Thread: Snyderglas Vs Gary Howard Vs Live Fibre

Snyderglas Vs Gary Howard Vs Live Fibre

Hey gang,

I was thinking about upgrading my bigger surf rod (13'6"). I've been having a prowl around the varios tackle shops and received conflicting advice, as is often the case. I want to put an Alvey 650C Surf Champion (20lb Platimum) on it, and it has to be 2 piece.

Before I'd started looking seriously, I'd pretty much made my mind up on a Snyderglas, as I've got an old mate who has had one for god-knows-how-long (at least 20 years), and every year on an annual trip I have a flick with it and really like it.

However, I've got a 12' Live Fibre with a 600B that I'm happy with, so a heavier model might be an option too, but these are a bit more exy without an obvious benefit that I could find.

I've also seen a Gary Howard rod (forget the name), that seemed quite similar to the Snyder.

What's the general opinion on these rods? Which of the three would you go for?

Thanks for any replies.

Good luck,

Re: Snyderglas Vs Gary Howard Vs Live Fibre

I like the 13'6" Live fibre for heavy surf and rock fishing.
    OneI use is rated to 15kg, it is a pretty heavy rod as far as Live fibres go, but will stop a train, and cast 6 - 8oz with ease, I use it with 15kg for snapper off the rocks, 8kg for mulloway/tailor.
    When I bought it the standard Wilson Livefibres came with proprietry guides and seat. Because I wanted Fuji gear on mine I had it professionally made.
    Nowadays I believe the standard Wilson livefibres carry Fuji runners.
    I also have a Wilson livefibre 'surf spin' which would be rated to 8kg I'm guessing, much lighter rod, came with Fuji runners, I have landed a 30kg Bull shark in the surf with this rod, fishes 8kg beautifully.
    Nothing wrong with the Snyderglas Magraphite range, beautiful rods also.
    I'm not familiar with the Gary Howards so can't comment.
    Personally I like the LiveFibres, strong blanks, good feel, cast well, reasonable price, however don't discount the Magraphite range from Snyder. Have a feel and see which you prefer, it may just come down to what sort of deal you can swing, and what line strength you want to fish with. Also how much you want to spend, there are more high-tech blanks from UK, US and South Africa but we are talking way more $$$ than the rods you mention.

Hi Mike,

I can't comment on the Gary Howard or the Live Fibre, but my Snyderglas does the job perfectly with a 650C on it. I also got a member who lives at Nundah to make me a lighter one from a 4132 blank, low mount, Fuji guides and matched to to 600B. It is so light and balanced I hardly know I've got it in my hand.

PS: remember that combo I got from you last year at the pub? Haven't used it yet, but I will. One day.

how you been old ledgend? have you been able to use the 4132 much yet?

my user name " SURF_SNIPER " as you can see has changed somehow.

my personal preference is the synder blanks but it is realy what feels comfortable for you. i steer clear normally of the factory made live fibres mainly because of the quality guides and reel seat. Ibelive fugi guides are the best in the bussiness.

I belive that Gary Howard builds up his beach rods using synder blanks and fugi gear.

there was a post with photo's i put up a while back when i went on a house boat up the straights. i was using a 10'6 live fibre rod and 6inch alvey which was one at the 2004 straddie classic . it snapped clean in two and is the first rod i have ever had break under the strain from fighting a fish. i belive it was due to bad workmanship and design of the rod i was using even though these rods sell for $130 + in shops.

if you wish i can put you in contact with a person ( guru ) who has ties to the synder factory and can explain in great detail all you need to know about the good and bad points of various different blanks.

Drew

My favorite medium surf rod is my trusty old MagSurf. It must be getting on towards 20 years old now and is definitelya bit softer than the newer models but is still a great rod.

Some of the Livefibres certainly look the goods but I have heard mixed reports

Hi mate

I was in your position not very long ago, looking for the same sort of rod, two piece, 13'6, to use with the same model reel and similar strength line, chasing similar beach species.
    Before i bought i did alot of research, and concluded that the Gary Howard Surfclassic was the best, but not by far. The snyder magraphite white tip surf was also a strong candidate, but i decided to by the Howard, because the stripping runner was on the bottom peice of the rod (snyder has it on the top part). This causes a lot of frustration when you try to transport the rod when collapsed, because the stripping runner is placed near the reel and causes the line to fly everwhere. the snyder and gary howard blanks are virtually identical.
    The Gary Howard is much stronger than the live fibre because it is not pure graphite, i find this fantastic when fishing off the rocks.
    It is reasonably priced, and built by hand with high quality components in QLD.
    The white fiberglass tips on the Howard and the Snyder, are a great advantage. these increase the casting distance considerably and improve touch.

Overall, go for the Gary Howard.

rockfisho

Hi Drew,

Was wondering what had happened to you. Now I know.

Mate, I haven't been using the 4132 anywhere as much as I would like, but it's deadly in light surf for bream and whiting with a 600B on it.

When people come around, it's the first rod I give them and they're all impressed by its feel. Trouble is, they want to borrow it then.

Gday Mike.

I did the same thing about 2 years ago.
    Time for something better than the el cheapos.

Found a Gary Howard Greenback 2 piece, all the good gear on it at that place at Tingalpa. Good price too.

All thats ever been on it is a set of gang hooks. Have got Bream, flatties, dart and as the name suggests,greenbacks. Great feel and its stiff enough so the tip doesnt wander around when Im casting pillies and a bit of weight.
    Very happy with the quality and overall feel of the rod.

My 2 cents..

