BIG Threadies - Another DOUBLE!!!! - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: BIG Threadies - Another DOUBLE!!!!

Re: BIG Threadies - Another DOUBLE!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    I can't imagine a bloke your size tires very easy, so that says how much of a fight these things put on. Well done, especially having the patience to wait that long until the fish came out from the snag.

Hi Scalem.With the light gear I really get an adrenalin rush,also on light gear I can't stop for a second.I only stop winding on the really powerful runs, but the second it slows(but is still taking a bit of line) I'm back at it to get every inch of line back.If I don't I'll be spooled.You can only put so much on them with the light gear,so it's quite full on.My wife says I'm the most impatient person she knows,but when it comes to fishing,well that's different.My biggest worry was how bad the line had been roughed up,and if it did come out,if it took off again would it break,so i backed the drag off more and Bob's your uncle.That was on my mind and I was preparing for MASS dissapointment If I did get busted off,as bringing it back against the tide was hard work.

Quote Originally Posted by heathrow69 View Post
    Sharkbait does it again!!!!!!!!

Well done on your effort mate, they are big ones thats for sure and you are right mate, when i talk to you you say now is the time and you deliver the goods, great catch mate!!!!

Congrats Mate!!!

Heath.

p.s it is about time i replied hey mate lol
    Thanks Heath.You know me mate,I don't Bull#@t about fishing.I'm assuming the reds didn't co-operate for you last night??Talk to you on Monday mate.

Quote Originally Posted by sharkbaithoohaha View Post
    Poodroo I just finished eating the wings,baked in the oven with a little garlic,butter,salt& pepper.Beautiful.They really are a loveley eating fish.Some say they are just like a saltwater Barra,but as I don't live up north I can't verify this.I would rate them better than snapper though.

Better than snapper???? I seriously need to meet up with you and have some tuition on how to catch these threadies. Now you have me wanting to taste them.

Quote Originally Posted by 2DKnB View Post
    Your not too far off the mark by saying they taste alot like Barra.
    I grew up in Nth QLD and the Threedie fillets would be sold down here as Barra.They even have a very simmilar W pattern in the fillets.

Cheers Dazza

PS. Couple of very nice fish
    Hey Dazza.You're spot on there about them selling threadies as barra.It's for this reason that they have done DNA finger printing on them to TRY and stop that from happening.As you say ,and I've heard it elsewhere that it's almost impossible to tell the 2 filletts apart.

Hi sharkbaithoohaha they are both mighty fish you got there, are they seriuosly from the brissie river?

Great work there!
    Let me know when you're taking students out for tuition, count me in

Ausfish Gold Member

Mate what can I say....... Thats a bloody ripper!

Cheers, Mick.

top work mate! 2 in one trip, u lucky bugger!

Thanks again guys.Timor 2 - yes they are out of the river mate.There was a right up in Fridays paper about them and apparently something Friday night on Channel 10.The paper said that they have only started coming in the river,but may I say that they have been here for at least as long as the aboriginals.He stated that they normally don't venture south of Noosa.Well I know for a fact that you will get them in the TWEED river.Scientists eh!!One thing for sure is that they are breeding in the river and there numbers are improving,but with papers and TV networks advertising the fact the good numbers may be short term only.I went out last night to get a stock of bait and every man and his dog was out fishing for them after hearing about it on the telly and paper.I didn't see anything but rays and catfish caught all night.LOL.It's one thing to know they're there and another to know when and how to catch them.
    Straddy - ! got 2 a fornight ago also and left them still on the chew.I only take what I can eat and leave some for next time.
    Blacked - I've had a few people show a similar interest and was thinking of starting up a charter.LOL

Hi John, OUTSTANDING fish there mate, I have an idea where you are
    after meeting you there the other afternoon while you were going for prawns,
    excellent fish keep going hard...
    stuart

Quote Originally Posted by stuartym View Post
    Hi John, OUTSTANDING fish there mate, I have an idea where you are
    after meeting you there the other afternoon while you were going for prawns,
    excellent fish keep going hard...
    stuart
    Hi Stuart,Thanks mate.I thought you might reply after meeting you the other day.The prawns have been hard but it was good to get the fish.As far as the location ,I hope you take bribes .I'll see you round.

flaming awesome catch!!!

What bait do you use mate????

My bro's mate got a little one on eel recently, and I have heard of a 1.1 m fish caught on an eel fillet just last weekend!

Awesome fish mate, great work on the 6lb string as well

Werewolf,I use live herring or big bananas.As far as using eel? well whatever works for your mate.As they say If it ain't broke don't fix it!!

Murph - Thanks mate.I know guys that get on heavier line,but for me the light gear doesn't put them off when they're finicky and it adds to the sport of it.I would rather have a good fight for 25-30 mins than a skull drag job and she's all over in 5.They're not that easy to get so I try to make the most of it.

Thanks sharkbait. I know a good little spot where I've got some big prawns before so I will give it a go sometimes. I've I get any herring I will be sure to use wire as the bities show no remorse