Thread: Noosa Land Based

Noosa Land Based

Hey guys, heading up this way for a weekend soon with some friends, and hoping I can steal an afternoon / morning away to do a bit of fishing in the area. I know about the options near the mouth of the river (rock wall etc). What about the options around Woods Bay? Is it possible to fish land based here? Had a look on the street directory and noticed some bridges in the area, is it possible to fish underneath these or not? Any help about spots around this area or any others in Noosa, would be appreciated, cheers.

Steve.

You can fish around munna pt bridge from the banks on either side and from memory around the bridge at the shereton aswell. There used to be some quality whiting around the banks that form woods bay from the noosa spit side.

There have been trevally running around near the woods lately, and a few around the head at dusk and dawn I think.
    the groyne has been ok for bream and whiting in recent times, but not great because of the extra sand

Owen

Don't know the name of the area but it's the car park with the toilets and barbecue points in the middle of Noosa. Whenever we visited Noosa as "tourists" we used to finish off there with a barbie before we drove home. I always used to chuck a line in there if there was nobody swimming and I've caught some pretty decent whiting. On one occasion I got a nice trevally despite being new to Aussie style fishing.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

chuckle "aussie style fishing" does that mean fishing places where there are fish kingtin ?
    smb when are you planning on getting up that way? , i should be headed up there soon if i get there before you will try and let you know where i fished from and whats coming in
    tightlines

Thanks for the replies guys, given me some ideas to think about. Fish_outta_water, will be up there likely for Australia day weekend, so maybe it will be me reporting to you on how I go (unless your up there sooner) Would love to have some fun with some trevally so I'll see how I go and let you know, cheers fellas.

Steve.

Quote Originally Posted by fish_outta_water View Post
    chuckle "aussie style fishing" does that mean fishing places where there are fish kingtin ?
    No mate. It would be unheard of to fish 1/6 oz jig heads and placcies in the UK. The tide rises 10 m and most fishing is done with weights of between 2 and 6 oz. Not very subtle but still takes skill to find the fish.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

G day SMB, I was up there on friday arvo till sat night. I fished on the right side on the T boat hire off the rocks with SPs and poppers. I was keen to get some trevally on poppers for the first time but not a single hit then I tried 3" P/seed gulps which caught me a dusky flathead around the 40cm mark but it was droped at my feet besides that I caught a few small cod and finaly on the last cast ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz I was on! After a good 5 min I landed my first trevally of 43cm (pics comming soon). With the missus pregnant fishing was limited which still has left me with a grin from ear to ear!
    Cheers, Mick.

hi guys
    smb yup sounds like youll be there before me , unless i get up there for the day .
    kingtin yupi think im one of the few pommies to throw the little stuff around , use em on the rivers and lakes . always wondered how yo folks got away with using em in the sea , then i went to moreton and saw the lack of current ans wind chop.
    tightlines

Hey Mate,
    Yeah you can walk all the banks along Woods Bay and the fishing along these can be great at times.....Unfortunately the trevally have been a bit quiet lately and I always find January to be one of the toughest months to fish with HEAPS of boat traffic....So an early morning mission is the best option.Get there at about 4.30am and fish through to about 6.30am.
    The arvo sessions can be good but at the moment the mornings are the go.
    The rock groyne on main beach has also been fishing well for trevally with poppers....Could be worth a look to....

If your a flattie freak like myself, stay off the amber one evening and make a sparrows trip to Weyba Ck.
    (Assuming your mobile) Go from Noosa Junction in direction of Tewantin. Park as soon as your over the first bridge, this'll be near AFL paddock. Walk bank up & down Weyba Ck. lots of tasty little drop offs, drains and weed banks. most around the fish 40 - 50cm so nice pan sized, with the occasional lurkers over the 70cm max and if your early Jacks to lose gear on. just please don't leave metal traces in my Creek.

Quote Originally Posted by Nowhere Bob View Post
    just please don't leave metal traces in my Creek.

Thats so true...I always see those rediculous metal traces hanging from bridges and things around Noosa...(and other spots)......
    Why are people using these things.... .....and the worst thing is they have those dodgy little snaps on the end that open up with 1/2 kg of drag pressure...

Well guys just got back from a great weekend up the sunshine coast. Only managed to do one afternoon of fishing. Fished in the woods bay area, found a park that had a public jetty that remarkably no one was using and you were allowed to fish off! Anyway fished there in the limited hours I had (3pm - 6pm) Caught a few just legal bream that were great fun. Then we decided to have a drop under the jetty - well we were amused for the next 20 minutes or so with about 6 mixtures of cod (estuary, gold spot, etc) putting on a nice little fight on light gear trying to get back to their holes, half frozen pilchards being the bait of choice for all the species caught.

All in all although no fish to write home about, certainly kept me entertained, and would love to have fished a similar area at better times, but alas I was limited in my choices at the time. There was also (what I believe to be) a massive mullet of some sort that was under the jetty and jumping reasonably regularly, damn he was a thick old fella, I think I could have knocked him on the head with a sinker before he'd take a hook though Thanks for the tips about where to fish fellas.

Steve.
    Last edited by SMB; 28-01-2007 at 12:50 PM.

Reply to Mitch.

Couldn't get the reply function happening, so I thought I'd post it.
    Hey Mitch, I occasionally get the urge to throw away good lures like Manns 5+, the old C lures Jack snack, and a rapala (I forget the size) in "dog's dick pink" by tempting Jack. I've also tried livies, and sure they take them more, but I've never managed to boat one on a livie. I think it's something like the urge for tattoo ink. You can't explain it, its painful & expensive but sometimes you just gotta. you know?
    Go up past the road bridge (watch the tide V' shallow in spots) and flick into that rocky bank & downed trees on the east bank.
    By early I mean in position at first light. Very early at this time of year.
    I usually target flatties, fun, satisfying to let go, and a lot less expensive. Cheers mate & see you on the water. N. Bob