-
Trailer Wheel Fell Off!!!!
G'day All,
I thought I would share this story with you all. I am in the market for a new boat, motor, trailer the whole package. I have basically decided on what I want and the dealer I will use, I won't name them here as they have been very helpful and this would not be great for their rep.
I wanted a sea test in the new boat before I purchased it and the dealer was very obliging and fitted one they had in the yard with a secondhand motor. I made a time to come over in the afternoon and got there about 5min early. The dealer owner said one of the younger floor staff was taking me out and he was just runnig a bit late from getting back from another job. So I waited and chatted to the dealer over the side of the boat I was going out in, while we were doing this I pointed out that the trailer rollers hadn't been set up properly yet and he replied that before boats being picked up they did a delivery check where this would be fixed.....no problem.
Anyway the young guy returned a ran back and forth a few times with gear, and fuel, he looked flat out and really hassled. I decided to ride down to the ramp with him. So after about 10 min of him running around like a chook with no head we got going. We turned right at the first set of lights about 1.5kms down the road and as we rounded the bend we heard this scraping noise....that's wierd I thuoght looking over at the guy nervously looking in his rear view mirror. Next thing there was a crash, the boat listed over and there was a terrible scraping sound with the car slowing rapidly!!
We pulled over and jumped out to see that the left trailer tyre had fallen off and there was a guy in the opposite side of the road waving his arms saying HERE IT IS!! Great we said but a #$%@^#$%@^#$%@^#$%@^ load of good it is over there! The young employee looked shaken and called back to the dealer with his story, having to say "No I'm serious"!! a few times. We got it fixed, canned the sea test a went back to the dealer.
The story was that when the trailers are delivered the truckies sometimes take the wheels off to store them and only put them back on to unload, without tightening the nuts!!
The dealer owner was fairly embarassed, but #$%@^#$%@^#$%@^#$%@^ happens, I have booked another sea test but asked that a new boat and trailer be sent if I'm happy with the set up!!!!
What a way to end the day!!!
cheers, Evan
-
Ausfish Addict
Hi Evan
shite happens
it went pear shapped for him big time
hope it turns out great for you in the end
Cheers Murf
-
Geez, that's got to be worth a chuckle! Rather on the test than on the way home though. You got to feel for the poor salesman. I know you don't want to id the dealer, but what sort of boat are you looking at, tinny, cuddy cabin?
-
Thanks Guys,
Yeah the young salesman looked really pale and more than a few swear words came out. It was pretty funny when you look back, the street was one of the busiest in the City I live so heaps of traffic, I joked with the guy that maybe he should peal the dealer stickers off the car!!
Luckily I am only in the market for a small boat, it was a 4.2m tinny with a 30hp on for a test. It's a fairly heavy boat though so dug a furrow in the bitumen! If I go with the setup I'll be getting a 40hp as the boat is reasonably heavy at just over 200kg and I want the extra grunt to pull out of wave troughs and carry some load.
cheers, Evan
-
Ausfish Addict
How fast were you going?
Might of got interesting at 100 kph.
And I bet they check the wheel nuts from now on.
cheers scott
-
Luckily we had only just rounded the corner at the traffic lights and we were probably going about 55km/h. If we had of been traveling at 100km/h I'd have absolutely #$%@^#$%@^#$%@^#$%@^ myself. I'd say that the damage would have been much worse at that speed.
The only damage was to the mud guard and the light bracket which were bent.
I reckon they will have definately had the rattle gun out by now!!
Evan
-
Thanks for the laugh. Are you going to divulge the dealer.
might be someone we all know and can have some more fun pulling the p******ss out of them
Ronnie
-
a great story crooked put a smile on the dial that you toke it so well i would not go back
if you do buy a boat from them check it over
i used to work at a boat sales yard and often spent many late days usally friday not getting any pay or even a thank you fixing boats up that came from our fitters so customers could take tthem
the worst a 150 hp motor held on by one bolt
-
Ronnie, I can't tell you the dealer, as I said they are a good dealer, really helpful and they give great trade ins and are willing to do a "deal" for you if you speak to them. But I do live in Townsville so from your location it would be a distance from you anyway.
Gone Fishing, I imagine this sort of stuff can happen to anyone, I have dealt with this dealer previously and they have been great, I think shite happens sometimes but if it happens repeatedly then start to worry!
Evan
-
Evan
as you said when you look back at it it is funny