Thread: Good Mud midweeker

Good Mud midweeker

Took fellow ausfisher fishing rocks out to Mud today to try and break his SP virginity.

Arrived at midday and the first hit was a steam train. It was definately a snapper and it was a biggun. 30 seconds after hookup and it was all over, literaly. I had been spooled by a brute. 150mtrs of new 10lb braid gone. Dissapointed but if you fish light its bound to happen every now and then.

Over the next few hours, we must have caught 20 or 30 snapper ranging from just under legal to 60cm. Also mamanged a nice 60cm cod to top off the esky. Lost another good one after being bricked on the bottom and lost 50cm specimen to a shark. He left me the head only. Als managed half a dozen small school mackeral but none were legal.

The sounder was alive with bait sometimes filling the screen from the bottom to within 10feet of the surface. I have never seen so much bait. I guess thats why the mackeral were everywhere.

Ended up keeping 6. 30cm,40cm,43cm, 46cm, 48cm and the 60cm plus the cod.

Back at the ramp by 5pm. Another stink boy converted to the dark side. Not a bad session for bankers hours. Gulps in watermelon and pumpkinseed with 1/6 weight jigheads did the trick today.

Sorry no photo's. To lazy.

Foggy

Ausfish Platinum Member alleycat's Avatar

Re: Good Mud midweeker

great trip for that time of day froggy, what depth they in?.

great outing Foggy - shame about losing all your braid - must of cut you high up the line? normally we lose our leader only! top effort mate.

You guys had great day and shame about braid spooled out...What was lb?
    Was there many boats around?
    Last edited by Silent; 08-02-2007 at 08:25 PM.

Impressive day! Goes to show...mid week, little boat traffic. We just need to all change our working hours now!! L

Foggy, thank you for the report-sounded a great day- its a tuff life- - congratulations

Thumbs up Re: Good Mud midweeker

Ripper, mate! Sounds like a great day!!!

The conditions would have been pretty good also.

Well done Graham. We went out for a run last night. 6 - 9pm. No where near as successful, but had a similar problem with very big hits and getting spooled. I just could not land them on my 10lb braid. Some were vermin, but a few were definately big snapper.

The bait was still around as well.

Well done Foggy. I should have gone out with you because I have a reel that I want stripped of the old braid to replace with new stuff. Sounds like your steam train may have been able to help me get the old braid off without too much effort and time.

Good report Foggy,

I guess your stink boy deckie would want another crack at some more steam trains?? Was there enough time to throw him behind the controls and give chase? I guess not, but it must have been huge!!

great day and thanks for the info all helps