Thread: If you could - what would you have

If you could - what would you have

Gents,

Would you beleive I'm looking to move on the beloved Landy I'm still not convinced of the idea but I'm working on it.

It's time to put the prejudices aside and give some open thoughts on what you like about the current 4WD wagons on the market.

I'm prepared to look at everything and basically require the bus to go offroad but at the same time add a level of comfort on the road for the new family that the current Extreme doesn't have.

Every make = every model - what would you have if you had nothing to worry about- and I think the important thing - WHY!

PS - took a new SE TD6 Auto Discovery for a ride today, and then followed it up with a Range Rover Sport. These guys can really build 4wds that will go places and ride really well. They both have their little issues that I'll bring up later after a few more posts.

Over to you.

Re: If you could - what would you have

TD 3000 Prado I bought mine in sep 2006 ... It's every bit a top 4X4 , Oh what a feeling Toyota !!!

Hi Brett, i have been with Nissan Patrols for many years (4.2TD)
    at one stage i was looking at upgradeing and looked/driven many 4b wagons and i must say if i went out and brought one today it would be the new Disco V6TD,
    it out preforms the Yoda n Troll off road, plenty of power for the highway and heaps of Nm for towing, but thats MHO
    all the best on what you end up with

Mark p arnt they a bit gutless and use about 13/14 lts /100klm,iam looking at something smaller then my 100series(also gutless) which isnt going to cost $60/70 to just do an overnighter somewhere,always did likethem but was put off by the motor

Ausfish Platinum Member jimbamb's Avatar

Seen /heard some interesting things about some new fourbys. It seems the electronic traction controll works 2 well in sand and effectively locks the wheels up thus making them useless.
    There was a bloke talkin/tryin to talk to john laws the other day about this in a rav 4..apparently he burnt the clutch out tryin to get it to go thru soft sand.
    Could be they think they are smarter than the driver.
    maybee worth considering if buying a new one

Good question Brett. ! If money wasn't an issue, it would be a case of " you can't have too many 4 x 4's ".

Different horses for different courses.

To simply take all the gear one requires to camp on Fraser Island for a month and tow the 685 Cruiscraft, a 7ltr V8 Diesel F250 / Dodge Ram etc.

For a everday use, loads of extras, towing capacity up to 3 tonne and heaps of grunt, the Nissan ST-X will do the job ( and you can have it in Manual or Auto, Diesel or Petrol ).

To me, the 100series and Patrols are on an even par, but I do like to big 6 cyl diesel of the Patrol.

If you want something that has all the bells and whistles, and then some, like " seat warmers ".... Jeep Cherokee might be it !!

Then again, I haven't had a ride in a Hummer

How's tassie these days ?

Catch up soon , say g'day to Missus Bugg and the little Bugger

Quote Originally Posted by sjp2 View Post
    Mark p arnt they a bit gutless and use about 13/14 lts /100klm,iam looking at something smaller then my 100series(also gutless) which isnt going to cost $60/70 to just do an overnighter somewhere,always did likethem but was put off by the motor
    Mate my boat weight is about 1750 empty . We towed it to hervey bay at crissy & yes its a tad thursty , but sat on 110km when possible .
    The 2007 model has common rail , so its got a bit more torque . Overall im very happy with the whole package !!!!!

Its a Holden v Ford argument.... All i can say is test drive them.. I went into my 4by purchase without any pre-concieved ideas.. ended up getting a Patrol... Why?... suited my needs... specs/price/capabilities....the Landy was more refined onroad than the Patrol but i didnt like that, i wanted the more direct feel the Patrol gave... for me it was as simple as that.. i preferred how the Patrol drove to the Landy. The Landy was way more comfortable etc but didnt click with me.

As for the Range Rovers.. ignore me here but ive owned 2 English built cars and both where a nightmare , I know im jaded on this... nice cars but unreliable/expensive etc...but thats my opinion.. i still reckon you cant beat the Landys or Patrols for a big 4by.

