Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: QLD vs. NSW

Re: QLD vs. NSW

Us Qlders has Barra, bass, togas, yellowbelly, barcoo grunter, mary river cod, murray cod, silver perch, sleepy cod, sooty grunter, mangrove jack, jungle perch, longtom and more.

While the NSW people might argue that they have trout and we don't but we can hold our heads up high and say Well we have barra, togas and sootys so ha.

Cheers Matt.

bo_sawyer

Thats right matt....
    And good call Flynny, but NT do have some good species.

Right on:
    BASMANSRC is the only one that has actually written from the heart. Good on U mate. I agree with U you 100%. I reckon SE QLD runs second to NSW and Nth QLD is third.

bo_sawyer

sure sure mate we all know QLD has got the better species. Use have only the trout and murray cod to brag about

Personally I think NSW.

Yes we do have bigger fish, but (correct me if im wrong) the licencing is better.

Here you can only get a week or year (for $35). Down there you can get 1,2 or 3 years (the latter being $75)

That covers every fishing, while the cost up here only goes to *some* impoundments (and not all)

However the bottom line is we all like fishing and its the ones who take bucket loads of fish instead of the bag limits (or less) should be stoped.

If they keep doing that then there will be no fish for anyone.

This happens in both states (and I have seen it)

Rosso.

If your talking just about the fish everyone has forgot about the eastern freshwater cod it is a native to two rivers in northern NSW it grows alot bigger than murrays and barras and its a lot better lookin 8),
    but it is illegal to catch in the rivers, though it is in some dams that you are aloud to catch them in and boy can they fight.
    So do you QLD's have a fish that good.
    BBF

Quote Originally Posted by Mattman

While the NSW people might argue that they have trout and we don't but we can hold our heads up high and say Well we have barra, togas and sootys so ha.

Cheers Matt.
    Who says we aint got trout in Qld. They're here if you know where to look & can get access to em. Hardly anyone knows or bothers too much when there's so much other good fishing close by.
    Also got blackfish up here too.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Look for a cold, deep, secluded and non-used water hey Fitz!!

RG

Hi Fellas

Fitzy, I am know aware of my mistake as i have read that there is trout in queensland . I suspect they are down in behind Killarney. Can you confirm this? ???
    Thanx for pointing out my mistake
    Cheers Matt

QUEENSLAND ALL THE WAY WE UM BARRAAAAAAAAA & UM BARRA & BARRA OH DID I MENTION WE HAVE BARRA
    I LIVE IN WARWICK AND AM YET TO CONFIRM IF THERE IS ENOUGH TROUT NEARBY TO CATCH A RELEASE A FEW

CHEERS GARY

just to point out a mistake by BBF, eastern freshwater cod, DO NOT grow bigger than murray cod the biggestt murray cod was 113kg where as the biggest eastern was only just under 50kg.....seems like a mistake to me!!! also about the fighting qualities, they are nothing special, hardly worth the effort really. i hooked one in the orara river last year on 4lb fire line and had it not of been for the trace wearing through i would have landed the fish with no hassles, admittedly i was in a canoe but i was by myself and the canoe is 17.5 feet long try handling that on your own with a big fish attatched and nothing but paddle power it is quite streuous, oh yeah did i mention it was about 20kg??? and about them being native to only 2 rivers in northern NSW is just bull there are confirmed reports of them being in both the shoalhaven and the nepean system and the fisheries mob know about them as well, how do i know? they have been caught in the wollemi national park in some of the upper tributaries of the colo river. and when confronted about it they denied it but then said that any cod were to be released. if they were not trout cod which are easily recognisable, or easterns which they denied were in the system, what are they murrays? but arent they a legal catch?
    and on the subject of the better fw fishing in qld or NSW how about you look at it from a differant perspective which state has the best NATURAL fisheries ie unstocked rivers and places other than stocked impoundments. it is just as simple as this...QLD has tilapia and NSW dont.
    think about it
    phil

bl##dy cockroach

Lets give them this one guys. They cant play footy if they tried, so give the QLDers a break we ALL know they have NO wild BASS in QLD, only hatchery fish and they fight like they play footy. 2 quick runs and they turn belly up. Hang on was I talking about their fish or their footballers Ha Ha Ha!!!!!!!!

Who says we don't have wild bass in qld ?

Bass are available in many souther rivers if you're willing to persevere and try a number of different options, but I don't know, maybe yous only have i way of catching fish as yous have one person on ya footy team who can play footy.

And who has won the last 2 series. Without Johns yous would lose 3-0 instead of 2-1. Yous have 250 players to choose 17 players from and we have 50 to choose 17. And we still beat ya most of the time.

cheers matt

Hey there Big Q, we aint got any trout up here to brag about like they got down south.
    My vote went to the blues for this one ..
    Kilkenny