Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why do you work on your own boat??

Hmmm. I am a DIY guy from way back.

For example I designed my current house about 25 years ago. It is undoubtedly the ugliest house in the street but, boy oh boy, is it strong!

In the past, I have gone mad in refibreglassing old canoes and small boats and even built a trailer for a 16 ft canoe from scratch with all new parts. Like many of my DIY projects, that was probably one of the most expensive things that I could have done, considering the few number of times that I used it. It now lies rusting away around the unseen side of my yard. Sold the canoe - and kept the trailer - what the heck! - every yard needs an eyesore somewhere.

Lots of the DIY things that I have done were for economic reasons but after years of crawling under cars doiung really mongrel jobs like replacing ball joints etc with the most basic of tools, I made an oath to myself that once I hit the ripe old age of fifty, I would never again crawl under a car. Six years after hitting fifty I have mostly honored that pledge.

Likewise, I decided that at about the same age, i would never trust my life to my own mechanical skills in a boat - 'cause I swim like a wind tunnel tuned lead sinker.

The net result of that is that whilst I will potter arount the boat installing add-ons like power sockets, downriggers, extra rod holders, GPS cradle etc, I would not put a spanner on the motor.

So I drop $50 each fortnight into an online savings account and when the boat needs servicing or mechanical attention, i just use those funds get it done without ever quibbling at the price. I know that I pay top dollar for the mechanic but I don't care as I would trust their skills far more than my own.

Having said that though, I still could not stop myself getting a factory workshop manual "just in case" and doing regular easy jobs like greasing the various greasepoints every few trips, repacking wheel bearings, replacing worn skid plastics and rollers on the trailer, and regularly fixing those bloody trailer lights - but everyone does that latter one, don't they?!

Quote Originally Posted by charleville View Post
    Having said that though, I still could not stop myself getting a factory workshop manual "just in case" and doing regular easy jobs like greasing the various greasepoints every few trips, repacking wheel bearings, replacing worn skid plastics and rollers on the trailer, and regularly fixing those bloody trailer lights - but everyone does that latter one, don't they?!
    Never fixed a light on my trailers Charlie.
    I just rewire them every now and again before the rot sets in.
    Actually one trailer has been about 3 or 4 years with no problems and the other is about 14 months with no hassles.
    Touch wood

From what I can work out from reading here.

It's a damn side quicker and easier to work on your own boat. Rather than drop it of at a dealer and wait for weeks, then it's still not been looked at. Or if it has, you may just get fobbed off with too busy. rather than I just don't wan't to bust bolts, and try and repair those as well, as do your water pump, Head gaskett Etc.

After all i'm sure theres a lot of motors out there suffering neglect, and can't really be pulled apart with out doing a fair amount of damage.

And maybe that's where you make your choice if you do your own repairs, and maintainance.

You better be prepaired that a dealer won't touch it after you make a few adjustments, bust some bolts lose some bits Etc.

Hey Murf
    Thanks heaps mate. I love to do things--- had eight uncles and as a kid used to get out and help them so I learnt a few things along the way. I'll give anything a go and if i don't know I ask some one who does. Can't let hubbie near anything mechanical-- car or boat. Last time he helped wash the 4x4 he ended up falling between the bull bar and bonnet and got 2 blood clots in his leg. He usually stays in the kitchen now and leaves me to it. Great stuff i reckon as i love every minute of it. We built a TITAN shed and all I need now is the T-Shirt that reads--- I have a titan and he thinks he does.

Ronnie h

Hey all. Apart from the money thing and the self satisfaction thing it gives me a bit of a buzz working hands-on with the boat as "hands-on" is not something I generally get to do as part of day to day work (being in IT for the last 15 years).
    Also, as alot of people here might agree, once you have a few kids you start to see that money doesnt go as far as it used to... (but you wouldnt trade them for quids, right ?)
    cheers, Darren.

