Thread: motor service?

Unhappy motor service?

Put the new boat in for its first service, a 30hp merc light weight, when i droped it off i said to the mechanic that i didnt feel it was hitting its max revs, no worries, we will make a few adjustments etc.
    i picked up the boat yesterday and after chatting to the service guy, he said that they didnt need to do much and she was running fine. I queried to wether the spark plugs had been changed thinking this was a silly question, and he said no. Now to me, after breaking in the new motor, using a 25 to one oil to fuel ratio for the first three tanks, and then doing around another 30hrs i thought this would be a must and could be why i wasnt hitting max rvs. After more q nd a i ended up having to purchase the plugs from him myself. I will put the boat in this weekend with old plugs and see what happens. Should have the plugs been changes in the first service or am i expecting to much?
    Jewie

I asked Sundown about a service a while ago and they said that plugs are not included in the standard service, so I suppose it is an industry standard. I always change mine, but then if you think about it, they have only done 100 hours or so from one year to the next. Compare that to the hours they do in your car and they would still be almost new.

yeah, plugs haven't been part of a standard service whenever i've had one done. i've managed to get my plugs to last 2 years/services lately because i'm only doing 35 or so hours a year. have a look at them, do the edges of the electrode look worn/eroded? is the gap still ok?

Havent cheked the condition of the plugs yet, will pull them out this arvo and have a look. I just thought it would be standard to change them at each service.
    Jewie

Spark plugs should last a long time with just an occasional check and clean. The dinghy motor plugs are still going strong after 5 years of use and the motor on the larger boat no longer has any problems after we chucked those resistor type plugs. Both boats are used regularly and get about 40 to 50 hours use each year.

If I suddenly get rich I might shout the dinghy motor a new set of plugs in a year or so

I guess it's a hard case for the dealer to get correct in the eye of the customer, if it were me in your instance and they changed the plugs the end result would have been me pointing at that portion of the bill and flapping my gums.

After 70-100h the slightly improved fuel economy from new plugs will more than most likely make up for cost of new plugs IMO.
    In all reality to be sure they fixed your complaint they need a test wheel, so I suspect in truth they are awaiting your feedback.

Last edited by FNQCairns; 01-02-2007 at 09:42 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by JEWIENEWIE View Post
    Put the new boat in for its first service, a 30hp merc light weight, when i droped it off i said to the mechanic that i didnt feel it was hitting its max revs, no worries, we will make a few adjustments etc.
    i picked up the boat yesterday and after chatting to the service guy, he said that they didnt need to do much and she was running fine. I queried to wether the spark plugs had been changed thinking this was a silly question, and he said no. Now to me, after breaking in the new motor, using a 25 to one oil to fuel ratio for the first three tanks, and then doing around another 30hrs i thought this would be a must and could be why i wasnt hitting max rvs. After more q nd a i ended up having to purchase the plugs from him myself. I will put the boat in this weekend with old plugs and see what happens. Should have the plugs been changes in the first service or am i expecting to much?
    Jewie
    Hey Jewie,
    I just finished the run in period on my 2006 40hp merc at double oil. At around 8hrs one morning i noticed it started missing (ticking). Went home and cleaned all the plugs, one looked slightly too oily but left it in thinking a clean was all that was needed. Next day out it started ticking again then wouldnt rev past 2/3 revs even at WOT. I stopped and checked the plugs and replaced a suspect black plug with a new one on the water - then had no issues. The plug had failed after only 8 hrs use under extremes of double oil I guess. I think the morale is plugs do fail at weird times so carry spares.

Spoke to service guy at 10hr service and he mentioned there have been a "few" reports about plugs failing early on in these engines - I use NGK.

Since the 10hr service mine runs beatifully with no issues.
    cheers.

Re: motor service?

Quindory - I'll bet that the failed plug was one of those mongrel resistor types.

I have a theory on plugs, look at them and use that info for diagnostic purposes. Then keep them for spares and fit new ones. Change them once a year or at service times, which ever comes sooner. For the cost of a set of plugs in relation to the overall cost of running a boat is next to nil.

Gotta agree with your logic, Blaze.
    Allways pays to have a spare set handy.

they should be changed mate because by that stage they are usually fowled from using so much more oil.

I to agree with blaze and ryank, you both hit the money I think at the price of them chang em'
    NEVER SAY NEVER

Change mine every 50 hrs regardless...been let down before...and as blaze said....they are cheap and great spares.....

neighbour was advised by local car dealership that the platinum plugs in her newish car were contaminated by iron in fuel, which is a common problem in regions of QLd, according to them according to her.

Iron on the insulation on the centre electrode. Only 4 plugs, not covered by warranty as consumables, $299+ OUCH!!!

Always change the plugs and gear oil every year in my 14yr old 2 stroke..... regardless of hours, the water pump, well, we used to use the boat very regularly.... which seemed to keep it good for years and years, now, less so, so might have to replace it again