Teemburra tips needed.

Thread: Teemburra tips needed.

Brett_Hoskin

Teemburra tips needed.

Went to Teemburra yesterday trolled a bit but mainly chucked lures at the trees and timber. Didn't have all that much luk.
    Got 1 Barra between 50 and 60 cm (released in water).

I have done a bit of BArra fishing in creeks but very little in Dams. Do fishing styles change with freshwater and deep water. It is a bit hard to get used to fishing 15 ft off the shore and the sounder says its 50 ft deep.

Do poppers work well around the timber.

Migh go up tere again this coming weekend so any tips would be great.

Ausfish Platinum Member jimbamb's Avatar

Re: Teemburra tips needed.

Gday Brett,
    The bride and I had some success in teemburra early in the year.The locals said ya can't catch them trolling but we got 6 in 2 days by trolling.we had the most success down toward the wall on the western side.br trolling in and our the inlets.most hits were about 1/3 the way in in about 4.5M water We were using lures that were running about 3 to 4 metres.maybee this will help.

DRJ

Hi Brett

If you are in the Mackay area and I suspect you are based on some fo the posts you have made, members of the Mackay Area Fish Stocking Association will be at Northside Fishing this Saturday morning from 9am until 10 am (have a raffle going for $1200 worth of fishing gear and a charter for 2 with Seaforth Fishing Charters). I am sure the boys will be more than happy to give you some hints and tips.
    Regards Darren

Brett_Hoskin

Thanks Darren,
    That's a good idea. Work permitting, I will try to get over there.

Brett_Finger

that's the go "Long Tall" get involved in the stocking assocation,this way you can be active in the well being of impoundments,it,as you know "in your own intrest" fish for the future is what's it's all about.
    Hookin,TBF

DRJ

Hi Brett

Didn't catch up with you on Sat - you must of had that dreaded work disease. Change of venue for this Sat. We are selling tickets in a new raffle ($350 of Reidy's lures - thanks Reidy and a plano 757 tackle box - thanks Fishing World Mackay). The boys will be out the front of Fishing World this Sat morning and maybe sunday as well.

Went to Teemburra late yesterday - the fish are going off. Many unstoppables in the trees and plenty to be found on the troll. Some were having success on brown or yellow little lucifers and others were having success on soft plastics and yet others were having success on bombers.

The end of the ramp is now nearly out of the water so be very carefull launching the boat and watch out for new islands etc.

Brett_Hoskin

Will get over there tomorrow morning to get a ticket or 3.

Work is all I have been doing...getting sick of it..I think I need a holiday.

Might try nto get up there to the dam this weekend, I was going to try Seaforth but the fresh may have upset things a bit???Never fished there before.

ANyway moght catch up with you tomorrow Darren.

Brett_Hoskin

Its Saturday.
    I went and got some tickets in the raffle went home and had some lunch, and then went up to Teemburrs.

Dragged lures around that damned place and threw lures and jigged plastics and rubbers and got rained on, brushed up against a tree an took onboard 5million spiders, and I have to tell you that every Bloody Barra in that Dam is safe.
    Didn't catch a bloody thing.

Lost 3 lures to deep snags.

Sod the dam going to the briney tomorrow.

Neil_c

Don't troll so deep

Brett_Hoskin

Patience is runningout.. Was going to Faust today but got delayed so Teemburra it was. 8 full hours of trolling and chucking lures and not a hint of a fish.....Think I will stick to the salt....I always get something in the salt..

As least I didn't loose any lures this time because I trolled shallow..

Neil_c

Working with 80-100mm Koolabungs and trolling in 3-4 metres has been good to me. Try B-52's after dark in the same water.

Stick with it mate, they're in here

Just got back home from holiday in Mackay. Went to Teemburra twice, we landed 7 fish and would have droped another 10 or so. Only lost 1 lure (soft plastic shad) the smallest barra landed was 70cm and the largest was 95cm. We trolled soft plastics till it got to sundown than switched to hard bodied lures with rattles in them. Both nights the quality fish came on the bite at about 8pm. Hope this helps.

Jay.

DRJ

Good to see the visitors can get the bigger ones. Some of us locals find enough of them just the smaller versions in the 650 to 800 range.

Glad you enjoyed yourself Jay.

Brett - have had a couple of late sessions as Jay has discussed and have found fish. In fact managed to connect to a couple of monsters trolling in 45ft of water with a 3 meter lure on - didn't stay connected - drats.

Darren, Brownie will be at Teemburra tomorow, (Thurs) with Froomy from the Cool Palms. Apparently the Barra have been going off!! Froomys done well up in the sticks just past the old homested.
    Brownie would love to see you again for a catch-up and bulls**t session.

Bloody shallow in a few areas now I believe?

Left a message on the Teemburra forum for you too.

Regards, Randall.

Is there a Teemburra formum out there?