Also, I know you don't need any permits to fish in Qld saltwater but what about the freshwater and Lake Baramba
G'day fellas,
I'm a slat water fisherman, never been fishing in freshwater before, however im going to Lake Baramba for a day or 2 and i was wondering if any one new what the fishing has been like there, what I am likely to catch andwhat lures to use hard bodies(what type) or soft plastics(what type).
Cheers, Jackash.
Also, I know you don't need any permits to fish in Qld saltwater but what about the freshwater and Lake Baramba
hi jackash
for lake barambah you do need a Stocked Impoundment Permit (SIP). I havn't actually fished barambah but i know that your best two bets are yellowbelly and bass, live shrimp will be as good as any other technique i reckon but to use lures, any appropriate sized lure (eg.like the ones for flatties) will do, and fish the softies in a similar way you fish em for flatties if you are after bass.
Good Luck and hope this helps/
Cheers Matt
Thanks Matt. Could you please tell me how to catch these shrimp, is it in a shrimp trap and also where i could get one of these permits and ow much they cost.
Cheers, Jackash.
Jackash, i believe the best place to catch shrimp is a local fishing store. You can save money and buy the traps from the shop but finding shrimp is hard, look for any freshwater stream i guess and hope, we find its best at nightime.
The SIP permit should be able to buy from any bait&tackle outlet and is about $7 weekly or $35 yearly.
Good luck i hope this helps
Cheers Matt
your right about the permits, there is three places to get them up there that i can think of , one is the deer park were you can camp or the post office in town and the takeaway opposite it during w/hours for these two. I would just buy them online at the dpi store.
good luck as they also have a few good saro's up there too [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=cool3.gif]
steve
Life begins when you get one!!!
Cheers again,
For the saratogas do I just use the same bait and equipment as I would for perch and cast in near the snags,
Jackash.
I caught all of mine on lures and most were in open water 10-15m away from any snags. have not tried bait yet but plan to try fly next time. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
good luck steve.
Cheers mate,
By the way what is Treaure Island fishing like at te moment.
Jackash.
sorry mate you got me with that one [smiley=confused.gif] [smiley=confused.gif]. don't know of this place ??? by that name anyway. have fished all over the dam but still no idea [smiley=gossip.gif]
steve
OK Cheers mate, Someone told me that aparently it was fishing ok at the moment, but maybe he got the spot worng or sumthin cheers,
Jackash
G'day fellas.
It wasnt a great 2 days of fishin. Me mate caught a smal Aus. bass on an atomic sp and we caught 6 bi catties in about half an hour. Great fun but obviously not the most desired fish.
Jackash.
g'day, wasn't the best result but still enjoyed i hope.were you out of a boat and were you using bait or lures? also is there plenty of water as i may be heading up in the near future [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
steve
G'day Steve,
For the first day we fished off the bank neer the boat ramp and thats when the small bass was caught. There were plenty of bass around big ones too, all feeding on the surface but couldnt get them to take the lure. Tried with sp's, hard bodies, poppers, and surface, sp's and even bait but nothing. Don't no why they woodnt take it. The bass was caught on a atomic sp and the catties on live worms.
The water level appeared to be very low. Treasure Island as i mentioned in a previous message is a place but only has been above water due to the water levels which give you and indication of how low it is.
Jackash.
P.S. Ill try to get the pics of the catties posted unfortunately I didnt get one of the bass I left the camera at the tent.
O yeah the catties were caught out of a boat and the bass of the shore cheers, JAckash