PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 27cm Jack
Went back to my spot X tonight chasing those lure stealing Jacks and after being busted off again last night managed a nice little pup as a bit of revenge. Went 27cm and was caught on a gold bomber. I'm using 14lb fireline with a 20lb trace might be a bit underdone chasing the bigger ones could anyone tell me what pound line they are using for the bigger Jacks. Cheers.
If you tie a bimini double then a bristol knot for leader you will stop 99% of jacks when casting using 14lb. I use 25lb leader and 14lb braid and have easily turned jacks to 55cm while casting. If your getting busted off so easily on 14lb then your knots aren't up to scratch.
mate 6lb braid and 8lb fluro leader is all you need caught heaps 45cm to 57cm with that anything else is over the top you have to make it match although i catch all mine on the surface with poppers.
I don't know about the other blokes but I usually fish very snaggy spots in deep. Using 20lb braid and 30-40lb leader. I don't see it as an overkill when I'm getting bricked by big fish in the snags. Sometimes you need a bit of pulling power to get em out.
Still get blown away as well. The large leader certainly doesn't discourage a territorial Jack either.