Quote Originally Posted by QuinnyDory View Post

once you have a few kids you start to see that money doesnt go as far as it used to... (but you wouldnt trade them for quids, right ?)
    cheers, Darren.
    Wrong!

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quinnydory mate wait till the kids grow-up an you think they have moved out of home after they have eaten you out of house an home an the girls have bleed you dry just when you think it is safe to go back in the water the kids decide to return home

Quote Originally Posted by QuinnyDory View Post
    Hey all. Apart from the money thing and the self satisfaction thing it gives me a bit of a buzz working hands-on with the boat as "hands-on" is not something I generally get to do as part of day to day work (being in IT for the last 15 years).
    Also, as alot of people here might agree, once you have a few kids you start to see that money doesnt go as far as it used to... (but you wouldnt trade them for quids, right ?)
    cheers, Darren.
    an you have to start all over again wondering when are you an the wife going to get the time to yourselves time to rest an stop playing house then they decide to make you a grand parent an the sleepless nights that you thought had gone have returned

this is when you are glad that you can work on your own vessel an even more glad to go fishing just for some peace

but all in all you are right on not wanting to trade them in for quids

i have been trying to give them away but problem is there are no takers

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by stevedemon View Post
    Quinnydory mate wait till the kids grow-up an you think they have moved out of home after they have eaten you out of house an home an the girls have bleed you dry just when you think it is safe to go back in the water the kids decide to return home

an you have to start all over again wondering when are you an the wife going to get the time to yourselves time to rest an stop playing house then they decide to make you a grand parent an the sleepless nights that you thought had gone have returned

this is when you are glad that you can work on your own vessel an even more glad to go fishing just for some peace

but all in all you are right on not wanting to trade them in for quids

i have been trying to give them away but problem is there are no takers

It is never safe. Our kids are like yo yo's and its not getting any better. One moves out, the other moves in with the girl friend. They move out and the other moves back. To make things worse I've had the MOTHER IN LAW HERE FOR TWELVE MONTHS.
    I'm ready for the LOONEY BIN>
    She moves out weekend and the stepson moves out soon to and they have been told they are not coming back. If they all stopped free loading and left maybe we could both retire.

It gets worse Steve believe me. Reckon we should be able to put em all in the freezer, thaw them out when they're twenty one and take the bloody key to the door off them. Not give them one.

Ronnieh

mate i have 2 step kids an 4 of my own 2 eldest are 21 then 2 19yr old have been like bad pennies you give them to the bank an low an behold the bank returns them with no interest other than baby in hand
    great little grand child would not swap him for the world
    but when will the freeloader leave for good start to think i am looney tune an the wife an i will never have quality time at home with no gremlins an no problems me i left home join the Milarty came home for a week after 3yrs in service moved out have never been home other than for visits tried to tell the kids this as a hint but like speaking to brick walls as for mother in laws in 3 marriages only had to put up with one become to demanding on the wife so sorted this one out do not have that problem any more

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie H View Post
    It is never safe. Our kids are like yo yo's and its not getting any better. One moves out, the other moves in with the girl friend. They move out and the other moves back. To make things worse I've had the MOTHER IN LAW HERE FOR TWELVE MONTHS.
    I'm ready for the LOONEY BIN>
    She moves out weekend and the stepson moves out soon to and they have been told they are not coming back. If they all stopped free loading and left maybe we could both retire.

It gets worse Steve believe me. Reckon we should be able to put em all in the freezer, thaw them out when they're twenty one and take the bloody key to the door off them. Not give them one.

Ronnieh

wow steve..that sure is a handful...mine are 25 and 23...both out of home and neither coming back...both have a child..love the kids and grandkids to death...BUT...wife and I love just being to decide to go out for dinner on the spur of the moment or go boating without having to worry about who will be at home etc etc...gotta love being empty nesters.

M8

You know some of the stories in relation to dealing with "reputable" boat yards. The more I can do myself the better off I will be, I've had a gutfull as you well know. Like you, I put the skids on once my bill for a simple tune up exceeded $1500.00 for what was originally a splutter in the motor. Replace the stater, the Flywheel, the CDI pack, clean out the carbs, and still ran like a hairy goat. So what was the problem? Wrong plugs!! Who found it?? Me!!

