Thread: Amity Point

Question Amity Point

Howdy All

Going over straddie Feb 17 - 21 for a few days camping at Amity. Last time there I managed to get a nice Yellow-tail Kingfish (57cm) and Mackeral (70cm)off of the jetty there (on pillies).

I keep hearing about good fish being taking off of the rock walls...so my questions are: -

Where? What Tide? What Tackle? What species?

Off the jetty I will be using my 10ft Alvey Rod and 6.5in reel loaded with 15lb line...use a 30lb leader and pillies for bait...how does that sound?

Any tips, rumours or comments welcome!

Ps - can you get squid off the jetty??

most of the rock wall fishing at Amity is snaggy, so fish light, or no lead at all.
    If you're up to it and have non-slip shoes, climb out to the end of the last groyne (sth). Try slack water and start of run-in there.
    Flood tides work well for a mixed bag, possible to get moses and sweeties there. Flatties like an ebb tide.
    Early morning, late afternoon or night is best.
    There are gar off the jetty at high water, and other bait I wasn't sure of, 2 weeks ago.
    15lb sounds heavy, more for the macks or kingies, try 9lb and 20lb fluoro, or no leader, snags are common.
    squid aren't as plentiful as they once were, again early, late or night, the jetty light may help attract them.

I fished from the amity jetty a few months ago . I waited a whole week for a school to swim past and on the last day one was close enough to throw a metal lure near them . You wouldnt believe it , i actually got something huge on . The metal lure popped out when i got him nearly all the way in . Bugger . It looked like a large trevally under the water . My 12 yr old son got a couple of shovel nose sharks at night and was delighted to actually get something big on . Catch and release of course . Heaps of gar caught on bait jigs with small pieces of squid on the tiny hooks . Dont tell anyone else that little tip . cheers

voodoochile,
    im at straddie at that time, so might catch you there mate
    mike