Cressbrook Dam

Thread: Cressbrook Dam

Cressbrook Dam

went to cressbrook dam on my birthday (2nd Jan) for a fish. The weather was overcast with an occasional slight drizzle and about 5 - 15 knts of wind. Went to the side opposite the boat ramp and got a few bites but nothin to show for it, I the tried near the boat ramp without luck. Later in the arvo i got bass following spinner bait but they just wouldn't take it > > . Not a very good day but i still had fun.

Cheers, Lachie

Re: Cressbrook Dam

Hmmmmm

We were out there from the 29th til the 31 and we got an absolute tonne. . . Nearly all were taken in the early morning on surface poppers, spinnerbaits(Bassmans 3/8 purple ) and bibless rattlers. Heaps of small ones about at the moment though. . .the biggest we got was 42cm (FL) but most were in between 20 and 35cm. . .not real big fish but still a bit of fun.

During the day was a different story though. . .we only got about a dozen from about 9-3(all on fly and plastics) and then there was a few more to be caught in the arvo on spinnerbait(surface was a waste of time in the arvo).

Over the whole trip we would've caught 60-70 easily. . .how many of size was a different story

Funny how fishing can change in such a short period of time. . .

Here is a 42 to. . .

thats interesting that you got quite a few and i didn't but it just wasn't happening for me. ??? ???

Cheers, Lachie

Brad_Mcalister

Lachie,

I fished cressbrook from jan 1- jan 4 & we got at least 40 bass with very little effort, just fishin a few hours here and there when we felt like goin out.

we got 50/50 on trolled divers & jigging slugs. got plenty of attention on spinnerbaits but no hookups even with a stinger hook on.
    they ranged from about 20cm up to the biggest at 35cm.

I found it tough to find fish when i first went out but we did manage to find 3 large concentrations of fish that were full of small bass keen to hit lures.

If the schools we were fishin had 50cm fish in them i reckon i'd still be there now

Brad

Great Effort Brad

We didnt spend alot of time chasing schooling fish. . .we did find a school of "Larger-then-average" fish. . .at 14ft in 20ft of water(got love humminbird legends ) and that is where we got the 42 from. . .Which end of the dam did you fish?

We spent most of our time west of the camping ground. . .I'm off out there tomrorow for a few hours. . .so hopefully there will be a few bigger ones around. . .

Btw what jigs were you using? I haven't done much jigging. . .i'll have to give it a good go sometime

Brad_Mcalister

Quote Originally Posted by Chris_J
    Great Effort Brad

We didnt spend alot of time chasing schooling fish. . .we did find a school of "Larger-then-average" fish. . .at 14ft in 20ft of water(got love humminbird legends ) and that is where we got the 42 from. . .Which end of the dam did you fish?

We spent most of our time west of the camping ground. . .I'm off out there tomrorow for a few hours. . .so hopefully there will be a few bigger ones around. . .

Btw what jigs were you using? I haven't done much jigging. . .i'll have to give it a good go sometime

Thanks Chris,
    U guys did pretty bloody well yourselves too

We found good schools over the humps & drop-offs in around 20ft between the camping area & the boat ramp. There was also good schools at the tip of the small island opposite the steep rocky bank at the top of the dam as u go left round the corner ( If that makes any sense ) & also good soundings along the banks to the left just before that island.

We basically only fished these schools we could find & each session they seemed to prefer jigs over bibbed lures or vice versa so we just worked out wot they wanted & give it to em

Jigging is quite simple (i can do it ) we either cast & jig retrieve back thru the school or if we had a breeze we just cast, sink em down & jig thru the school as we drift over them.

We used from 15 to about 35 gram jigs depending on depth & wind. The larger green ones caught most of the fish with any bibbed lure in black also doin the damage.

I was really frustrated with the amount of missed strikes on spinnerbaits, even with a stinger hook. On looking back i should have downsized the stinger hook to suit the smaller fish maybe

Brad

Guys,

I haven't fished Cressbrook since 1994. Back in my old Toowoomba days. I seem to remember that there was a 50hp limit on motors on the dam - is that right.

