Thread: camping information please

Smile camping information please

Gday all, can anyone give me some advice on which lake to take the kids camping around the general south east region. I will be bank fishing but it's not overly important to catch something but would be good, as it is to just get the kids out of the house. We want to be able to light a fire if possible at night and toilets for the other half would be good. I have rang the camp sites at the dams and the rangers but would like some knowledge from you guys.

Chillers

Borumba Dam at Imbil has good facilities

mate borumba dam is the way to go. U have hot showers, clean toilets and friendly caretakers 'bob and dawn.' The price to camp isn't expansive at all as well. Fishing is good at the spillway and near the dam wall if acessiable because of the weeds.

G'Day Chillers,

There's plenty of options here >
    http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/accomodation.htm

fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

scoocer, is that the campsite under the wall, or back at the deer park?

Have read good things about both, but have only camped under the wall, and I think back then there were cold showers?

camped at the deer park and it is perfect for the kids as it has different activities for them and the ammenities are great

Gday fellas,

Borumba Dam looks really good had a look at the website that was suggested (thanks guys) sounds like there is some decent fishing there too. Scoocer the fishing spots you were talking of thats bank fishing isn't it?, I take it they have a powered and non powered camp site as well. Lastly do they get pretty packed out up there?, Thanks heaps guys .

Cheers Chillers

Gday again
    Would you guys recommend the Deer Park or the Yabba Creek camp Ground?, i'm thinking the Deer Park.

Cheers Chillers

I got the names wrong i meant the Island reach camp ground or the Sunwater camp ground (under the wall)? I'm thinking the Sunwater camp ground under the wall is the go, any other ideas.

cheers chillers

Chillers i would definitely go to the camp ground under the wall with good amenities and nice grassy area to camp. There are powered & non powered sites u choose your spot. Fires are allowed and fire wood is provided. Not a great deal for the kids but the creek has a rope swing to keep them happy. Bob & Dawn are the care takers they will look after u .

cheers ANGLER 1
    ANGLER NOT DANGLER

Chillers.
    Boondooma dam at proston allows camping at the waters edge perfect for kids and u can fish from the bank. there are also powered sites etc in main camping area with cabins toilets showers etc..

Thanks heaps again fellas i was wanting to go to Borumba Dam this weekend but had to change plans but i think definately within the next few weeks.

Cheers chillers