Queenslanders to drink toilet water by 2009 - Page 3
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Queenslanders to drink toilet water by 2009

Ausfish Platinum Member 4x4frog's Avatar
    I haven't got a problem with drinking recycled water as I did so last year in Orange County* and I am still drawing breath. I have a comprimised immune system from medication and if it were harmful I'd have gotten sick easily.
    I also don't have a problem with Mr Beattie not using the referendum as it would have cost over $5 for each voter. The people who voted the Labor Party back in did so for them to make the decisions for us and I think it's about time the whingers let them make a few of those decisions rather than almost having a round table discussion to ask for permission to turn off a light.
    We need some sort of water to drink and with all the mexicans ,oving here it will only get worse. At least they are directing the recycled water to industry first also.
    My 2c worth.

* If the residents of Orange County in L.A can be sold on recycled poo anyone can after all isn't Hollywood part of this area? If not the people are almost about as anal so it would be the same

Ausfish Platinum Member 4x4frog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HONKY DORY View Post
    lets make a mountain out of a mole hill???? im sure this is what the media have thought with this one
    the way they put it across is youll have to wait a few seconds for the turds to drop out of your tap before you drink it.
    it getts treated before its put in the river again , the river treats it naturally, then it getts treated again.

no brainer to me water so be it recycled or no water at all. (how am i going to flush me motor?????)

neil
    Neil,
    Did you know that even now during level#4 you can flush an engine or radiator in a car and an outboard aftera trip. My wife and I checked the website yesterday and found out a fair bit we didn't know. http://www.ourbrisbane.com/living/gardening/water/

So what's the problem !!!

Every molecule that you drink, eat and breathe has at one time or another come out of something's rear end.

Nature recycles wastes over a long period, this will simply be an accelerated cycle.

In the USA, where they can get it, computer manufacturers prefer recycled water as it is cleaner than normal tap water.

If this had been done 10 years ago, our dams would probably be at 50% +.

Quote Originally Posted by Synful View Post
    Build all the dams you like guys, unless you have the rainfall to fill them they aren't much use...

I agree with the poster that referred to the fact that successive Governments (state, local and federal) have been aware that we were heading towards a shortage for years but done nothing, now it's all panic mode to find a solution when even 'blind Freddie ' can see the writing on the wall

Just my 5c inc GST
    If the megalitres of water storage/person ratio that was here in QLD in the 70's, early 80's (Joh's era) was still here we wouldn't have a water problem and the dams would still be reasonably full from the rains 8-10 years ago.
    The problem has been the population explosion and no infrastructure to support that explosion.

I support the recycling of water just so there's less waste getting dumped somewhere.

Well it about time that something was done to put water back in too the Dams .
    I say it is most likley just as good or better than the water you are drinking NOW.
    So hurry up and bring it on and put astop to all this point scoring that the opperision And other state Governments are trying on !.
    Harry
    Harry Cabfisher

I think its a great idea, we are heading for a major drama waterwise unless something is done. Recycled water has to be better for the fishing than desalination. I mean, removing the water from salt water and dumping the salt back in the ocean???? Can't be good for the life in the vicinity.

My wife is unable to drink tap water as it is. There is some chemical in there that makes her sick so we buy bottled water for her. Not all bottled water is as good as others either.

If you don't want to drink it do what we do.....

Buy bottled water and/or get a water tank. But if there is no rain how are you going to fill the tank??

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Cleaner water and more of it? Has to be better than drinking nothing at all. And in the intrest of keeping the XXXX supply safe than it has to happen!!

People are only up in arms because the word "sewerage" is used. If it was termed "recycled water" from the beginning there would be a lot less hysteria. Those people who are anti recycled water are going to be awfully thirsty if they dont want to go the recycled water route.

And besides floating dead cows etc in the water now we all know what fish do in it dont we !!

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

The hypocrisy of the different leaders on this subject is disgusting. The Mayor of the Gold Coast has come out and said that his people won't have recycled water. Guess what? They already do and he must know that. The treated effluent from Kilcoy, Esk, Coominya, Lowood and Fervale all goes into the river before Brisbane (and the Gold Coast when they purchase it) takes its water from Mt Crosby.

In reality, any town that draws from a river or dam which has another town or city upstream, is already using recycled water, it's just not treated as well as it will be.

Quote Originally Posted by crackerjack View Post
    i really dont think FNQ should have this, no need for it up here, i wont be drinking it i tell ya now, should have a trail test, all GOV workers should be made to drink this for at least 5yrs and then see what the outcome would be
    Gee Crackerjack, does that mean there'd be even more cr@ppy ideas coming out of the Government?

Sorry, just had to say that one...

I agree, there's no need for us in FNQ to be drinking it though.

Andrew.
    =============
    W: www.agt.id.au
    M: 0410 834 486

After living on wholly and soley tank water for the last 12 years and not running out (we've put in enough tanks so that we never need to buy water), even in drought conditions we've got four full tanks, I can still hose the verandahs down, wash the car and boat with a hose, water my garden (with a hose!!). Being on acreage has meant that we have the room for the rainwater tanks but it's surprising how little rain you need to keep them full.
    People complain about the recycled sewerage? What do you think the birdlife, fishlife, cattle, horses and water skiers do in the dams? I don't think there are many skiers that haven't "checked the prop" whilst floating in the water

now there is another point Leann...all thos people installing tanks on their houses...all that water that was going down to flush out the estuaries is not happening...in 10 years they will be whinging that the estuaries are dying out.

Quote Originally Posted by snasman View Post
    Just saw a great report on tv about this held by some proffesor the point I liked the most was what he said about asbestos and ddt 50years ago they didnt think it was harmfull but now look at what its been doing to people they havent tested these chemicals that will be used in the water treatment for the past 50 years so no one can tell whats going to happen in the future?????.Its just typical of smiling pete.he's a moron
    mate..did that same professor know about the other things that have happened in those 50 years...like being able to converse in real across the planet via the internet...huge advances in medicine etc etc or does he just prefer to be a negative lil creature ???

Quote Originally Posted by 4x4frog View Post
    Neil,
    Did you know that even now during level#4 you can flush an engine or radiator in a car and an outboard aftera trip. My wife and I checked the website yesterday and found out a fair bit we didn't know. http://www.ourbrisbane.com/living/gardening/water/
    4x4
    flushing my motor refers to when there is no water

thanks for the site i'll check it out to see what little gremlins they have put in there

neil

Ausfish Gold Member
    "The problem has been the population explosion and no infrastructure to support that explosion"

Makes us Vics glad all those people migrated to Qld.

Quote Originally Posted by DR View Post
    have to agree with that.. truth is i'd rather drink recycled sewerage than xxxx anyway..has got to taste better..
    are you blokes from victoria or may'be tassie.