You bet I want to learn more about the workings of my boat! At least I have all these spares now, should see me right for a few years......

Quote Originally Posted by Scalem View Post
    M8

You know some of the stories in relation to dealing with "reputable" boat yards. The more I can do myself the better off I will be, I've had a gutfull as you well know. Like you, I put the skids on once my bill for a simple tune up exceeded $1500.00 for what was originally a splutter in the motor. Replace the stater, the Flywheel, the CDI pack, clean out the carbs, and still ran like a hairy goat. So what was the problem? Wrong plugs!! Who found it?? Me!!

You bet I want to learn more about the workings of my boat! At least I have all these spares now, should see me right for a few years......

Good point Brian....
    We've heard a heap of who does their own work and why how about we hear from a few who would like some skills to be able to save a few shiney ones, and to get to know their vessel better.

What skills/equipement would you like to have to be able to do a bit around the boat??

For me, I'd like an AC/DC tig to take the welding to another level and some better skills in fiberglassing.
    I'd love to do a 'white ants in the playpen'
    And that's about it I reckon...oooh a hydrolic tube bender would be nice tooo. And that's about it. And maybe a bigger shed to put all the crap into as well. That's gotta be about it now
    Cheers Scott
    Last edited by finga; 25-01-2007 at 07:20 AM. Reason: I keep thinking of more stuff I need

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    Good point Brian....
    We've heard a heap of who does their own work and why how about we hear from a few who would like some skills to be able to save a few shiney ones, and to get to know their vessel better.

What skills/equipement would you like to have to be able to do a bit around the boat??

For me, I'd like an AC/DC tig to take the welding to another level and some better skills in fiberglassing.
    I'd love to do a 'white ants in the playpen'
    And that's about it I reckon...oooh a hydrolic tube bender would be nice tooo. And that's about it. And maybe a bigger shed to put all the crap into as well. That's gotta be about it now
    Cheers Scott

Hi Scott
    well mate with the amount of knowledge on this board maybe we can organize a meet and greet work shop weekend some where in a park as there are people on here to whom have the knowledge on all the above Mig an tig welding, Fibreglassing, Electric's, maintaince of vessel and trailers,
    it is all knowledge to help those out that are looking to save a few dollars an we can all bring some thing different to the table

Thumbs up

Quote Originally Posted by stevedemon View Post
    Hi Scott
    well mate with the amount of knowledge on this board maybe we can organize a meet and greet work shop weekend some where in a park as there are people on here to whom have the knowledge on all the above Mig an tig welding, Fibreglassing, Electric's, maintaince of vessel and trailers,
    it is all knowledge to help those out that are looking to save a few dollars an we can all bring some thing different to the table

Hi Steve
    The M&G sounds great. I"m sure there are lots out there that would be in. I'd like to learn heaps more. You guys have abit of an advantage with welding, mechanics etc so it would be useful to learn more.
    Basic maintenance etc would be a good starting point.
    Like you said to we all have things to offer and ideas as well.
    Great idea and if it happens even better.
    Ronnieh

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie H View Post
    Hi Steve
    The M&G sounds great. I"m sure there are lots out there that would be in. I'd like to learn heaps more. You guys have abit of an advantage with welding, mechanics etc so it would be useful to learn more.
    Basic maintenance etc would be a good starting point.
    Like you said to we all have things to offer and ideas as well.
    Great idea and if it happens even better.
    Ronnieh
    Good ideas. We could knock up a few topics and see what interest there is for the M&G. You could hire someone's shed for the day, and have different catagories.

*** How to change a set of bearings and repack them with grease
    *** How to do general Maintenance on your O/B
    *** What to do in an emergency when you have water in your fuel.
    *** How to apply flowcoat with best results

The list is huge, but I'd love to be at a M and G with this sort of approach.