro to pick up some stuff, and wants to know if I want anything.
    I've never so much as laid eyes on a jackall (only pics on the net), and wonder if any of the brands carried by the Basspro mob might be similar?
    It's just a cost thing. I'm a vagrant, been scraping to feed the kids a bit of stale bread and water periodically on a disability pension for ten years now, and so wondered if I could at least try one of these weird looking lures, at a price I might manage.

I see there's a huge range of bibless lures of similar design, but have no idea really what's what in this area of lure expertise.

Anyone who know's their stuff on this subject would be greatly advising me if they had anything at all to add.

thanks heaps
    rob

Re: Jackall Replicas?

mate most of the lipless cranks work well,

anything similar to a jackall will catch fish,

hi rob

ive had good luck with the kokoda coppies and the jackals mostly in natural colours. but im finding i dont use them unless im trolling. i have quite an addiction to slider grubs with "beetle spin" blades on them you get 3 blades in a pack for $6 and the grubs are usally $8 much cheaper and they work very well best colours are baby bass and purple

NOjacks

Berkley Frenzies do all right as well.

I've used and lost a couple of Jackalls, personally I think they are aptly named, because you catch Jack-ALL. Although I did fowl hook a yella with one once.
    Can any of you enliten me on how to use this type of Lure even half successfully, as I have one jackall left and three surebite's. Rob I picked the surebites up for about $6 each as apposed to the $25 jack-alls
    As said by Robyoung2 any advice greatley appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by rob tranter View Post
    I've used and lost a couple of Jackalls, personally I think they are aptly named, because you catch Jack-ALL. Although I did fowl hook a yella with one once.
    Can any of you enliten me on how to use this type of Lure even half successfully, as I have one jackall left and three surebite's. Rob I picked the surebites up for about $6 each as apposed to the $25 jack-alls
    As said by Robyoung2 any advice greatley appreciated.
    That must be why they sell so well hey...because they dont work?!?!

I use jackalls everytime I go fishing for Bass, and have had great results with them...You use them in the same way you would any other lure. Whether it be casting to weed edges, snags, or out in open water.

Quite often when fishing weed edges you get hit on the drop.

My most common retrieve when using jackalls is a slow constant retrieve...with maybe the odd pause thrown in for something to do. Occasionally I have had success with the burn 'n' kill technique but 95% of the time a simple slow retrieve does the trick.

Quote Originally Posted by Leigh77 View Post
    That must be why they sell so well hey...because they dont work?!?!

I use jackalls everytime I go fishing for Bass, and have had great results with them............. Occasionally I have had success with the burn 'n' kill technique but 95% of the time a simple slow retrieve does the trick.
    They work very well at clarie hall dam and anywhere there is bass. I have tried the imitation jackalls and they all seem to produce less fish. Also agree fully with the real slow retieve and occasional pause. I cast, let it sink for a few seconds maybe mroe depending on the depth i am targeting, then slow retrieve, then zzzzzzzzzz I am on. I have also trolled with them on real slow days at the dam and had great success with a slow troll speed.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Thanks all, I've never so much as seen a jackall, (are they soft or hard, plastic or metal?) never got into the soft plastics either. Always used hard body lures and never had any reason to use others. The jackall trend has me entruiged is all.

thanks
    rob

Agreed the kokoda copies are good.
    I have had good success on them.

How about this one then Leigh77 and Roydsy.
    Do you attach them direct to your line or use one of those little clips?
    If the clip, does it change the action of the Lure?

I fished the Orara last weekend and used every lure in the box, including the jackall and lookalikes. Most success?
    One fish on a Smak16
    four fish and three misses on a jitta bug surface lure.
    The Jackall produced Jackall, but in it's defence, it was used sparingly due to the amount of snags about and it's monetry value
    It's good that you have success with them.
    I'm either to impatient or have little skill in there use or both

As far as my above question goes, I personallly use the little clips, and see no significant change in the lures action, others I fish with refuse to use them because they believe that they do change the action.
    Your thaughts?

.... The Jackall produced Jackall, but in it's defence, it was used sparingly due to the amount of snags about and it's monetry value
    It's good that you have success with them.
    I'm either to impatient or have little skill in there use or both

As far as my above question goes, I personally use the little clips, and see no significant change in the lures action, others I fish with refuse to use them because they believe that they do change the action.
    Your thaughts?
    I almost always use 'little clips' aka snaps, except when using soft plastics. yes, the fear of throwing $25 towards a heavy snag infested piece of water can make you use other, sometimes inferior tackle. However, I live by the philosophy use it or lose it. I would trade two of my other bass lures for each jackall as they are deadly in most situations.

I had the same amount of impatience with soft plastics until recently they out fished my jackalls. Just try slowing down your retrieve to the point of just about not swimming and see how you go. I love how you can fish them deep or shallow depending on your retrieve speed. The rattle they put out can be a positive and a negative. Sometimes I use jackalls with no rattle on slow days and have better success.

Roydsy,
    Thanks mate I appreciate your reply, although, "inferior tackle" , inferior fisherman maybe , I love my surface lures , as they've been the most successfull for me.
    Any way, do you think colour is a big thing, as I would have thought fish are colourblind.
    In my limited experience as a fresh water fisherman, I can't see where colour could make a difference, yet out west, a fair few believe in purple for cod.
    I have to admit that at a recent One Lure comp at Pindari Dam, I used a purple boomerang 65, and it worked, four hours flicking, two cod. (I hate to mention the number of fish the others caught.) Anyway, do you think colour makes a difference. I am going to Glen Lyon in a fortnight for another one lure, and I'd appreciate a bit of knowledge.
    As for Jackalls, a few of us went out to Chaffey Dam (Nundle/Tamworth), just after the Jackalls where released. Before leaving I rang the Tamworth Tackle shop for a few hints and he said, "mate get the jackalls, they're slaying them. My tackle shop didn't have any, so I bought the surebites.
    After two days, and only producing one follow on the surebites, these young fellas turned up and fisshed the same water as us and, sure enough, they killed it.
    What are you blokes using, Jackalls was the reply, they're briiliant.
    So Roydsy, I know they work, just not for me.
    YET

Jackall's catch fish, they are marketed extremely well, so catch fishermen also

Are they overpriced - you bet, but like most "premium products" there is a market for those who can afford them (generally either the idle rich, or those sods who can cast a lot better than me!), but for me generally loosing 3 or 4 lures a trip is the norm and I cant afford Jackalls, so the Berkley's and G vibes are my lipless crankbaits of choice.

Feral are you not using tackle back or some sort of lure retriever? 3-4 lures is way too many! I am unlucky to lose a lure every 3-4 trips, not the other way around.

Talking Re: Jackall Replicas?

Roydsy,
    Thanks mate I appreciate your reply, although, "inferior tackle" , inferior fisherman maybe , I love my surface lures , as they've been the most successfull for me.
    Any way, do you think colour is a big thing, as I would have thought fish are colourblind.
    Well i used to say no but on some days nothing but a jackall tn60 ayu works at clarrie hall dam when no other colour works. I do think colour has some affect and find green earthy coloured /toned lures work best for me. I am yet to gain any real success with surface lures so either i am too late getting out of bed in the morning for the surface action or i am not doing it right. Jackalls and soft plastics are a sure bet for me now, but surface lures... what the ???

I have about 16 jackalls now and slowly getting more sizes and colours to try out. Yes, I am obsessed with them, but when they work so well what can I say. I probably need to try out many of the other bass lures in my tackle box or trade them for more jackalls