Thread: Prawn bag out!

Prawn bag out!

Hey guy's
    Went out on friday arvo to a new spot for a change.Caught a few live prawns for bait .Didn't have to wait long before I was tying new traces up.(Got smoked 4 or 5 times on 6 kg)Some big fish dealling with me in under 2 secs .
    I managed 1 at 44 cm whitch was my first Jack landed in a long time.
    Went back early a.m saturday with a mate thew the net here and there struggling to get bait.Then at about 5.30 or so started to get prawns,well they just got thicker and thicker .
    Ended up bagging both of us out and back at ramp by 8.15.
    Went back yesterday 5.00 -6.30 a.m and didn,t even throw the net,not a prawn to be seen, about another dozen boats looking with no luck either.

Re: Prawn bag out!

Nice work Dodger.If I can ask ,roughly what area do yo fish??

Nice feed there dodger looks like we might have a good prawn season,and as sharkbait said roughly what area did you get them at .cheers snas
    THOUGHT OF THE DAY

Live life like a dog,If you cant eat it or hump it ,
    pee on it and walk away.

The boat went in a @ Jacobs well ( home ) and the fishing spot is some were around the otherside of Kangarro island.Plenty of deep water and snags.Good place to get out of a sou easter.
    As for the prawns,they were caught someware along the way.
    I have to be a bit carefull as I have had them too myself since the weekend before (3rd &4th)
    Last night & this morning we have had about 100mms of rain here @ jacobs wellso were they are now is anybody's guess.

Dodger.

thankyou very much Dodger,enjoy them prawns
    THOUGHT OF THE DAY

Live life like a dog,If you cant eat it or hump it ,
    pee on it and walk away.

Me thinks it's time to buy a new cast net! A nice new 10 footer with a top pocket!

Dorado
    ...in case of emergency, take me fishing

Cheers Dodger.I know that area and think I know where you got them.I'll send you a PM.

Great Jack and a healthy catch of prawns. Looks like they've arrived and I'll be looking forward to getting a few when I get back.

Rich

Great report and a beaut little catch. Good to see they have arrived.

Last edited by Blackened; 13-02-2007 at 02:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sharkbaithoohaha View Post
    Cheers Dodger.I know that area and think I know where you got them.I'll send you a PM.

I tried to reply but it said user not found error.Dont have many posts up ,that might have something to do with it!?

2 weeks ago they were pretty thick in an area we were crabbing in. We actually had some jump in the boat while moving. One guy got about a bucket in an hour.

Than last week we didnt see any???

It was a super king tide when he got them and unsure whether that had anything to do with it.

good feed there dodger
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

That would be right

I live 10 mins from the Logan river, 30 mins to Jacobs well, but I went to the Pine river to check out some rumours about prawns over there. I got covered in Jellyfish slime ( itched like crazy!!), caught a total of 15 prawns, and you bag out right under my nose. I'm happy for you.........

Last edited by Scalem; 13-02-2007 at 08:03 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by dodger. View Post
    T
    <snip>
    Last night & this morning we have had about 100mms of rain here @ jacobs wellso were they are now is anybody's guess.

Dodger.
    Give Never Never Creek a go...............I always do well in there after a wet. There's a hole where another creek runs into it where the prawns seem to ball up. It's more than halfway up and on the right is as near as I can tell you

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Nice feed Dodger.
    Looks like it might be time to get the net out and give it the once over.

Cheers Dazza