If that's the case can I bring up my Haines which has a 140hp on the back but only run on the auxillary or is that not allowed. Thinking of heading up there for a weekend camping trip.

Bugman

G'day Bugman

There is no HP limit on Cressbrook. . .only a speed limit of 8knots.

Brad-Those jigs are some that, i would've thought would be more at home in salt. . .just goes to show what works. Whenever i have done any jiggin it been with the like of Nilsmaster Ice jigs or Rahaulas(sp).

I was out there yesterday (8th) and got 18 for 4hrs. Got a few better quality(for cressy standards). The best two fish going 42 and 43cm short length. . .most were over legal. . .i only got 3 that didn't go legal.

Yesterday there was a great showing of fish on the bottom in 14-20ft of water north of the yellow bouy down towards the eagles nest. . .only managed to drop two before saying stuff softies. . .Crack out the spinnerbaits agian

My pick of posion for yesterday? 5/8oz White and Purple Bassmans spinnerbait. . .oh and a few on olive Vampires

When are we have this freshwater M&G? I reckon Cressy could be a good spot. . .

CJ

Thanks Chris,

Cressy used to be my favourite haunt up there on the Downs. Got hooked after Peter Taylor kept telling me yarns how they's go out and do tests with the DPI before it was opened to the public. He and his sons would pull in 1 after the other over 50cm. No-one had ever fished the thing before and everything wass getting smashed.

I went out for the opening. It rained if I remeber correctly. I've even got the archive of my interview with the Minister at the time. Saying it was going to be the new fishing mecca for the region.

Probably be right. It was so popular there for a while you had to book the campground in advance is that right? And do you still have to take your boat out every night?

I'd put a vote in for Cressy for the M&G. It's only about a 2 hour run from Brissy.

Bugman

Thanks Chris,

Cressy used to be my favourite haunt up there on the Downs. Got hooked after Peter Taylor kept telling me yarns how they's go out and do tests with the DPI before it was opened to the public. He and his sons would pull in 1 after the other over 50cm. No-one had ever fished the thing before and everything wass getting smashed.

I went out for the opening. It rained if I remeber correctly. I've even got the archive of my interview with the Minister at the time. Saying it was going to be the new fishing mecca for the region.

Probably be right. It was so popular there for a while you had to book the campground in advance is that right? And do you still have to take your boat out every night?

I'd put a vote in for Cressy for the M&G. It's only about a 2 hour run from Brissy.

Bugman

G'day Bugman

You no longer have to remove your boat from the water over nite. . .thank god.

And as far as i know you can't book a site at the camping ground. . .there really is no need to any way. . .there are a heap of sites and if things get really busy they just open up the big grassed hill. . .hhhhheeeeeeaaaaaapps of space.

Ausfish Platinum Member craigie's Avatar

G'day Bugman,

You can leave your boat in the water overnight but don't forget to bring your car back around to the Camping Area and not leave it at the Ramp overnight. The Ranger was Frightfully close to fining me for making this mistake last year when I was camped up there.

This location will make a great venue for the 'Freshie' M&G.

Let me know if you head up that way in the near future, maybe we could meet up and have a 'Two Pronged' attack on Cressbrook.

Craigie.

Craigie,

I've forgotten just how got fresh fishing is. I think I might do a bit more this year so I'll be giving you a bell. Not sure when I'll be going but I'll be going.

Bugman

Just 1 question to you Cressy guys, Ive been hearing rumors of surface bites in the morning. I thaught you are not to head out till 6am, is there still fish hitting poppers ect that late.How long does the bite last. Quinny

Brad_Mcalister

Quote Originally Posted by Quinny69
    Just 1 question to you Cressy guys, Ive been hearing rumors of surface bites in the morning. I thaught you are not to head out till 6am, is there still fish hitting poppers ect that late.How long does the bite last. Quinny
    Can't help ya on that one, i've never acually thrown a popper or any surface lure at cressbrook

Brad