Thread: redclaw

gruntahunter

redclaw

Gday guys..Myself and a couple of guys from my work are going to give the fresh scene a start as we have never done it....we are going in the 1st week of april so can anyone pleases give me a helping hand.....we would love to get a feed of redclaw firstly and any type of fresh water fish secondly.. even eels.

We"re from brissy so where could we go to try, and have a reasonable chance of success. I,m really keen to get A fish on my plastics, but finding this difficult in the salty stuff.

I reckon 1 good trip in the fresh and I probably would be converted as so many salties are being.

Okay, any help offered is greaty appreciated. Thanks

Re: redclaw

Not sure about the dams down that way but for redclaw just use a few traps with some red meat or any type of meat for that matter and you should get some. If your looking for a better hookup rate then in the salt then i doubt you will achieve that by fishing dams. Up here we fish any fresh water streams and creeks with SP's and small hardbodies. Down there id target rivers which run into which ever dam you are going to. Either wade along or walk along the edges and you should find heaps of fish when you start to learn where they hide. When we fish streams up here we often average a hit every second cast and hookup every 3rd, you just need to figure out where they hide. Im not sure about bass or any southern fish down there but we cast in under trees and anywhere where its dark or where any trees drop fruit into the water and bang thats where they are. Weve tried dams a few times without success at all but if your looking to use your boat then the dam is the only way.

Commodore

Hi Gruntahunta,
    I am also in brissy and me and the boys are also heading west early april. Where are you intending to go, how long for etc... should be able to give you a few tips.
    last couple of trips we have been on we have caught ample crays for bait and for dinner, a chilli plum goes very well, also managed to get some nice yellow belly and the odd cod.
    Plenty of places to fish for carp and or catties (eel tail, not bad eating either).
    Never turn from the salt, work them both, fresh fishing i found can be frustrating at times and thats why we invented BUNDY!

gruntahunter

hey Commodore...Where would you suggest we go and I,ll be there mate...would love to meet up and learn and share the odd rumbo or 3.
    If you prefer you can personel post me.

Commodore

We are speaking the saame sppeakss , nothing better than bobing on the banks with a cold bundy and coke to keep the flys away