Thread: Curtin Reef?

Curtin Reef?

gday all,

just wondering if anyone knows roughly where curtin starts and finishes in relation to moreton island? does it go right up to cowan cowan? thanks heaps for the help.

cuzza

Re: Curtin Reef?

gday mate,
    on moreton itself there are two white beacons that mark the boundaries of the reef and they arent a great distance apart.
    i assume it goes up to cowan cowan as its also known as cowan cowan artifical reef in some of my books.
    hope that helps
    connor

thanks heaps connor. are the beacons close to shore? also, do you know if the tangalooma wrecks go a fair way north from where you can see some of em? thanks heaps mate.

cuzza

Try around here

S27 06.677 E153 21.794

Honda

cuzza,
    the white beacons are on the island itself and are pretty visible from the reef. You will nearly always find that there are other people fishing the reef so u should definently be able to find it. As for the wrecks, im not a a bay guru so for all i know there could be more sunken wrecks norths of the visible ones. However, looking at some ariel photos i would say that they end pretty much at the last visible wreck.

there is some really good ground at the curtin atifical, so sound around and fish the change of the tides due to strong currents.

good luck mate , hope that helps.
    fisho

thank you very much both of you! i will give it a go connor, thsnks for the advice mate.

cuzza

Hi cuzza.

Mate, as has been said, the reef is readily marked by the two white markers on the beach. The problem there is that the steam trains take you straight into the reef and the current is also a problem.

The only time that I've pulled anything decent from there is on an incoming whilst anchored North of the northern maker.

The trick is to anchor uptide of the reef and try to entice the buggers out with cubing so they can't brick you on the reef..........cubing needs to be done when the tide has slowed though. I have pulled some huge Noahs and shovellies from this position too..........they seem to lie outside the reef on the sand.

I've tried the same technique fishing south of the southern marker on an ebb but never had any success for some reason.

Check the pic to see just how good is the cover for the fish and just how little chance you have of pulling anything big from the bottom! Try floating a livey or pilly mid water (about 25ft down) it has resulted in a few kingies for me around the 6 kilo mark. I reckon jigging may work there, but only mid water if you've to stand a chance of getting your jig back

oh!.........and if you want to minimise the risk of a lost pick..........bin the chain and just go rope.

Last edited by kingtin; 27-02-2007 at 07:41 PM.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.