Thread: best hardbody for Jacks

best hardbody for Jacks

Hey Guys,

most of my jack fishing is done with livies however I want to start using hard bodies. Can anyone suggest a few to start with in the local Golod Coast creeks.

I heard the Gold Bombers are good but what else is worth a shot. The areas I fish average 2-3m

Re: best hardbody for Jacks

USE SP's Have had alot more success with them

Hi Yella,
    if your trolling deep rock bara and such try the River2Sea Downsider 120 a mate of mine swears by them for jacks on the Gold Coast.

cant go past the gold bomber i reckon, but have heard jack snacks are a good lure.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

do you just use the small bomber geoff with the small bib (Shallow runner),
    I saw one in the mart the other day that looked about 100ml long

G-day yellahunter. Mate i use the 15A which is the 1 about 110mm most of the time but the smaller bommer also works well. Try stuff like the Manns strech + range, Lively lures Mad Mullet, Riedys Goulbourn Jacks, C-lures Jack Snacks and Mac's Jackhammers. All these lures cover different situations and conditions, casting or trolling. Dont just fish with HBs as plastics work really good aswell. Hope this gives ya a bit of a start.

Cheers Whytey

plastics do work. my mate got a good jack today on a 50mm bloodworm squidgy
    wriggler and i got a small jack and two nice BIG moses perch, 4 mid size bream, a little flatty and a big eye trev all on a micro mullet in fluro pink (i have found a new turn-to-lure 4 muddy water) go the mad mullets they DO work, and i have been smashed up using jacksnacks in the fire oringe colour. good luck
    ps. jacks love live prawns, give them ago if the lures ain't working for ya

The best I have heard for jacks is a stetch 12 hotllips and a red mini blitzbaga

Go to anglers warehouse at Tweed and ask for the bomber in "moretien".

Cheap ones so it doesn't hurt so much when the bastards brick you.

No doubt in my mind. The smaller deep diving Gold Bomber, the one with the big bib trolled or cast. Up grade the hooks to Owner and hang on.

Kind regards... David

Any hardbody in gold and black colors. The colors are more important than the brand.

Reidys B52s are my favs.
    Berkley Frenzys are excellent cheapies if you are likely to lose a few.

Cant go past Prawnstars, but they arent really a hardbody.

Mate if you use bombers definetly upgrade the hooks they bend no worries

Without doubt the best two lures I have found are The Rapala Skitterpop, in The flouro green colour and the River2sea bubble pop 88 in the goldy colour. I have caught all my jacks on these 2 lures......hang on, Ive only caught 2!!!!!!Smiley face Smiley face

why are bomber lures so low guage hooks for the fish they can catch. they are not exactly a cheap lure.