-
Ausfish New Member
CANBERRA
I'm off to Canberra in a couple of weeks time - can anyone drop a few hints as to where fishes well (private message if you like).
I'm not too fussed with trout but I understand there are Cod and Goldens in the impoundments.I use lure and fly and am generally a catch and release fisher. I'm down for a week from the 6thmay, if someone wants to tee up a trip - all the better!
-
Re: CANBERRA
I heard a rumour the lake there, berley griffin I think has great fishn
-
Haven't been down there for quite a while myself, but have a couple of mates in the area. Apparently the boys have been pulling a few redfin out of Lake Berley Griffin on lures, and another mate who's a first time fisherman managed to pull a decend yellowbelly (Callop, Golden Perch - depends where you come from really!) out of there a couple of weeks ago. All as far as I know from the bank with lures.
Also heard a story (and it might be a tall one) that a while back there were a heap of kids carp fishing with light gear and kept on getting busted off. Someone clued onto what was happening and wandered down there with a decent sized setup and pulled a pretty big cod.
Not much help and a lot of second-hand gossip I know, but let us know how you went!
Finnie
-
Mate,
Fishing in the Canberra lakes is pretty good (as long as you don't intend to dine on your catch - water quality not always 100%). Both Lakes Burley Griffin and Lake Ginninderra hold good numbers of goldens, murray cod , redfin, carp and some trout. A lot of decent sized yellowbellys and cod (there are some big fish in the lakes)are regularly caught, mainly on lures but also on baits. Petrol powered boats are banned on all Canberra lakes, but a lot of anglers get out in their tinnies with electric outboards and troll around. I can't comment about fly fishing but if you give Bryan Pratt from Pratt's Tackle Box a call on 02 62517733, he will give you all the lowdown on local fishing - he is a legend!
Hope this helps.
Dino
-
Ausfish New Member
I normally chuck soft plastics around from a tinny on Ginninderra on fine weekday mornings - catch mainly small redfin, but there is an occasional cod or yellowbelly to be had.
If you are interested - give a call. May have rego for the boat on Burley Griffin by then.
-
Hi Mate.
I lived in Canberra for a while and did heaps of fishing. I love carp fishing so thats mostly what i did. If you like carp fishing then almost any freshwater in canberra holds them.I caught one in the Murranbidgee weighing 15kg's!!!!
Lake burley griffen holds trout and perch but i never saw alot of captures.
In the more cleaner rivers around canberra, especially the Murranbidgee there are a few trout.
Not the best fishing in the country mate but there are a few fish around.
I would rather fish at Yass, Burrinjuck dam!!!!
Good everything there!!
Hope this helps
Rob.
p.s good crays in canberra but.