Thread: Where R the Cod - Cooby?

Where R the Cod - Cooby?

Hello all - 1st time poster long time reader...I have not long relocated to tmba from Tas, and have been spending a lot of time at Cooby looking to catch my first Murry Cod. Every fish trip - I have caught plenty of yellow's,silvers, catties but no Murry's? - R the numbers of cod that small in Cooby or am I just using the wrong tequnique ? Any ideas on tracking down a Cod ? Thanks in advance to any assistance.

Re: Where R the Cod - Cooby?

hi simon try glenlyon at texas or coolmunda inglewood i personaly dont fish the dams for cod or yellas i prefir to fish the rivers and hav better scess aswell cheers

G'day Simon

Sorry for the slowness of my reply...been away.

Well I spend a lot of time fishing Cooby and i found that throwing big spinnerbaits(3/8-1oz) in dark colours to be the best method.

The number of cod in cooby is pretty good. . .not over done which ruin the changelle of chasing these awesome sportfish

Best spots? Out the front of the sailing club or along the rock wall has been the best for me, but really its best to cover as much round as possible.

Another proven method is trolling lures around. I found the rock wall to be the best for this.

I'm guessing that u have a boat and you lure fish?

If you are using bait probably live crays or shrimp along the rock wall would be best. . .not to sure though, i haven't used bait in a long while...

I you ever want any more help with cooby or you if you would like to have a fish drop us a PM

P.S I have found around the full moon to be the best time...oh and fish late afternoon

Hey thanks Chris - I have chased the rock wall for a little while and pulled out a yellow at nearly 5 kilo's a week back ! was awesome ! I have not fished out the front of the saining club - seems a little shallow there ? but will have to give it a ago. I predominantly have been using bait - but am starting to try other lures / spinnerbaits with limited success.
    Am just waiting for a new deep cycle battery to arrive for boat and may have to drop you a line re having a fish ? Cheers Si.

Yeah do drop us a line. . .only to happy to meet up with other local fishos.

If your buy any new spinnerbaits for cooby go a 3/8 purple Bassmans really hard to beat.

Out the front of the sailing club is shallow but you only need a little water...there is a deeper section down towards the dam wall just as it turns towards the toilet on the walkin track

Top Yella btw!

Hi Chris - am going to try this Saturday and see if I can't nail one down. They tell me the afternoon is best so i'll see how I go. If you are about say hello - I have an old 12ft brooker, it's a bit of a bucket but it lets me go fishin ! - the wife and me will be there, she'll be the one with all the fish !! ( if she catches a cod b4 me - she'll be swimming back !!) Anyway, we'll try out the spinner bait you mentioned, and thanks for the advice. Si.

G'day Simon

I fished Cooby yesterday afternoon for about an hour and managed just 2 yellas...i didn't travel to my usaul haunts due to limited time so i wasn't expecting great results...both fish were taken on the 3/8 Bassmans in purple along the bank oppsite the sail club...

I'm off out there again today with a mate so i will let ya know how i go...this guys always kicks my bum out at cooby...he has THE(!) lure for the yellas yellow and green Bassmasta Cheap and nasty but i can't find a lure that comes close...

Don't know how you find all the time - but i'm only jealous...We have had some good storms go thru tonight - so next few days will be interesting, I've found that 2 days after a good rain - usually get better results, I think the rain washes mor e"grub" into the water - just a theory - but hey, what ever works.
    Am going to check Amart for one of these spinners you refer too - sound like the go. Good luck, Si.

Hi Simon and Chris
    Good discussion on Cooby. I've been away for a month and havn't had a chance to fish. I'm heading out there this afternoon and will mainly troll the North West bank - towards the deep drop offs into the old creek bed. Generally pick up a yella or 2. I've also got a few cod deep trolling but they are generally undersize - 40 to 50cm.
    Let you know how I go.
    Sav

Hello once again Simon

Well I we fished Cooby yesterday arvo from about 4 til 7:40...in that time we managed 7 yellas to 48cm.

We didn't take the boat...just walked the banks...Cooby didn't get a drop from that storm...a bit of wind and that was about it(well it didn't rain while we were there at least)...bit of a bummer...

Well the lures that worked were(once again) 3/8oz Purple spinnerbaits (Ausspin and Bassmans) and a Lipless rattler in shiner colour...only put the lipless on becoz i cast of my only purple spinnerbait and my mate wouldn't lend me his other one in case he needed it(well so he said...i reckon he didn't trust my knots )

Final score: Me 3 Ben 4

Top fun on 2kg spin sticks

G'day Sav

We usual get a couple in the deep when going spot to spot. What lures do u find work best out deep? We usally just leave the shallow ones on...

Btw there was an undersize cod landed yesterday by some guys fishing live shrimp on the rock wall.

Sav what your boat? Must likely seen ya out there...my be out there again this arvo...depends how long it takes to play a game of tennis or two with some friend

I've got a 12 ft tinny - high hull. Got the Ausfish stickers on - so if you see me about say hello. I drive a blue suzi which most people recognise me by.
    I generally troll using blitz bagas - dark colours - purple, blue but i guess any lure that will get to the 20ft plus mark will do the trick. I use fire line with leaders to get my lure deeper.
    I'll be back there when the dam opens - mainly afternoons - when I can sneak away from work.
    Sav
    PS - what type of boat are you in -

Sav,

Those Blitzies are great lures...got a couple of cod on the purple/gold and purple/black...last fish i hooked on the purple and gold took it home as a bonus

Re the boat: At present i'm in my lil beast...12ft tinny with Minn Kota maxium on the front and a 6hp on the back...its a BEAST! Waitin 4 the new one...

Will come over and say g'day if i see ya about...