Why do you work on your own boat?? - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why do you work on your own boat??

Why, because of the satisfaction it gives and the learning that takes place with each job and so that if i breakdown I have a better chance of being able to work out why is it so and then fix it it. Also doing as much as I can as often as I can then have a better idea of when to cal it quits and pay an expert to do things I cannot or choose not to.

Also as RAG said above when your in the bush and rip a tie rod off on a stump its nice to know that a couple of pieces of wire and a short length of branch is all you need to get you home!

Pity this doesn't work at sea but then thats why you have two motors

What could go wrong.......................

Why do it yourself?

I do my own work primarily because I am a bit of a tightwad

Apart from that, it's a confidence thing.

If I have pulled it apart and put it together, I have at least a bit of an idea what is wrong, and how to fix it.

Much better than staring at something and thinking - what the hell is that? - I've not seen that before ! !

Also, when you run into problems during fixing/modifying something - you get to make the choice of what happens next. Rather than somebody else making the decision for you.

I've done it for years on cars, plumbing, appliances, boats, whatever (apart from things that need special equipment that I couldn't justify buying). I will continue to do so, until they pry my screwdriver and shifter from my cold lifeless fingers.

Sea-Dog

Thumbs up

well Finga mate if it was'nt for the help of some people on this board i would not have the vessel i own now brought the hull for $400 an old 1973 5.3mtr fibreglass Stebercraft an rebulit it from the ground up

I'm a butcher by trade but have worked with Fibreglass when i was a kid an old Guy a lot of people will know the younger ones not so much by the name of Barry Bennett or B.B surf boards showed me how to build boards an work with Fibreglass it has been gratification, monetary savings, working on my own vessel along with buliding all the electric's from the ground up as well an i am still working on improving my vessel as the money side of things come along

i have always worked on my own cars, boats, motor bikes pulling apart an rebuilding things but have never been any good at wood work building but will have a go at it all someone needs to do is start me out and i am fine from there a quick learner on most things an the enjoyment we get when we stand back an look at the finished product knowing that we have built this ourselve's is is even better

The reason I like working on my own boat gives you satisfaction and confidence in own boat if happen to break down or equipment on the water you can get it going again
    Done my own boat wiring /dual battery setup bilge pumps, portable live bait tank/wash down hose,install own electronic equipment and even do boat trailer maintenance
    But when its comes to Outboard (only do the basic maintenance on it) under-floor tanks or alloy welding I live it to the trade people because they know what their doing and don't what breakdown or damage the boat or injured yourself or crew while out on the water
    Mitch
    Track Maintenance Supervior/Engineer
    Last edited by Redspeckle; 21-01-2007 at 09:27 AM.

Why do I work on my own boat.............................Simply because I can't seem to bring myself to trust anyone to do anything that I can do myself. Even if I am unfamiliar with a job I would research and ask questions prior to giving my own to any of the boat trade bandits, for at least if I stuff something up I am aware of it rather than a 'professional' (term that is hard to swallow around boats) stuffing something up and saying nothing.

I too am an electrical fitter mechanic ( tools in the cupboard, now replaced with an office chair and computer) and have seen too many shonky things in the building game to ever bring myself to part with money for something that I could stuff up just as easily as the experts.

Of course there are times that the engine will need to have the care and attention of an 'expert' and I can tell you that I get very nervous and paranoid leaving the boat in the hands of someone else.

Regards Cameron.

We only have X amount of expendable income, it's not just mine it's my familys.
    I am the one who get's the main boating/fishing benifit (it's my only recreational interest to any extent).
    Doing the work myself allows the money to be stretched somewhat further, I don't usually buy flasher just because I am doing it myself the saving goes toward all of us and an extra adventure or just for cruising or whatever.

Whenever I am forced to pick up a spanner and work on the cars esp I am pissed at the waste of my spare time but happy for the saving because the money saved (usually 50%+), I enjoy working on the boat/motor more but wouldn't bother if I was not making money - in around about way.

ATM I have been procrastinating for almost 3 weeks over getting the boat welded I have booked it in once and canceled because I don't want to be disgusted with the quality of the work I get back (for the thousanth time) I have fabricated the aluminium to be welded to within .5mm, pretty sure I will get back a job 5mm+ out of square with rough-ish welds ( but I will pay the same amount) so I guess there is a portion of that behind doing it myself.

Boating in Australia is 50 or 60% more expensive than the USA we must really like it considering the complaints over boating costs I read about from the US on line forums.

Quote Originally Posted by FNQCairns View Post
    ATM I have been procrastinating for almost 3 weeks over getting the boat welded I have booked it in once and canceled because I don't want to be disgusted with the quality of the work I get back (for the thousanth time) I have fabricated the aluminium to be welded to within .5mm, pretty sure I will get back a job 5mm+ out of square with rough-ish welds ( but I will pay the same amount) so I guess there is a portion of that behind doing it myself.
    You don't say what you want welded, but I'm guessing a tank or something. There are cowboys in every game and unfortunately alloy welding shows them up quicker than most things.
    If you're unsure about the quality of work from your local boat industry I would suggest the fiollowing.
    1: Talk to the prospective fabricator and explain the quality of finish you want and ask what methods they would use to achieve it.
    2: Have a look around at the quality of the work in progress.
    3: Be realistic in your expectations. Fitters work with micrometers, welders work with tape measures

If you're still unsure, then may I suggest you seek out someone who normally does work for motor racing circles (i.e. drag or circuit racing). Anyone working in this area has to do quality work to survive.

