Thread: Flatties & Jack Clear the Cobwebs

Flatties & Jack Clear the Cobwebs

G'day all
    After spending almost 4 weeks over in the U.S. with work (and Richieboy) I was keen as to clear out the cobwebs with a SP session down at the 'Pin (especially after spending heaps at Bass Pro). On the water before 5am, out to the mouth, managed a nice tailor on the troll then over to Kalinga chasing flatties. First cast, birdsnest! Do'h, bit rusty, second cast... clunk, that felt familiar, yep I'm on as I bring a nice 67cm flatty to the net. Scored another four all around 50cm before I decide to take advantage of the overcast conditions by fishing a really shallow weed bed that I know works in low light conditions. Scored another three flatties, biggest going 64cm and a solid, fat bream at 31cm, nice. At the end of this area is a little snag near some oyster covered rocks, in goes the 4" Gulp, bang!!! Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, sh*t sh*t, I don't think I'm in charge of this battle, manage to turn him then he slugs it out in the deeper water. I was thinking trev but I eventually slide the net under a little jack and i was stoked as I have never got one out of this area before. Only small at 35cm but he went hard. A great session to clear out the rust and the cobwebs.

All caught on 6lb braid, 10lb flurocarbon and successful lures were 4" Gulp minnow in pumpkinseed, Squigdy shad in red & gary glitter and 4" bass minnow in watermelon. Sorry guys, no pics due to flat batteries.

Re: Flatties & Jack Clear the Cobwebs

Nice session...Throw some batteries in ya fishing bag mate.....When you dont have them you will always catch a good fish.

sounds like a great session, and how was that bass pro shop? Been told its unbelieveable.

Chief
    Bass Pro is awesome, the place is massive. I went a bit nuts and bought a fair bit of stuff, would have got even more stuff if I didn't blow so much cash at the Vegas casinos....... Do'h!

Pistol
    It's my new ploy, I always seem to catch more when I don't have the camera, I think I might be on to something

nice way to get back into the swing of things

sounds like a geat session on the water well done.

Hey Murph, where is Bass Pro
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Murph: Typical mate. No batteries when the fish are on the bite. What are you thinking champ.
    Good to see you nailed a few anyways. Those lizards are starting to make a show. We'll get a sesh going soon.

Chief: He's got it one blowing the cash at the casino. As for me, I got up about $1200 for the trip. That's US dollars my friend. Murph, should have stayed that last night before we transited home. My big pay night was $600 bro.

Bar Up: BP is in the States mate. I'll get a few pics up later.

Rich

Richie
    Thanks for kicking me when I'm down mate about the casino. I went the other way, got about $600 up over the first weekend then slowly saw my profit get eaten away for the rest of the trip! We'll definately get a trip lined up soon mate