Australias Hardest Fighting Freshwater Fish? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Australias Hardest Fighting Freshwater Fish?

SHANE

Re: Australias Hardest Fighting Freshwater Fish?

HI ALL
    I,VE BEEN READING ALL THE REPLIES AND THERES ONE FISH THAT BEEN OVER LOOKED
    YOU CAN CATCH IT ALL OVER THE WORLD AND IN EVERY SITUATION YOU WOULD CARE TO FISH
    SNAGS OPEN WATER WEED THE LOT AND POUND FOR POUND 1KG FISH TO 1KG LINE OR IF THEY GOT THAT BIG 100POUND FISH ON 100POUND LINE
    IS THE FRESHWATER EEL????
    LOVE THEM OR HATE THEM

ARE THEYHARD FIGHTERS OR JUST A PAIN IN THE BUTT
    SHANE

I think jet skies pull the best I hav'nt been able to stop one on 50lb braid yet. The buggers first run is a beauty and I usually get spooled!!!

G'day all
    as much as they are not widely sought after. i would have to say the hardest freshwayer fight i have ever seen was from an eel. the poor bugger next to me at Marron some years ago hooked a six foot example that would have dragged him into the water. someone actually had to hold him around the waist to stop him sliding in. he didnt want it but it was a memorable feed on the BBQ that night.

Gidday: I am aware that Macquarie Perch are protected in NSW, however there is a bag limit of two in Dartmouth Dam.(Vic) Having tackled Barra.Murray Cod, Atlantic Salmon as well as All species of trout including Brookies, Iwould have to rate a maca as the best fighting fish I have hooked, mainly for their use of cover.

gday
    id have to agree ive only caught 7 maccas but they would pull a bass of the same size backwards
    phil
    ps all were released but none were bigger than about 400grams

Pound for pound? Well if you want a long dirty fight, or a visual fight etc will all have a bearing. I've not caught a bass, but I think I'd still throw my vote at Saratoga. For the shear visual side of things and explosive enerfgy.

Barra hafta B D best! Pity they wont let them down south.

crikey have you got a bad stutter or what ??? ??? i don't know if many people out there have hooked trout cod ??? but they certainly have twice the pull of murrays and they would have to be on par with sooties

i know all hate the carp but you get a 1m long fat arsed carp on 2kg line well thats a challenge it swam 100 metres up the river then 100 metres down the river
    ive caught lots of bass on light gear but that old man carp was great fun

reckon pound for pound a tarpon might just pull a sooty backwards...

just my opinion but man poons some times supprise ya (well lots of times) ya think ya on to the king and ya gets a bit of live bait with attitude.

but its a toss in my book between sooties and poons, sooties are mean down but in shallow tend to freak a tad (from my experience) and poons on the other hand throw the towel in or fight till they do their pooper valve all water levels.

but mate my fav is the lord of the billabongs Mr TOGA, aint one prettier swimming in the fresh and aint one so keen to please the fly rod angler either not many fish follow a fly all the way out from a snag a strike three or four times...

i do a lot of bass & trout fishing but i have caught some sootys and barras. but i'd have to say a browny would put it over them any day i caught an 8lb browny at the start of the season on fly and that took me a good 15 minutes to get in , now with sootys i've got them in prety quick on fly and the bass are quite easy.
    So i think the browny would put it over most pound for pound.

Regards BBF

Neil_c

How do Rainbow trout compare to Brownies? I caught some nice ones around 8lb in the Tongariro's flowing water on 3kg tippet which I thought was pretty spectacular , that is until last weekend when my wife was dragged about 30m down an inflow channel that flows into a dam near Mackay, by a 51cm Sooty and that was on 30lb BB with a 30lb leader.

Sooties rule

Would have to be sooties!

Anyone who votes for anything other than a sooty hasnt caught one i say!

In Eungella you really do need barra style gear to get ones this size out from near the trees

Every fish I've ever released is my vote.