Thread: Carrying surf rods on your wagon

Carrying surf rods on your wagon

Hey fellas, on my old hilux I used to have gutters with a roof bar and rocket launchers on the bull bar to carry surf rods.

The old girl has gone (the hilux that is) and been replaced with a 2001 model. This one still has a bull bar but no gutters. A new roof bar is $280 that I don't want to spend.

How does everyone else carry their rods on their vehicles.

Photos would be good

Cheers Craig

In QLD a bullbar rod holder is legal if you are carrying rods in it. The holder must be removed whilst not in use.

There are alternatives, there is a padded strap you can buy. I've seen them at chain fishing/camping stores and seen similar things used to carry surf boards on cars with no roof racks.

I just pass the rods through the back passanger window into the front as far as you can go, then wind the rear window up to hold the rods, usually rap a rag where they come out the rear window. Bit of a pain for the passangers but works well

I use to do the same Craigo works well in the sedan like that too

Brandon...

Just be careful that you don't compress the rods by winding the window up too tight. Although modern fibreglass rods are very strong the one thing they don't like is compression on a single point. Next time you get a decent fish on your rod will suddenly snap at the point where the window was pressing on it. How do I know this? - have a guess! Mistake once made - never again!!!
    Cheers Freeeedom

hi all
    this may not suit you with beach rods liltuffy
    but a mate of mine has a falcon panel van and has fitted velcro straps along the inside roof carries a two piece beach rod and a couple of 7' one piece rods quite easly
    thuoght a great save heaps of room and rsik of damage specailly with grafite rods
    best of luck

G'day mate I don't have a hilux or a car with bullbars but I had a simular prob with my beach rods, but as luck would have it I found a pair of roof racks after a bit of running (ok ringing around). What I found was pair of Pro-bars roof racks from super-dooper cheap auto. They only cost me $35. and have a load rating of 50kg (the same as rating as rolla ). Ok they don't look as pretty as others but for the price I could live with it
    Aussiefool

Thanks guys. i don't want to put them through the window cause when you are travelling from gutter to gutter it would be a real pest.
    Brett - I might have to look around for them I haven't seen them before, and no worries mate the holders are removed when I get back.
    Aussiefool - I might have to have a look also at Supa. I too don't really care what they look like (I don't seem to have a problem with the fashion Police). I just don't want to pay big bucks when the canopy on the back has really strong ladder racks when anything that needs to be on the roof goes there.

Thanks again guys

Mate if you canopy has ladder racks how about you buy some 909m storm water pipe from the plumbing supplies, buy a glue on end for one end and a screw lid for the other, total including the PVC cement would be all of about $25.. I did it for my caravan, now I have a set of rods permanently on the van !! the mounting brackets are a few bucks and with some DIY skills you could make it up to fit those racks nicely !!

That should have read 90mm sorry, my keyboard is destined for the bin

Hi All,

I just use some foam peices. They have a hollow middle and a slit down one side, i put them on the road and then use zip ties to tighten them where they lean on the roof of the car.

Never had a problem and had my Snyder Glas one on there for 10 years.

I used to just wrap a towell around them and tie it up, lower them down onto the roof and tighten the rod holders.

I have since just ajusted the angle of the rod holders so that the rods don't knock against the car, but that's probably not good idea.

Even better. 2 piece rods fit inside the car.

And... I've seen a bloke in a crusier drive around town with a busted off 5$ rod, occy stapped into the holders. Obviously to beat the road rules.

Iuse the suction type ones that come from prohunter they operate the same as glass carriers (lever activated suction cups),haven't seen them about for a while though.

I have rod holders on the bull bar and just have them set up so the rods and or tackle dont touch the roof at all,dont know why you need a roof rack as well. I've done this for 20 or more years with no damage to rods at all.
    Barry

Be carefull in NSW with regards to Bullbar mounted holders as they are illegal regardless of weatherthey are carrying rods or not(on any roads),I think there is leeway given on the beach for transporting rods from gutter to gutter but the holders have to be off when you hit the road.