Thread: Tweed River - 11th Feb

Tweed River - 11th Feb

Hit the Tweed well before dawn on Sunday for yet another shot at the red terrors. Started by trolling rock walls and managed to land a 46cm Big Eye Trevally on a deep diver - I seem to be a magnet for Trev's, as I generally get a few every session.

As the tide started to run faster I moved on and decided to cast hard bodies at a shallow rock wall. First cast and I hook up, but the hooks pull after a couple of seconds. I was not happy as this felt different to a Trevor, so I cast to the same spot and within two casts hooked up and stayed connected. I quickly moved the boat into deeper water and then got a glimpse of colour - didn't look like a Trev, but wasn't very red either. After a quick fight I wrestled the fish into the net and cracked a smile - a 40cm Tweed Jack was lying on the deck. Couple of quick pics and the fish swam free.

As the sun came up I decided it was time to chase a feed so switched tactics and began chasing Flathead. Working along the edges of rockwalls and weed beds I caught a number of just legal and undersize Flathead, but threw them back confident of getting something slightly bigger. After a bycatch of Bream, Cod and something with black stripes, I managed to land a 50cm Flathead that went straight into the esky for dinner. With that it was time to call it a day.

I realise this is fairly small as far as Tweed Jacks go, but I have put in many hours learning to fish the Tweed this Summer, so I was wrapped. The irony is the water temp was down 2 degrees on the last couple of weeks and that is when I managed to finally land a decent Jack - there goes that theory!

My wife says now I have got a legal one I can relax and not fish as hard as I have - yeah right

Marty
    Last edited by marty_z; 12-02-2007 at 11:20 AM.

Re: Tweed River - 11th Feb

Well done Marty. They certainly soak up a fair bit of time those jacks. Hope to see a few bigger models from you shortly. What HB bought him undone?

Whytey

the hard work pays off, nice jack and awesome photo. keep em coming marty.

great work mate,

hey what sort of lure is that hanging from its gob

Thanks guys

The lure is a tilsan barra - jaffa colour. Bought it two days earlier just for Jacks, and this was the first time I had used it.

Whytey,

Watching your regular Jack posts has been hard for me to take - hope I can return the favour
    Last edited by marty_z; 12-02-2007 at 01:17 PM.

nice jack mate,great colour on him
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Well done mate , heres to many more

Nice one marty. The jacks have been getting flogged lately in the tweed. Nice to see a catch and release amoungst all the keepers I've seen recently.
    Nice colours on that jack too. Well done.
    Pete.

Nice one mate....The tweed seems to be fishing well....

Hey Pete,

In my opinion Jacks are too good to catch just once - especially with the hours I have spent chasing them recently

Haven't heard much from you lately - work been busy or just laying low?

I've been fishing alot still but mostly south of the tweed, just haven't posted up any reports There were heaps of trevs in the tweed the other night, also some jacks and giant herring too. I saw a school of eight 40-60cm jacks while snorkling the other day aswell so might have a crack at them soon.
    Pete.

I hope not marty ive still gota break 50cm this year and i dont wanna have a redless period for too long. You better not have jinxed me

Matthias. So where have you been snorkling lately

Yeah all the hard work and may i add money spent is all worth while for the adrenline rush of a jack. Nice catch mate

Seem to be a lot of people getting Jacks at the moment. Congrats for getting one too. Nice healthy looking fish!!!

Onya marty, youve put in some hours on the tweed this season. Thats a good jack, and nice release.

You havent missed too much from my end of town. I got 2 jacks so far this season, both from the usual haunt. Been trying some new spots mid river and up saltwater creek with livies, but getting 4-5 catfish a session, arrrgh.

Getting reports from a local of big jacks in the paddock last week, but after this rain, that might shut down.

Im so busy I only get on ausfish once a week now, but I still get time to fish at nights once a week.

My wife said something similar to yours, last jack I caught, but I think I relaxed for about a week until I got itchy feet again. Satisfaction doesnt last long, eh...