Thread: Suzuki 20hr Service

Re: Suzuki 20hr Service

ScorpionNQ, ha funny thing happened when I picked mine up last Friday, the guy behind the counter handed me an invoice for $321 beeing for a Service and carby clean etc. I said, hmmm unless you have replaced my EFI for carbies this aint mine.
    Anyway, he got confused because we share first names and after all it was Friday
    Did they replace just the Racor filter or fit the complete assembly?

Overall have been really happy with Leo's service, it's nice to walk in there and be able to have a normal conversation with the guys that work there.

Shanoss, all gauges have been hooked up correctly now apparantly. Only thing I could test was the fuel gauge which now has a reading atleast which was better than it was

Hey Lee, you would not have had any complaints from me if you had paid my bill by mistake lol.. they just replaced the racor( thanks Roughas) filter. I bought a filter last year from bias boating, and it was about $64.....$30 is a huge difference. Got a qoute of $23, 995 for a new Suzy 200, fitted, s/s prop and water tested. Trade in price for my mid 90's 200 t/s with only 160hrs is $3000. It runs exellent, the only downer is that being a carburretted V6 is the fuel bill, where it might cost you $80 to go to the reef, mine would be $180/$200. As I own my rig, it's not a huge problem, as I would not spend $21K to make savings on fuel. I would like to start using a bit more, and go out wider, then there's a good posibility I would update.

Just got my 30hp merc first service done, cost me around $140.
    Jewie

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by scorpionNQ View Post
    Got a qoute of $23, 995 for a new Suzy 200, fitted, s/s prop and water tested. Trade in price for my mid 90's 200 t/s with only 160hrs is $3000. It runs exellent, the only downer is that being a carburretted V6 is the fuel bill, where it might cost you $80 to go to the reef, mine would be $180/$200. As I own my rig, it's not a huge problem, as I would not spend $21K to make savings on fuel. I would like to start using a bit more, and go out wider, then there's a good posibility I would update.
    That means you have $21k of free fuel to play with which would probably get you 21,000kms of boating which works out at about 40 years of operation at your current level. Plenty of guys justify swapping to a 4s on less usage! Go figure.

Quote Originally Posted by whiteman View Post
    That means you have $21k of free fuel to play with which would probably get you 21,000kms of boating which works out at about 40 years of operation at your current level. Plenty of guys justify swapping to a 4s on less usage! Go figure.
    Or if your like me, have nothing better to spend $25k on

Quote Originally Posted by scorpionNQ View Post
    Hey Lee, you would not have had any complaints from me if you had paid my bill by mistake lol.. they just replaced the racor( thanks Roughas) filter. I bought a filter last year from bias boating, and it was about $64.....$30 is a huge difference. Got a qoute of $23, 995 for a new Suzy 200, fitted, s/s prop and water tested. Trade in price for my mid 90's 200 t/s with only 160hrs is $3000. It runs exellent, the only downer is that being a carburretted V6 is the fuel bill, where it might cost you $80 to go to the reef, mine would be $180/$200. As I own my rig, it's not a huge problem, as I would not spend $21K to make savings on fuel. I would like to start using a bit more, and go out wider, then there's a good posibility I would update.

Mate,

Unfortunatly I was in the same position as yourself.
    Our 200hp Merc Died, so we upgraded to a Suzi 175.
    Fuel bill now I think is about 40% of what the 200hp 2str was to run.
    Range now is not a problem, carry extra fuel on board just in case is not happening. Chrissy just has our 20hr service done and up to mid 30's now.
    On Avg we are using around 9ltr's / hr.
    The best thing is that if she gets a lil choppy out, not looking at really chewing the juice on the way home.

AJ

AJ, sure is nice not to have to carry additional fuel in jerry cans. Not only has my range has increased by around 40% but I now feel confident that i'm going to get home ok.
    Yes, the fuel economy was a factor when I decided to buy the Suzi, but safety was the biggest reason.

Lee

Couldn't agree with you more Lee, Especially when the old donk broke down
    right at the mouth of the seaway.

Thus far 30 hrs (first 10 being nice, 20 not nice at all) we have used
    249 ltrs. We carry 200ltrs in our tank. I knew is was going to be good
    But HELL this good.

Aj

Bloody Hell Got the Missus over meh shoulder fixing all my mis-spelling.
    ( Or Spelling Mistakes as I have just been told)

<<< Makes a mental, dont let wife near me when typing, Just passes english at
    school. She just doesn't understand. Well have to restrict posting in work hours
    Last edited by Kiktz; 07-02-2007 at 08:25 PM.

Just had 10 hour service for Yamaha 200 4 stroke

Minor Service $240
    Gear Oil $24
    Motor Oil $35
    Oil Filter $41
    Gasket $5

Total $345

Not Happy

Not long had my new 150 suzi 4 stroke serviced at springwood marine, Cost a bit more than that, around $300 mark.
    Alba

It actually doesn't sound like there are too many who are happy with the price of servicing.

Whilst it is just my opinion, perhaps we when we are negotiating the purchase of a motor or boat package should be asking the questons then at that time. Everyone is talking fuel consumption 4stroke versus 2stroke E-tec etc when we buy the motors.

Perhaps we should be asking the questions about the first service, 50 hours, yearly etc. These questions, or more likely, the answers may affect the outcome of the purchase, which motor etc.

I assume that most people get at least their first service done by the dealer who sold them the motor. The cost of the first service and one thereafter must be a reasonable question before you decide.

I've only just got into boats, and have been riding trailbikes for a while and the siuatuion is similar in the fact that over the last 8 year the guard has changed from 2 stroke to 4 stroke. I do all my own bike servicing, including full engine rebuilds. It's not rocket science!. Valve clearance checks are simple, and depending on the head design (adjustable rockers or shim buckets) adjusting them isnt too hard either. From what I can gather you change the oils, drop the gearbox and check the waterpump and remove the prop and the service is done.
    I think this is what you guys need to do if you are not happy paying the labour rates.
    I'm sure it'll void your warranty, but I'm pretty sure be well in front at the end of the day, especially if you do a lot of hours

Good point Steve, servicing is one of the things I have never paid for in the past as I do all the work myself. But, as this is my first new engine there is little choice but to have the scheduled servicing done as not to void the warranty.
    Thinking back, I reckon the dealer would have thrown in the first service just to seal the deal, so that is something people may consider.

I asked the dealer the question about doing the servicing myself, though the dealer was a little vague he mentioned that I could do any oil changes but it still had to be brought in each year for a checkover. So I guess that means they have you by the short and curleys either way.