I have no idea about 2 piece rods, but for snyder verse live fibre, I reckon the fibreglass is far better. But that could just be what I was brought upon.
    My brother was never much nto fishing, and bought a magsurf and reckoned he'd found the holy grail. I had a few casts with it and couldn't give it back quickly enough. Just personal traitsa I guess. I found the rod was too light for really belting into the surf with any aggression. Again, that's just what ya used to I guess.

I reckon the best full blown surf rod (tailor etc) is a 4162. It costs a little more to make up because the blank is so thick, the read seat gets expensive. Seems to add a fair bit to the price.
    But all matters of money aside, it's a gem. Originally designed as an extended rod by the garvin brothers at Ballina, it was mainstreamed for mas production. So it's a 4162 blank, formerly known as the "Garvin" blank. Casts a mile, un-weighted pilchard or lightly weighted.

For lighter surf, a 4132 is without comparrison, dart, bream etc.
    In very light surf/estuary, snyder make a blank called a HHGT, man that's a legend, but we're getting into lighter rods there. Suited to 6 inch reels. And it's a carbon composite i think.

I don't know if they still make em, but if you want a nice light surf rod, butterworth used to have a rod called a "Gold Coaster", with an even lighter version calld a "Hastings".

I imagine any of those (barring the HHGT) could be easily enough adapted to a 2 piece rod, although I would consider doing so to the 4162 a sac-religous move.

rob

I've never bought a howard rod, but isn't that just the brand of person who made the rod up? Nothing specifically different about the blanks per sae as far as I'm aware.
    Last edited by robyoung2; 26-02-2007 at 05:26 AM.

My 2 cents,
    just got back from a couple of weeks at Straddie, took a 13'6 Wilson Live Fibre and a light 13' Wilson and a smaller Howard Swallowtail. Ending up fishing with a bloke who had the Howard surf with the white tip, and i tried it out... what a rod.. can cast it a bomb but not as stiff as the Wilson.... I reckon either rods,

Thanks for all the replies fellas, there's a lot to think about there. I'm glad I didn't settle for the conflicting advice from the tackle shops, and decided to add the conflicting advice from the Ausfish community in there too

Only kidding

I really value your opinions, and thanks all for taking the time to repond.

So far, I make it:

Live Fibre: I
    Snyder: IV
    GH: III

I'll let you know how I go.

Good luck,

Quote Originally Posted by theoldlegend View Post
    PS: remember that combo I got from you last year at the pub? Haven't used it yet, but I will. One day.

This is a scurrilous lie. I've never been to a pub

Sorry to hear that TOL, I know the feeling - I've been really busy lately and haven't been out myself in 7 weeks. I even have to work this weekend - I'm considering the public service .

I reckon you might snag a trolled mack or a pull up a reefy at the 1770 M&G this year, if you don't use it before then.

Hope you (and Mrs TOL) are keeping well.

Good luck,

Quote Originally Posted by surf_man View Post
    my user name " SURF_SNIPER " as you can see has changed somehow.

<snip>

Drew

Hey Drew,

Thanks heaps. I've seen some of your reports and pics from up at DI. I've got to say you're in a different league from my exploits, but it's good of you to take the time and great that you reckon the Snyder's the go.

Good luck,

glad i could help mike.

just another note, Garry Howard does build up his beach rods using synder blanks. i have not seen his layout/ guide placments for certain blanks that your looking at however i do suspect his rods a built probly a bit better then the factory synders that you can buy from the tackle stores around the place.

if you are serious, for the style of rod you are looking at, i would strongly suggest you find a reputable custom rod builder to build it for you, 1 on 1. there are some tricks/ items that can be added and used to these blanks that make them lethal beach fishing weapons.

example, the old wire stripper runner can be done away with and a fugi hh40 ( ala spinning rod guide ) can be used in its place as the stripper for your alvey. this will incease casting distance off the bat.

some blanks also benifit greatly from butt exstensions/sleeaves making the inital blank longer giving it totally different characteristics.

i saying all this, there is nothing wrong with the GH made rods for a genral purpose beach setups.

Thanks again Drew - a couple more questions, if you've got the time

just another note, Garry Howard does build up his beach rods using synder blanks. i have not seen his layout/ guide placments for certain blanks that your looking at however i do suspect his rods a built probly a bit better then the factory synders that you can buy from the tackle stores around the place.
    A couple of the places I've been in have been pushing the GH Surf Classic, which I admit I liked the feel of. It didn't escape my notice that neither of these shops carried Snyders

Anyway, some of the reasons were that the GH had a better ferrule to join both sections (remember I'm after 2-piece) , the warranty's better (which I'd hope I wouldn't need in a quality rod), Fuji components. I might have picked one of the blokes up wrong, but I think he said that the GH's a graphite or composite with glass tip, whereas the Snyder's all glass.

He also reckoned that the blank was a Pacific Graphite something or other as opposed to a 4162/4132 Snyder one, which really confuses me as I'm sure GH gets his blanks from Snyder

if you are serious, for the style of rod you are looking at, i would strongly suggest you find a reputable custom rod builder to build it for you, 1 on 1. there are some tricks/ items that can be added and used to these blanks that make them lethal beach fishing weapons.

example, the old wire stripper runner can be done away with and a fugi hh40 ( ala spinning rod guide ) can be used in its place as the stripper for your alvey. this will incease casting distance off the bat.
    Now this is as interesting point. I don't have a stripper on my current rod, and one of the reasons I was looking at replacing it was to get one with a stripper, assuming that it would help with distance. So how does the hh40 improve performance over the stripper (it's surely not just as big?)

I guess I wouldn't rule out a custom job - what's a ballpark figure for a rod like we've been discussing with the mods?

Thanks again mate, you're a great help.

Good luck,