Owen

Why? well I simply cannot aford NOT to work on the boat. It seems the marine industry is very expensive on parts labour and quality workmanship. While i doubt I am any good at what I do, I put as much effort into it as I can, I take my time and I research as much as I can. It doesn't always come off as the best workmanship but I am happy with my own efforts, and I have made some handly things to enjoy my boat more thorough and have also fixed a few isseus which have saved me hundreds of dollars if it was done elsewhere. But still there are some things "engine rebuild" I just had to pay money for still, but end result I carry out my own repairs and workmanship on my boat to cut costs, by this I have also generated a love for my boat, it's nearly a clasic "nice ole 14ft half cab Hartley" of which even the previous owners new the ole girl had character and this tradition has moved on sice I have owned it.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Show me the Snapper!

i work on my own boat mostly
    can try different ideas if modifying
    am a qualifed mechanic
    saves money
    have a good understanding of my equipment
    keeps my away from mowing the lawn and hanging out washing
    stops me sitting on my but watching tv and drinkiing to much

Quote Originally Posted by Owen View Post
    You don't say what you want welded, but I'm guessing a tank or something. There are cowboys in every game and unfortunately alloy welding shows them up quicker than most things.
    If you're unsure about the quality of work from your local boat industry I would suggest the fiollowing.
    1: Talk to the prospective fabricator and explain the quality of finish you want and ask what methods they would use to achieve it.
    2: Have a look around at the quality of the work in progress.
    3: Be realistic in your expectations. Fitters work with micrometers, welders work with tape measures

If you're still unsure, then may I suggest you seek out someone who normally does work for motor racing circles (i.e. drag or circuit racing). Anyone working in this area has to do quality work to survive.

Owen
    Thanks Owen, I am raising the transom on my new boat to suit a 25inch outboard, the pods 5mm plate supports have been engineered with a bend and slight twist in them so I had to add again to this design in the buildup.

Worried the welder will not give much of a crap about lining it up correctly (will take 2 people to do it) 1 person could do it badly or take extra time.

If they get to within 2mm it will look like sorta OK if they are rougher it will be a noticable dogs breakfast like the last one I had done well over 5mm out when I got it back, it was unmiss-able, different tradesman this time of coarse.

You have given me some good ideas I will chase them up.

Wish I could weld!

Last edited by FNQCairns; 21-01-2007 at 10:12 PM.

I cant remember ever paying anyone to work on my boats. I have paid for a pre purchase inspection a coupe times on boats where I've had not experiance on thet brand and size of outboard.

Other than that I do all servicing to save $ and know what has been done and what hasn't. Plus you end up knowing your boat extremely well shoudl something ever go wrong.

Only failure I've had over 25 years was a johnson 35 breaking a reed petal which can be caused by servicing or lack of.

As a fitter & turner by trade few things phase me. Over the years I've rebuilt engines from 20,000rpm karts, 2 stroke outboats to Porsche 911 engines.

Same rules apply, get a detailed manual, research what your wanting to do, be fusy and meticulus about your work, dont rush.

Cheers Mark

Great if you can do yhings to your boat i reckon. I don't do alot of the things you guys can especially on the motor but I do what I know I can and if I need help i have plenty to give me advice. Can't let the other half near any thing mechanical-- so i do it myself. Replaced all the nav lights, installed a new stove, put in a cabin fan, did all the upholstery, stained all the woodwork and replacing all the gauges and wipers.

Not the great stuff you guys do with motor rebuilding etc but i still get lots of enjoyment doing all the other things you guys wouldn't think about.
    I saved abit of cash along the way to.
    Ronnie h

why? because its fun and I can

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie H View Post
    Great if you can do yhings to your boat i reckon. I don't do alot of the things you guys can especially on the motor but I do what I know I can and if I need help i have plenty to give me advice. Can't let the other half near any thing mechanical-- so i do it myself. Replaced all the nav lights, installed a new stove, put in a cabin fan, did all the upholstery, stained all the woodwork and replacing all the gauges and wipers.

Not the great stuff you guys do with motor rebuilding etc but i still get lots of enjoyment doing all the other things you guys wouldn't think about.
    I saved abit of cash along the way to.
    Ronnie h
    You’re a legend Ronnie h, sounds like you’re not scared to jump in and give it a go. Top stuff

Cheers Murf

For me it started as a money thing, but thats with all things I do from boat to cars to house reno's. For a given amount of dollars I can acheive a better result than if I gave that dollar to someone else. I am also a person that finds it hard to sit still and like to have a project of some sort going on in my life. Self satafaction.