Noosa Trip

Thread: Noosa Trip

Noosa Trip

Howdy Folks

Just got back from a few weeks up at noosa heads. I have to say while we were up there the weather was really good, almost no wind what so every the first week, but the tides were not so good. High tide usually fell around mid day which made crossing the bar a little tricky early in the morning on the low tide, but managed to get through it every time with no hassles. the second week the wind started to pic up and conditions got a bit rough.

Fishing offshore was very slow and very weird. We fished from sunshine reef to chardons and came back with an average of 3-4 fish each trip and thats 6-8hours of fishing each trip, maybe the fish were on holidays as well. We had to resort comming back into the noosa river to catch a few bream to make up a feed hehe

Some of the fish we caught

Wahoo
    Black King
    Pearl Pearch
    Snapper
    Parrot
    Trag Jew
    Moses Pearch
    Scorpion Cod
    Mouri Cod

Here are some pics we took

Weapon of choice

Old man with a snapper

Onto a pearl pearch

THe old man thought he could catch a bigger one them me

I guess he did haha

Snapper

Old man thought he could catch a bigger one then minie again - and again he did haha

Trag Jew

Sunrise just after crossing the Noosa Bar

Nik

Re: Noosa Trip

great pearlie there mate
    greg

That's one ripper pearlie!!!

We were up there about the same time and had some hot session with the pelagics. We also went out to Chardon's for a look but came back with nothing. Can you tell me whether there is much structure out there as the marks I have didn't show anything?

JOM.

Mate there is structure far and few between out there on chardons, every trip we would change spots anywhere up to 10 times which got very anoying. The weird thing was, everytime we stoped on some good structure and fish showing on the FCV620 we wouldnt get one bite, but when we would stop on almost a flat bottom just enough to anchor thats where we pulled the fish out.

essp on sunshine reef, we came accross some awsome structure with 4-5m drops and alot of fish showing, yet nothing was caught unless we moved to some flatter ground, very strange.

mmmm.....Pearlie fillets for you....Super fish that pearlie is mate.
    well done.

looks like sum awsome conditions there and that pearlie ur old man has is a beaut!!

cheers dave

Thanks for the comments guys, yeah we couldnt beleive how big this pearlie was either, i thought it was a big snapper when it showed up in the water untill it came into the boat, its unreal how big and dark their eyes are.

Ausfish Platinum Member -spiro-'s Avatar

welldone on that pearlie. looks like a couple of good weather condition days too.
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Yeah Astro, the fishing offshore was a bit slow in the last couple of weeks in January. We were also fishing out of Munna Point and saw your boat about quite a bit. We managed a few mackerel, but had to work hard for them. They haven't really "come on" and probably are waiting until we're safely back at work!

There's always next trip!

Tuskie

Looks like a well worth trip mate, nice looking fish mate, gotta be happy with that pearlie thow, his a ripper

Nice fish indeed
    Just noticed pic no.5 looks like a bit of a change coming through, was that towards the end of your trip or did it drop out again?
    But a great trip none the less!
    Cheers Payney!

Yeah Pic No5 was at the end of the first week(sunday), then at the start of the second week the weather calmed down a bit mostly in the mornings and picked up by midday, then later on in the week both morning and arvo the conditions wernt so good.

the old boy wins with experience everytime ah! that is a nice pearlie well done!