Thread: brisy area prawns?

brisy area prawns?

It's nearly that time of the year that my arms and back ache from ours on end throwing a cast net for a nice feed of bannana prawns. My question is are there any around after the recent rain? Also my net is stuffed from a snag last season. Can anyone suggest somewhere to get a good quality 12" drop top pocket net?
    cheers Marty.

Re: brisy area prawns?

Marty I am about to find out tomorrow, and throw away that small net if you are serious about prawns. look for a 16-20 foot spread net, try the back of bush and beach mag.

Happy throwing
    Adam

Sorry to alarm u fellas but it is illegal in qld to use a castnet that is any bigger than a spread diametre of 12ft. Many peopole are aware of fisheries number including myself in this instence.

Marty, have a chat to graheme at wellington point marine.
    I got my 10' top pocket net there last year, absolutly brilliant. His number is 32072235

are Marty's nets custom made or bought?. I'm relatively new to prawning (12 months experience), The nets at BCF seem fine to me 12 footers , have a top pocket and seem fine. price $100+.

thanks guys for the advice. I just bought one this arvo from a top bloke called Bob at Victoria point, (thanks Adam) got his number from the back of bush and beach. I got a 18 foot spread. Jpart10 be careful when you make statements like that when you clearly have no idea what you are talking about, nets are measured from top to bottom and the maximum length/drop is 3.7mtrs.....my new net is 3.6mtrs and LEGAL..

http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/cps/rde/xchg/dpi/hs.xsl/28_3045_ENA_HTML.htm
    Cast nets
    Cast nets can be no more than 3.7 m when measured from the point of attachment of the cord or rope to the rest of the net, to the net leadline or bottom of the lowest pocket of the net, whichever is greater. Mesh size must be no greater than 28 mm.

Based on the above, a cast net with a spread diameter of 7 metres would be legal. That's over 21 feet in diameter.

You'd get real fit casting that around for a few hours each day.

Last edited by Luc; 09-02-2007 at 10:38 PM.

mate the idea is not how big the net is , but how fast your net gets down. With a 12 ft cast net, you need 5-7 kgs of lead. The faster the net goes down the less prawns escapes. Thats why you see people catch 10 in a cast and some catch 2.

i've got a 12 ft net, with top pockets, spread is around 20 meters. I tell ya it's hard work some days and some days they seem to be everywhere,

Marty,

You have had some great advice leading to your purchase from Bob. They are the Bees Knees as far as I am concerned, and will definitely be my next investment when my current nets wear out. I was there when one of our mods took delivery of his net from Bob, and was invited to give it a throw after I told them it was likely to be too heavy for me, being much bigger than mine. It was easy! When you are into custom nets, bigger net does not necessarily mean heavier. Bob will customise to whatever you want, but found a source of import very nearly the same quality as he makes, using the same non springy material.

He won me!!

hi everyone I would just like to say that you have made the right choice buying a custom net off bob the nets he makes are tops I have been using his nets for years wait till prawn season and see how it fishes compared to a net obtained from a shop than you will know that you made the right choice dave

Yeah guys not wrong as soon as i saw the quality of the net i knew i had to have it.
    My new net is piss easy to throw. I throw it just the same as my old one.... i don't have to put it over my shoulder or elbow and i am getting quite a good circle... in the back yard. I am yet to get on the water, but it will only be easier when i am in the boat up a bit higher. The net has 8 pound of lead on it so throwig it for hours will be no problem.
    Thanks again Marty.

g'day Marty.........jpart10 cant even spell apart from not knowing the fisheries laws so he would be better off not replying to any threads re-laws
    congradulations on becoming a daddy, im sure in a few years Kobi will be using the net as well............