For comfort on road etc maybe the new Landys are for you...I reckon just test drive them all... your bum on the seat will tell more than i can

mike

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Then again, I haven't had a ride in a Hummer Their crap, so your not missing much.
    Have you checked out the soon to be released (April 07 in Aust ) JK Wrangler - Rubicon Unlimited model.
    The Unlimited is the longer wheel based 4 door variant, the Rubicon package includes;
    • Factory standard 32" tyres - a special edition BFG, totally new tread design, not available to the general public yet, unless you have the Rubicon.
    • 4.1 geared transfer case (extra low crawling)
    • sill protection
    • 3.8 V6
    • Front and Rear factory lockers (ARB rip offs)
    • Dana 44 front and rear diffs.
    • heaps of other real 4x4ing accessories.
    • It's a totally new Wrangler design.
    Unfortunately the Deisel vesion is not available with the Rubicon package.
    To fit 35" tyres all that is required is a 2" lift (and they will be legal based on the OEM vehicle specs).

Just my 2c.

Hi Brett,

Even though I love my lux, if I was going for a big wagon it would be the Patrol. The solid front axle would be the seller.

If you wanted a slightly smaller wagon it would have to be the Prado. My father travelled around AUS in a 100 series cruiser, he reckons his next 4by will be the Prado. They are the size of an 80 series, the new ones have the common rail diesel and both the diesel and petrol have ample power.

However, I am yet to see the new jeeps. Everything I have read so far backs up what Fat Chilli said. By the looks of the extras available and the mods that may be legal, it seems like the best choice. I would recomend driving one when they come out to see if they are your cup of tea.

Good luck with your new 4by.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Brett you are a Land Rover man and I don't think you would be happy to drive anything else.
    The Disco's are a nice truck and even I had a second look.
    Kev.

disco's are great, but its the re-sale that kills you. i own and can't go past the prado, 2500kg towing, smooth ride, all the bells and whistles. gxl is around the 50k mark petrol auto.

Quote Originally Posted by lippa View Post
    disco's are great, but its the re-sale that kills you. i own and can't go past the prado, 2500kg towing, smooth ride, all the bells and whistles. gxl is around the 50k mark petrol auto.
    Yeah heard it before. Everyone knows that even GOD drives a Toyota.

Kev,

I'm really open to looking at all vehicles. Believe me there are many things which will prevent me from going Landy second time round.

I probably should let you know what has happened to Fergy in the last 8 weeks. $8k worth of upkeep and that's just motor and clutch. Seems electronics don't go that well with a hard life on the sand.\

It would seem that if you want one of the electornically controlled everything 4wds then you need to turn them over regularly to give someone else the issues when the things start going bad. I've kept the Defender for probably 12 months too many.

Having said that they seem technically so far advanced than any of the others - although I haven't gone Jeep in detail yet.

The Disco and R/R Sport (built on Disco tech) are amazing cars - the gearbox, suspensions, powerplant - it basically means you don't have to drive the thing - it does it itself. If you haven't driven one it's worth having a test drive. The three stage air bag suspension is a nice bit of kit.

But the electronics that make it so impressive could also be it's long term downfall. That and the fact that the SE Disco is around $85 down here with the things you need. And in all that you still get manual seat adjustment??????

The Rangie has it all and drives like a race car but things like the auto rain sensor windows etc means you don't really want to break anything because I can only imagine the replacement costs. That and the $105k price tag is really offputing.

Phil - The Prado is definitely in the running but even the new common rail deisel doesn't sit you back in the chair like my current Landy with the upgraded ECU. Like Lippa says their resale is also fantastic.

The Nissan is my next solid look - and then Jeep. I've got to keep Leanne and Harrison in comfort now apparantly.

Everyone is good here - but I've lost your mobile number. New phone.

Lippa,

The Rovers are also 3500kg towing weight