Thread: help with pine river/hays inlet

help with pine river/hays inlet

I am new to brissy, and have been trying some landbased fishing since being here without luck. I decided to get my boat going again 18 months after some other fisherman aparently decided my motor would look better on his boat. Anyway, $2600 dollars later, I am ready to go boating again.

The pine river looks very enticing, but before I venture out I think I might need some advice. My fishing skills are not likely to have improved with the time off! So if anyone can offer some advice as to what I am likely to catch in the pine, any places that might get me started, and what sort of bait to use would be muchly appreciated.

I would like to try using soft plastics, but there are just so many and I don't know where or how to start.

Thanks in advance guys!

hi gulletmut,

I havn't fished in the pine lately but have had good success with the flathead on 100mm squidge fish placcies. try near the h'brook highway bridge theres lots of flats around there that hold good flathead as well as near the pine river bridge. have got bream and squire around dohles rocks.

Check the reports section as well there always have good info on them

hey gulletmut the pine is local to a lot of people on this site including myself so advice should come rapidly,you will always nail a few catfish but after some time and effort you should come home with a feed there are better fishing places around brisvegas but the pine is very handy and fairly protected it holds some very nice flathead ,bream,whiting and the occasional Jew and Jack (further upstream) and a few other nice surprises, as for the plastics go grab yourself a packet of pumkinseed coloured minnow grubs 3"(most in this colour work) and 1 ive been having success on is the 5cm nuclear chicken(pink and green).its good to hear of another boaty back on the water and I wish you luck in your fishing ventures.Cheers Snas

at this time of year, try the deeper/faster flowing areas over the very shallow slow flowing hot areas?

The ramps at Dohles and Deepwater Bend are not all that relaxing on weekends. Keep smiling, and you should be ok

Gday mate,
    heaps of flathead on sp's in Hayes.
    Things that work for me are squidgy fish in the 80mm range, black gold, silver fox or gary glitter colours.
    Just drift along on the last half of the ebb, casting towards the bank and any small drain or creek mouths you come across.
    You can dig blood worms off the mud banks in the Pine and get whiting along the edges of the mangrove islands between Doyles and Deep Water Bend.
    Bull sharks are there up near Castle Hill, and I have read of a few on this site who have caught jack up the back blocks, but none for me so far.
    Saw a very nice cod caught adjacent the rock wall at the bend not so long ago, might be worth dunking a livey on a tide change there.
    Brian

Thanks guys

Thanks for all of the information. I will be sure to let you all know when I get out there. I still have a couple of minor repairs to make on my trailer, so that I don't have to pay for a ticket to the policeman's ball when heading to the ramp. I am new to this site, and I must say it is fantastic. I can't believe how ready everyone is to give up information about their hot spots. I guess its like that movie 'pay it forward' where we all just keep helping out the newbies!! Thanks again

i've fished the pine for 14yrs now, and its my beleif its getting better. just before christmas i scored a very nice cod, estimated at 2.5kg (released) under the pine river bridge. great spot, just have to fish a little smarter.

Re: help with pine river/hays inlet

G'Day Gulletmut
    This is my first post.
    I have had limited sucess with SP's. .
    Only new to area (moved up from Penrith) & fishing in general.
    I have mainly caught flathead at mouth of Bald Hill, flats opposite at run in tide & straight between deep river & highway.All fish returned to fight another day.
    Have ventured out to Redcliff / Scarborough only on very calm mornings, without any sucess.
    Having a great time learning.

On the subject of the pine river, I'm thinking of going there tomorrow morning to get away from the sou easter. Is there a boat ramp on the southern side of the hornibrook bridge? Or what the next closest coming from the gateway south.
    Anyone had much luck up in hays inlet?
    thanks

Hamish,
    Try Deep Water Bend Ramp, 2 lanes, parking is normally ok, cept at night when the ratbags move in, pontoon to tie off to when launching.
    Does get a bit busy though
    Brian