New PB Brissy River snapper
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New PB Brissy River snapper

New PB Brissy River snapper

Left White island about 5am this morning and headed for Mud Island. Conditions were ordinary to say the least but we persited and arrived at Mud to find we were the only ones there. First placcie in the water was smashed about half way to to bottom and produced a 40cm squire. Thought to myself, this is going to be a great session. Then nothing, nadda for the next 3 hours. About another half a dozen boats had turned up by now and with conditions worsening, the decision was made to head for the river a try the rock walls. First cast produced a 45cm squire, next cast produced an unstopable that bricked me in 2 seconds flat, then it went quite again.
    Moved around the corner into the river and about 10mtrs out from the rock wall. Cast towards the rocks and landed about 2 mtrs out from the base of the wall. Count 1,2,3, jig, jig count 1,2 whack, ZZZZZZZZZZZZ. Loosing line fast with 6lb braid, the engine was started to get some back. By this stage over 100mtrs of line had been taken parallel to the wall. I kept thinking, I,m gunna get bricked here. But about 10 minutes later and still in only 8 feet of water a new River PB snapper was netted. It went 73cm and was fat at 4.67kgs. What a rush. Man, I thought they went hard in 30 feet of water. In 8 feet it was a real dogfight. Got busted up twice more of placcies and also lost a hard body to a decent fish whilst trolling about 10 feet off the wall. There are some big brutes hanging around the mouth at the moment. All fish were hooked within 15 feet of the wall.

Foggy

PS marty+jojo. Is this more to your liking
    Last edited by foggy; 17-02-2007 at 05:55 PM.

Ausfish Platinum Member Aquarius's Avatar

Re: New PB Brissy River snapper

Graham thats one nice snapper for the Brissy river shallows.
    What plastic did the damage?
    A mighty effort to land it on 6lb string!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Cheers Brent

Awesome fish! especially since we were near there and didnt get a bite this morning..LOL
    by the 'rock wall' u mean the breakwater at the mouth of the river on the southern side? or somewhere else?

Great fish foggy , shot out to mud myself at 3am this morning same story as yours , first drop 47cm Squire and then zip as far a legal fish go .
    Lots of small stuff.

Lost one last weekend roughly in the same place and it was a horse. 73 cm in the river thats beats my river p.b. snapper . Your a legend with these snapps

Thumbs up Re: New PB Brissy River snapper

Great fish mate... ....I am still yet to get one that size on a plastic...
    you have made me hungrier!

You are amazing Foggy, just amazing!!

Nice Snap there foggy for the Brissie river

Mind you I recond it's about 71cm

Brag mats suck

Great fish and You're still champion...

Yep! Nothing bloody changes!!

Great work FOGGY and i await an invite sometime soon....

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Definitely a snapper magnet Foggy. Is there anywhere where you can't catch them? Top effort once again.

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Thats a ripper Foggy you would have been sweating on it not bricking you.

Avast ye matey!

Brent, Plastic was a 4" Gulp Grub in pumpkinseed with a 1/12 jig head.

Hamish73, Yes it was the rock wall at the mouth.

Black_Rat, You might be right about the size, or maybe the end stopper on the mat had dropped off the end of the esky a bit. Not sure either way.

Foggy

nice 1 there from the brissy river great stuff

cheers dave

Quote Originally Posted by foggy View Post
    Brent, Plastic was a 4" Gulp Grub in pumpkinseed with a 1/12 jig head.

Hamish73, Yes it was the rock wall at the mouth.

Black_Rat, You might be right about the size, or maybe the end stopper on the mat had dropped off the end of the esky a bit. Not sure either way.

Foggy
    Mate either way it's a ripper catch ! I only seem to attrack catties in the Brissie river