Thread: Passage 24-02

Passage 24-02

Launched at Donnybrook with a mate at 5am. We were keen for a feed of crabs and I thought that after such a slow start to the season, it must surely be starting after the recent rain.

Dropped 6 pots in one of my regular muddy spots and then went back out and dropped 2 dillies with diver whiting bait at one of Shane's gun sandy spots. First 2 checks of the dillies produced nothing, so a call to chuck a chook frame in one of them as bait was made. Checked pots with 2 keeper bucks being pulled up, along with some massive jennies and undersized bucks.

Decided to go for a run up to the W's. Didn't result with anything other than a big bustoff and some undersized bream, fingermark and cod whilst fishing around some mangrove structure with slabs of mullet fillet.

Back to pick up pots and 2 nice sandies in the dilly with the chook frame. Ended up with a few bream as well, so not a waste of time today.

Have just polished off our share of the crabs for tea. Yum. Muddy could have been fuller but still got 2 good sandwiches out of it. Sandy produced about the same amout of meat. It was chockers.

Sorry no pics. When I take the camera, I don't catch anything.

PS. The carpark was very empty today at Donnybrook. Were we missing something?

Re: Passage 24-02

good to know about the crabs mate, as i'll be heading up that way tomorrow to spent the night.

where abouts is the W?

Re: Passage 24-02

The W's are up near the mouth of Coochin. We took a couple of pots up with us, but only got one small jenny up there. I've caught crabs up that way before, but not in the middle of the day when we were there.