Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: What threadline reel ?

Phil,
    I use fireline crystal in 2lb for breaming and yeh I love it. Not sure if I would use it with some of the high end Bass Hard body lures.
    It casts VERY smooth I reckon its perfect for flicking SPs around, you get a lot more casting distance and its extra finesse But I would still use a leader with it.

Im waiting on some new line ( Varivas Sea bass) the lowest strength it comes in is in 10lb but its very thin for its rating. Will let you know how it goes.

I used to like the platyl millenium for my bass stuff in Hinze. Really soft and supple, lovely to cast.

I don't know if they still make them but I love my daiwa theory. Really smooth drag out of the box.

i managed to pickup a shimano sedona a few months back and am very happy with it, ive used it in salt and fresh and has had a fair bit of spray on the kayak, still runs as smooth as the day i bought it. great reel with a spare spool and under $100 cant go wrong. mind you the symetre is a nice reel too, much the same only a metal body as well as the spool,

Phil
    Why is the rod only 5'6"? 72 suggests 6'?

Matt,

well spotted. I bought a number of blanks at the same time and have asked this question without double checking. Doh ! It is a SnyderGlas MT72 and is 6' long.

yellahunter,

I have looked at the Sedonas and found it heavy. 272gms compared to the Diawa at 230. The Sedona 750 is 195gms but only holds 95yds of 6lb line. But that is measured in mono and will probably get the 100- 150 yds of Fireline on it.

And speaking of Sedonas. I looked at them on a particular tackle web site mentioned above here and found a picture of the FB. nice reel, BUT under the heading of RB was the same picture and we know they are completely different reels ( RB has a rear drag as well as a front drag ). Again, this site has Mis - informed it's ( potential ) customers. I did notify the shop of the line class specs in the Symeter and they just emailed me back stating that "Hi Phill You can put 2lb on the reel if you would like to use 2lb 4lb would be fine as well. That reply sounds like something from the mouth of a BcF pimple face.
    NO mention of the difference in specs compared to the manufacturer !!!

So, at this stage I am still leaning towards the Diawa Exceler and Crystal Fireline.

Great info coming through people, thanks.

PHILL wouldnt be too concerned about the weight of the reel as long as it is well balanced on the rod. Now Im not up on current Synderglass rods but going on the old ones they were nothing too hi tech and not very light so putting a light reel on it may put it out of balance?! is it a Graphite blank??

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    I think I have answered my own questions.

SYMETRE FIModelLine (in.)Line Capacity (# Test/Yards)

SY750FI22 2/240, 4/120, 6/95.

SY1500FI28 4/170, 5/130, 8/90

SY2500FI31 6/200, 8/140, 10/120

SY4000FI31 8/240, 10/200, 12/160

Hey Phil,
    I've got every one of those reels, my favourite for the bass is the 750. Although you will have to get it overseas as they are not imported to Oz. the retrieve rate on the 750 is not as high as the others (only 4.7:1) which makes working a lure easier i think, also the body is graphite rather than aluminium. its heaps lighter (small size) and very nice to use. the line capacity is no issue, "ours" (it's acutally the missus' reel, but i pinch it whenever i can) is spooled with 8lb rapala titanium braid and there is plenty on there. we've used it at mud island for squire with out trouble.....mind you we were only getting 34cm fish .

The 1500 and the 2500 have the same body only different spools. they interchange and as such we now have the 2500 spools loaded with 8lb for shallow reef plastics/ light pelagic spinning(we used these for almost legal kingfish (57-59cm) spinning off tweed recently) and the 1500's have 4lb for the bream and bass. The high speed retrive is a little tricky when youre trying to be extra slow for bream.

Another option popular option is the sedona range. no high speed retieve and aerowrap. A graphite body but otherwise a good solid reel that many people use to good affect. and only $99 bucks.

Re: What threadline reel ?

Good info....... orbyroo... very good.

I did see the 750's on the Shimano website and thought it would suit me nicely. But couldn't find them on the Oz tackle sites. The Non-import situation is the answer to that .

I am not getting pretentious or anything about this outfit, I just want to buy right, the first time. Theoretically, ( is that a word ? ) I will be targeting fish in the 500gm to 2kg range. But as usual, XOS critters have a knack of jumping onto light gear at the most inopportune time. The stick is not the extra light graphite type, but will handle me dropping in the bottom of the canoe, snaging on tree branches, thrown to the ground in frustration and the like. I would like to think the reel will accept the same treatment.

Sort of like my 6kg Pinnicale, w/ 3500 on I use for floatlining for Snapper that ranged from 3kg to 8. Not intentionally, but it handled it. The fisherman took a beating though.

This has been a great insight and I thank you all for the imput. I am about to start building the rod this weekend, and I suppose I should enlighten you good folk with some pics.

Stay tuned.

Apparently, the rod weighs 70gms.

A couple of pics:-

1. label

2. on the ' rack ' about to start the layout of the wrap.

HI PHILL,

Interesting Rod binding jig mate - love the sandshoes!! I personally use a couple of shoe boxes with square grooves cut into them to retain the rod - usually have to put some weight in them to stop them moving around. How do u tension the thread spools? I use a cheap fly tying vice to tension the thread bobbin good luck

Cam

Well Cam, the rig / jig is the one my teacher uses, so if it's good enough for her, it's good enough for me.

Tensioner ? fingers..........that's it, just run it through the fingers.

I am in the process of making/ buying a dryer. That will be my only luxury.

OK Phill,
    I wasnt knocking the system - just found it quite novel!

the fly tying vice is a good investment if your going to do a few rods i reckon - think i picked mine up for about $15 it works best on the spools that are about 1 1/2 inches wide - guebrod?

how about once youve completed the rod take it to the tackle store youve decided to purchase the reel from and try the different sizes for the correct balance - kinda think that a 750 size reel may be too light for that rod for good balance - i mean the balance isnt everything but gives the outfit a nicer feel i think
    Cam

Good advice cam.

I can now tell you that I have purchased a Shimano sedona 1500FB and the price was a ripper $75. I am also half way through the wrap. I have now got the cork foregrip, reel seat and most of the single foot guides. The butt grip is another story. It will be a custom turned wood unit that I will have to get underway very shortly. But it can be added at the end of the job. I Think.

It is all coming together nicely and pics will be up in the next couple of days of the wrap. Stay tuned.

OH, the dryer. There are some in the States at very good prices, even taking into account the exchange rates and postage.

I do have the motor here, but am at odds on wether to connect it up or just buy the ready made unit. Also the ones from the States are in 110volts, but that is easily fixed.

Not sure on Reels mate... there are just so many out there. Im a Daiwa man, and most of my Reels and Rods with I fish with for Barra, Sooties etc are Daiwa, and none of the stuff has let me down. Made for life...

As for Braid... Platil Millenium Hotfiber 2... That stuff is prime! I think the lowest the stuff is made in is 6lb, which is perfect for Bass. Id also have a look at some 6/8lb P-Line Spectrex IV... This stuff is hard to get, but it's just as good as Platil, or even Finns! They make excellent Fluorocarbon leader too!

Theo
    TT