Thread: Rain Rain Rain

Rain Rain Rain

We've just had 3.5 inches rain at Highfields. Most of the run off is in to Cooby - hopefully it'll add 10% or so to the dam level. No doubt it will increase the activity of the yellowbelly and the hoards could be out there tomorrow.
    Same could apply for Cressbrook - plenty of rain in its catchment as well.
    Just need another 3in next week or so to top it off.

I'll be slipping out during the week so will post a report.
    Sav

Justme

Re: Rain Rain Rain

G'day Sav
    Bloody beautiful rain, rain, & more rain.
    We,ve had about the same as you by the sounds of it. The best single rain event for over 5 years here. The condamine looks like filling again which will help everyone noends including the people with time to fish.
    We just hope that we can get some follow up in the next few weeks.
    Til we meet again
    Larry

gidday larry & sav we got between 4-6in at warwick
    we can only hope that they got the same up at killarney where the condamine starts , i went fishing up river from here 2weeks ago they have pump the guts out of the river most of the holes i go in were 4ft lower than usual, i did hear on friday that there was a good flow going into leisly dam it mite make it turn from a puddle into a pool

Morning Fellas

Sav, Cressbrook is getting a bit, but i don't think its quite as much as Highfields. Every bit is a blessing though

I spent 2 1/2hrs on cressy on friday arvo with my Boss(read fishing mate) and we brained 'em, 25 fish, best going 46cm and another couple over 40. I lost my best fish of the day, he did also, the bosses fish was headed for the horizion and didn't look like slowing down, it was a monster for sure.

The best part was that we got the best fish on poppers...By far the best session we've had in ages...

Seeyas on the water

Hi Caveman.Iam interested to know how Leslie did in the rain we had.Most of the water for Leslie came from up around Stanthorpe area I thought.If you are out Leslie way see how that wood structure down from the power boat club enclosure is ,if it is now at last under water or not,and also the rocks to the left of it.would take a little while for the water to get down that far I'd reckon.Good fishing.

Released 40 000 bass at Big W yesterday while it was flogging down.
    Called by Atkinsons Dam Van Park on the way home for a look around. They'd had 1 1/2 inches in the 24 hours upto 11.00am.
    Went for a drive around to see if there was any run in the creeks but nothing except dry gravel still.
    A bit more rain would have been good in the Lockey Valley with Atkinsons at 3%, Lake Dyer at 1% & Lake Clarendon empty.

Below pic is of the top of Atkinsons Dam, or rather Atkinsons Paddock!

Lake Dyer at 1 percent. Can actually drive a car right up the middle of the lake to the other end now. The water wouln't be more than a couple of feet deep.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Jack_Lives_Here

I did a western run last week and they had good rains out through Charleville / Cunnamulla down through Dirranbandi etc. I know Moonie area had 3.5" on Saturday morning. ALL the creeks in the area were running and most running over the road. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Fitzy,

Its been a while since I have been that way, as I fish Mooogerah and Maroon. But the question is have there been large fish kills with the water heating up and lack of oxygen. And is Aitkinson totally dry or is that just that part of the shot.

Ray

Quote Originally Posted by Remo
    Fitzy,

Its been a while since I have been that way, as I fish Mooogerah and Maroon. But the question is have there been large fish kills with the water heating up and lack of oxygen. And is Aitkinson totally dry or is that just that part of the shot.

Ray
    Am pretty sure there's been a couple of fish kills at Lake Dyer. Has had them in the past with alot more water than there currently is. I cant see anything other than dewfish, turtles & eels living in it right now. Could walk across it by the looks of it.
    Atkinsons (3%) still has a bit of water left down near the wall. Haven't got a recent pic from down there but the pic below is taken from where they've built a road thru the (where it used to be anyway) lake bed while they are rebuilding the bridge over the diversion channel. We get even a sprinkle of rain I'm on the dog n bone to see if they're getting any out there.

fitz..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Ray,
    To give a better perspective of the pics, I've stitched them together for a panorama shot. There is about a 10 degree gap but it gives you an idea. Bothe pics taken at almost the same spot about a week apart.

Fitzy..

Quote Originally Posted by JackLivesHere
    I did a western run last week and they had good rains out through Charleville / Cunnamulla down through Dirranbandi etc. I know Moonie area had 3.5" on Saturday morning. ALL the creeks in the area were running and most running over the road. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    That's great news. Think they're getting more rain out there again today. Even better news!

fitzy...

Jack,
    I Lived in Dirranbandi for all of my childood till I was 17, Went to school there just to fill in the time between weekends and holidays so I could go fishing and shooting.
    Caught a lot of fish in those days but that was about thirty odd years ago, in other words the good old days. (Well before COTTON )
    So many fond memories of weekends spent fishing, rabbit trapping and shooting, living on what you caught.
    No vandalism just good clean healthy outdoor fun.
    I just wish my 13 yo son could experience the same freedom as I did. These days you are not game to let them out of your sight with all the funny ones about Kev

there was only about 200mm vertical rise in leslie dam as far as the levels go i havent been out there for about 6mths

Gorilla_in_Manila

Anyone seen Pindari lately?
    Here's a pic of it in April this year. Think someone said it was 11%. Only been there twice and the previous time is was at the high water mark shown which looked to be about 60 vertical feet higher than what it was in April.