-
Ausfish New Member
Cooby Dam
Hi to everybody in the group,
I was wondering if anybody has had any experience with bank fishing on Cooby Dam. Any tips on times, baits ,ect.Thanks in advance for the advice.
Good fishing Joe.
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: Cooby Dam
G'day mate - not that i do a huge amount of fishing in cooby and cressbrook but i live in toowoomba and when i do go fishing there i usually use shrimps as they are the go for yellas and sometimes silvers a nd ive seen the odd cod on shrimp. Lures can be hit and miss off the bank but like chris said spinner baits are good, I also find an oar-gee in black and white stripes to be good also. Late arvo is definatley best.
Cheers, Lachie
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Ausfish Addict
Guys, whereabouts and what sort of stinger hook do you attach.
Maybe this is the reason for my low success rate with spinner baits.
Bugman
-
I use Gamakatsu Siwash(sp) hooks. . .the are a fly hook. . .the reason for using these is that they have a large eye so you can easily get them over the other hook. . .you just slip it on, then put a small square of plastic over to kepp in on(a cut up milk bottle is what i use). Some use glow beads or the like but i find that this is to stiff and doesn't return to where it should be very easily.
-
Thanks for the tip on stinger hooks attached to spinner baits. I've been mucking around with side cutters etc to try and split small hooks eyes. I'm off to the tackle shop tomorrow to buy some of the fly hooks you mentioned.
Sav
-
Ausfish Addict
Chris,
Thanks for the info on stinger hooks. I'll make one up for my next fresh outing. Maybe the freshwater Ausfishh M&G.
Bugman