Thread: More Brissie River THREADIES!!!

Re: More Brissie River THREADIES!!!

Thanks for the steer in the right direction.

Brilliant Fish mate - the River is a great fishing spot - its rarely easy but well worth the effort as you consistently show.

Hi Chief.They are at their best in the warmer months from around OCT thru to March.In saying that however,they were still being caught last June /July when the prawns were running.Like snapper,they are around all year,but are "thicker" at certain times.I'll send you a pm later with a bit more info which I hope may help you get your first.Cheers.

Thats the way John!! I'm back this weekend so i'll send you a PM next week and we'll hook up soon...

Take care T

Looking forward to it T.Hopefully we'll get a bit of rain before then.Cheers.

Great stuff John - congrats. May your rod bend with many more threadies .

I've lived in Brissy for nearly 40 yrs and have been fishing on and off since I was a little tacker but not in the river. Finally realised the river can be a source of great fishing enjoyment so I have been putting the hours but am yet to get past the little stuff like bream etc (even though they too are great fun).

From my office 15 floors up on George St last month i saw the mum dolphin and bubs in the river off the southbank forecourt. After a while of rollicking it became evident they were chasing a fish as it came out of the water quite a few times with at least one dolphin following it out of the water. Finally it gave up and i got a good view of it through my binoculars as it swam exhausted on the surface before the big dolphin munched it and dived down. It was a good size threadfin, forked tail and all.

Hi Porl.WOW, that would have been a bit of a spectacular veiwing.I see the dolphins about myself which is always a good sign of the health of the river.The old dolphin makes catching them look easier than the way we do it.

don't know about dolphin indicating river health.

Used to see them at the junction of Nundah and Cabbage Tree creeks before they improved the treatment plant somewhat.