Thread: Teemburra tips needed.

Re: Teemburra tips needed.

Manson...check out thier site....relatively unknown, but has great potential for southern visitors to ask questions and plan a trip.

Spent a few days up there late last year with Darren from MAFSA. He put us onto fish and was kind enough to allow us to film the Hatchery and the fishing action for our new Big Barra DVD due to be released in a few months.

Darren is one of the good guys who gives a fair slice of his time to the stocking program up there. These are the best guys to get in contact with if you are visiting the dam for the first time. There a friendly bunch and will always give you the straight dope on the fishing!!

Randall.

Heres the website: http://www.mafsa.com/forum/default.asp

hi Randall
    How the dam barra video going. ??? ???
    Might take young will up to teemburra come easter. Met neil.c at faust,top bloke.Sure to put us onto some fish.Go the Koolabungs.
    regards george.

Howdy George, video is going well. Heaps of editing to do but am enjoying the long and painful experience. We have some excellent footage, and btw....theres some there of you and young William with a small Barra on a fizzer!!!

Could have used some of your Novacaine a few weeks back. Got a nasty treble in my thumb and had to do some surgery for 20 minutes to get it out!! OUCH!!! Did you know these wounds go numb after the first 10 minutes of pushing, pulling, slicing?? Bugger me it hurt!!

Stay safe buddy and say hello to the young fella for me.

Randall.

Thanks for the site info Randall. I have been fishing it for two years now, every second (sometimes every) weekend over summer. The boys at MAFSA do a great job to I might add. When this video is done mate you will have to let me know where I can get my hands on one, Barra fishing DVDs of that type of fishing are hard to come by.

Brett_Hoskin

Thanks Jay,

I came home with a full head of steam having been unsuccessful and that I knew I would have had a good day in the salt. I will have to give it another crack after work one day and have a good shot in the dark.

Did you eat any of the fish from the dam?

Glad you enjoyed your holiday up here

Quote Originally Posted by Tally
    Just got back home from holiday in Mackay. Went to Teemburra twice, we landed 7 fish and would have droped another 10 or so. Only lost 1 lure (soft plastic shad) the smallest barra landed was 70cm and the largest was 95cm. We trolled soft plastics till it got to sundown than switched to hard bodied lures with rattles in them. Both nights the quality fish came on the bite at about 8pm. Hope this helps.

Jay.

Brett_Hoskin

Thanks Darren
    I will give it another go, I don't like to give up without a result. I wwas up there several weeks ago and it poured raining and I found shelter in the boat in the old stables. The top rail was 6 inches below the water lavel at the time.

Any way might see you up there one day or when you come around to drop of the raffle prize I am going to win

\Brett
    Quote Originally Posted by DRJ
    Good to see the visitors can get the bigger ones. Some of us locals find enough of them just the smaller versions in the 650 to 800 range.

Glad you enjoyed yourself Jay.

Brett - have had a couple of late sessions as Jay has discussed and have found fish. In fact managed to connect to a couple of monsters trolling in 45ft of water with a 3 meter lure on - didn't stay connected - drats.

Neil_c

Darren does a heap of work for MAFSA, that is just the kind of fella he is.

The web site is in it's early days with more stuff to be added, that's if Darren stops fishn for a day and puts the info in it A big thanks to Robbo from the Faust mob for setting the page up for us [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

Darren and I have just spent 3 days a Eungella Dam having a blast on Sooties and I'm sure that when his typing finger recovers he will add something here as well

I am trying to fit in as much Teemburra and Eungella as I can coz from late Feb I'll be spending the rest of 2004 in NZ, I sure will miss them but they'll still be there when we get back

Brett - let me know when you might be going to Teemburra again and I'll see if we can get there as well. It bugs me to think that someone is missing out up there.

I have only managed to get little girly trout flys stuck in me and don't look forward to getting a treble, it's all crushed barbs for me.

oh George

Darren is holding the best Sooty from our last trip to Eungella. It is his 4th fish of 500mm. He got blown away by and absolute monster - next time Darren

Brett_Hoskin

Thanks Neil,
    Trips to the dam always seem to be a last minute decision, why? dunno.
    Does the recent weather impact on fish in the dam. I think that it is possible that te fish may be more active with run off etc. Some people I talk to say the fish go off the bite because the water temp drops.
    The mystery of fishing .........

Neil_c

hopefully these storms will drop some rain instead of just making noise and we can find out.

Brett, we didn't take any barra. All were released after a picture.
    Didn't really need to take any barra for the table as while I was up there I was spolit rotten eating coral trout and other reefies.

Neil, I hope you blokes get some rain there soon, the level of the dam is very low it is amazing to see the boat ramp which is probably over 70 metres long doesn't even make it to the water anymore.
    But before it rains all you barra fishermen should get out there and mark all those beautifull snags currently above the water line on your gps.

Jay.

Neil_c

We got a little bit of a dribble from that inland low and Teemburra came up about six inches. We went for a fish Sunday arvo and found the Barra very slow going. The water temps have dropped a couple of degrees and this seems to have put em off. Has anyone else found this??

We landed one on surface fly and my wife dropped one on a bomber fly. Trolling which has been reliable produced zip with no hits at all

Oh well it will be better next time

The young fella and I hit the water early and trolled for about an hour with no result Sunday morning. So we decided to chuck some plastic at the sticks. Got five hits with only one landed (53cm barra). All in around half an hour just as the sun came up. Then they shut down. We were off the water by
    7-15am.

Staggy