Ross River Barra - reliable back stop
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ross River Barra - reliable back stop

Ross River Barra - reliable back stop

Guys,

As promised a quick show and tell from Tuesday.

After scouring far and wide for a feed of barra for nil I finall gave in and listened to the little devils in my head and paid a visit to my usual spot on the banks of the Ross River below Aplins Weir. Needless to say the rocks were lined almost shoulder to shoulder with aspiring fishos some looking the part and others clearly just trying not to look like greenhorns - we all start somewhere (an' I bet the local shops were loving it).

In my 6 years in Townsville, I have not seen the rocks below the weir fire like this - this is reminiscent of Shady Camp up in the NT. Seriously.

Pretty much everyone I've spoken to has said to me that they have seen a fish been brought within 5 or so min. That's a case of stand in the line, when you get there if you haven't caught something within 5min, you're a Jonah - ya might as well sell the gear and go camping.

I'm almost tempted.... maybe up the ante a little and try poppering after dark. Yeah, I think I'll do that.

In the meantime, back to the show and tell. With the water still way up the bank, I had to pitch my gear a couple of metres up the bank and cast-netting for livies wasn't funny. I stupidly packed my 12ft draw-string which is hard to throw in normal circumstances - trying it with water up to the goolies well, you get the gist. Luckily, I managed a mullet and a handful of herring.

With there being plenty of flow, I went a lip-hooked livie on a paternoster out in the curent-affected deeper water. I dropped another livie in close near the edge of the 'drop off'. Well, it wouldn't have been 10mins when I spotted the shallow line jump. I got the rod out of the tube before the fish could feel any resistance (even tho' the abu 6500 was already in free-spool), pulled a couple of extra line off the spool to give the bugger plenty of time to swallow. Well, she fair took off away from the bank toward the centre and proceeded to tell one and all that she was attached to my rod (and my location) by jumping at least half a dozen times.

That's a lot for a bigger barra - and she continually went on runs away from the bank each time I thought she was done.

Finally ran her up the bank and after a couple of 'hail Mary's' to the fish gods, I packed up and went home with 94cm of barra under the arm and some restored faith in my fishing abilities.

Pic attached. Enjoy.

Mozza

Re: Ross River Barra - reliable back stop

AAAAAAARRRRRRGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am jealous. I went to the spot yeaterday. Rained like hell. Yes the rocks looked very busy with fisherpersons everywhere. On the Annandale side I watched a guy land something close to 1m.

Istruggled in the mud with my 9ft cast net to get bait. NOTHING except for 2 small catfish.(what a joke)

Ended up staying for 2 hours casting my lure everywhere.................came home wet and miserable and NO FISH

Next time

Good read mate....And super fish!...

Kev,

Man thats bad luck - have you tried getting livies at the Queen St roundabout - thats a pretty safe bet for livies this time of year (even the odd prawn)?

I'm going down tonight with a couple of SP's and poppers - might see you there.

Thanks Pistol_P

Mozza

Hi Mozza,

I was thinking of castnetting the Annandale side and carrying them over

how frustrating........................BUGGER

Hi guys,

A quick update.

I spent about an hour and a half flicking SP's on the rocks yesterday (Sat). Not even a bump.

And I didn't see anyone bring a fish in (my 9yo boy did). So my conclusion: with the tides neaping from 4m kings, the fish have perhaps headed downstream chasing some of the massive schools of fish further down the estaury. This is an interesting theory and perhaps someone has a good news story from further down the river.

Mozza

Well done Mozza, I 've heard the firfies, but your the fist i've seen with proof.

Kev, I might try down where i tokk you next weekend if the wind stay up, other wise i'll try for mackeral.

Mozza.

Your theory sounds feasible. That will mean that the early morning bigger tides will once again push the bait up to the weir and the Barra will be on in the mornings.

I have Friday off so I will hit Aplins early morning (5:30am) and see if I can get some live bait from the lagoon (Annandale side) and get them into the deep water where the flow is strong....................

Another quick update: tested my popper theory Sat night for ~hour or so. Nuthin' not even a bump and the other doz or so fishos (including 2 tinniies) weren't doing much better so might try poppering again Fri night.

Kev, priorities mate; go shallow first then put one out deep remember slack water = barra.... Going to troll breakwater Wed a.m.

See ya.
    Doug

Hopefully the wife will tag along and we can have 4 rods in operation

I am after the one that got away................it could take years for that happen again. I am sure we will use herring and mullet.

Good luck on wednesday.....................fished my spot 5am -8:30am..............not even a bite.

Many people but never saw a thing being pulled out of the water............once again heaps of bait around

Yep,

There's a timing issue here - look for the 'old salts' - when you see them coming to fish along the breakwater, that's the time to be there. These guys have all the knowledge...

Mozza

Kev,

Im keen for a friday morning session as well. Do you want to meet up? I'll be there from about 5.30am onwards. I just live 100m away on the annandale side.

Mozza - well done. I was there on the 19th for 2 hrs am and pm and saw 9 barra landed. Went home without a single hit and instead downed 6 beers and flew to melb a very pissed man.

Saw its still going over this morn as i walked across to grab a cab to the airport. At work now and get abck on thurs night

Hi Noodles,

Sounds great............5:30am should be good. It's still pretty dark but surely light enough to get some good live bait.

We will be there............great to meet up and hit the barra....He!he!

Kev,

Yeah no worries mate. I will be there. I will be coming down on the annadale side....meet at the gazebo there?

noodles

All good Noodles..............Gazebo at 5:30am