Thread: 1st Bullie,Little reason why i wont swim in Coomera River

1st Bullie,Little reason why i wont swim in Coomera River

Wet the line on the wy home yest. after work, struggled to get some poddies, got 6. went to a different spot on the coomera river where alot of people swim and ski. Have been told there are some big jacks around this spot so i was excited to try. after abou 1/2 hr of not even a touch, getting impatient,my rod starts to bend, no bits just bends,then bends more,first i thought sting-ray, then i felt a head shake,then it took off pretty fast,managed to turn him towards me, i saw my second ever bull shark,even better was i had hooked him. he was only small but put a fair fight when he got closer to edge. didnt get a good chance to measure him properly cause of my lack of experience with these i decided not to try and pick him up, he went a bout 70-80cm. took some pics,had a small pat and let him go. i was jumping for joy. thru out another bait,waited again,same thing happened,another shark,couple of head shakes,busted me off before i could see him,he felt alot bigger than my first one.
    Last edited by geoff72; 08-02-2007 at 09:07 AM. Reason: changed title
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Re: Little reason why i wont swim in Coomera River

I went for a flick the other day in one of the local creeks here at Noosa and saw one on the surface aobout the same size as the one you got....Tried throwing lures and plastics at him but couldnt get him interested...

Re: Little reason why i wont swim in Coomera River

Totally agree wouldn't swim in the coomera ......... UNLESS I did something bloody stupid like go fishing on my own at night, come back at 11pm, then not beach the boat properly next to the ramp, go off and get the car only to return and back trailer down, get out of the car and turn around to find .............. No boat at the beach next to the ramp!!

The idiot in question then ran down to the mouth of the canal to find his $25,000 boat floating towards the main channel of the coomera on a run out tide. Obviously He had no choice but to strip down and take a F.....g scary swim out to the boat. I tell you it was the fastest, quietest swim you'll ever see, and it's very funny to see a grown man's whole body magically levitate & rocket out of the water into the boat as soon as his index finger touched the side gunnel!! Then again ......the sight of him retrieveing the boat onto the trailer stark naked was quite funny too.

Of course ....... the idiot in question wasn't me ....... honestly ......

Re: 1st Bullie,Little reason why i wont swim in Coomera River

hahahah, your one crazy man franco, ohh sorry mate forgot it wasnt you.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

Hi Geoff.There's been no shortage of them in the Brissie either.I landed 5 around that size last week and got bitten off probably another 15-20 times over 3 days.This time of year they make their way upstream to the fresh to do what we all love to do.I agree with you NO SWIMMING.When I was a young bloke my grandfather told me that if the water is dirty enough that you can't see thru it.don't swim in it.

I was down that way a couple of weeks ago , cast netting for a bit of bait, land based off a sand bank. I spotted a small bull shark terrorising a school of mullet - I thought I'll have you and started stalking him ,as him swam down along the edge of the bank in a foot or so of water, he must have seen me and started to swim out very slowly into deeper water , so I thought no worries and steeped off the sand into the water WRONG!!!!! The edge of the water was also the edge of the sand I went straight down into about 18 inches of water and up to my thighs in very soft mud. I forgot all about jaws junior and was really struggling to pull my self and cast net out of the bog. While all this was happening Jaws Junior must have sensed that I was in trouble and started making a b line straight for me. Bl#@dy thing was only 3foot long and was now stalking the hunter! Anyway I got self out of the mud back onto terror Firma and chucked the net right over the little fella - some how in 18 inches of water he managed to escape and we both went on our ways a little wiser. On the serious side ,I spoke with a mate on Sunday - he got one up to the boat that went about 8 foot long - Yes be very careful down there this time of year.
    Beast

I used to target them with in a boat with a mate of mine. Biggest into the boat was only about 5ft but still had sharp teeth. Hooked up another night, pulled up anchor and chased for 2 hours before he busted off!! This is where people swin over near couran cove. My mate also saw a tiger shark swim right beside his boat (was close to surface so he could tell what it was). Was longer than his boat, a 4.5m tinnie! To make matters worse, there were some guys diving off their houseboat around the bend!

You're right Geoff, NO SWIMMING!!

Just don't tell the tourists.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Nice catch, I've actually swum around there myself, albeit with a few hundred other idiots doing a triathlon, might think twice next time.

Glenn

Yeah there's no way I would go swimming in any of the canals or rivers locally. I saw a show on Nat Geo or Discovery recently that was saying something along the lines of bullies account for a large number of attacks on humans especially in waters that are murky. They were saying the little buggars are more agressive than tigers and whites and would basically have a go at anything.

Still they are great fun & I would only kill one if I was going to eat it.

Apparently the Bull shark is reported to be responsible for more attacks on humans than any other species of shark in the world. And we have always had them in our rivers around Brisbane - but as they say, statistically you are more likely to die in a car crash on the way down to the river than being killed by a bullie when swimming in there. Won't stop me from skiing in any rivers, besides, I'm the boat driver anyhow, so it does not affect me!!

Scalem sounds like you should take me skiing ...... from my post earlier you can tell I'm really talented at walking on water trying to catch up to the boat!! Ha.

Team - does anyone eat these smaller bull sharks?

Ed.

Used to Ed but even after skinning and all the other stuff it just doesn't taste as good as a good feed of flatties or jewie to me.

your a funny fella franco ,saw your boat in fisho mag,and a few busted rods !cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Red_Nut View Post
    Team - does anyone eat these smaller bull sharks?

Ed.
    A few years ago we filleted our catch of 5 Bullies at the Wacol boat ramp, Brissie river. I thought the fillets tasted remarkably similar to what you can buy at the fish and chip shops marketed as flake We were politely asked by a family of Asian people if they could have the frames/ carcases with the fins still intact. They went away very happy