Awoonga VS Monduran!!

Thread: Awoonga VS Monduran!!

Awoonga VS Monduran!!

Gday aus fishers!!

Just wanting to know which lake seems to be the better to fish!! As for barra im talking.....and how far is it away from Monduran Dam??? Size seems to be the go for Awoonga and more heavily stocked with Barra!! Any opinions on this one??

Ausfish Platinum Member jimbamb's Avatar

Re: Awoonga VS Monduran!!

Bazza
    They are fairly different dams I suggest ya have a look at both.Awonga is fairly open Monduran has dozens of inlets and lots of timber.

Bazza,

As far as barra are concerned Awoonga is by far the better dam more fish stocked in there compared to Monduran and plenty of bays with sticks along with some great creeks to fish in stay out of the main bowl of the dam will get far more fish in amongst the timbers will be up there myself the weekend of the 14th and 15th of Feb last trip up there a month a go a couple of mates of mine landed a couple of good fish. If you want to experience real Barra fishing go to Faust dam near proserpine my favourite spot of them all don't troll though get in amongst the timbers and get into some real unarmed combat real heart in the mouth stuff, hope you have a gret time and get a few fish.

BOMBER

Hey Bomber.. good to see ur still lurking i might have to drop in at Monduran on my way back from Bundy if the weather and my boat is kind..

also might be going upto Faust next month, will have to work out the details more with Vertico.. im keen to battle a barra..

Well boys i made the decision to go to Faust just after i posted this....I cant wait will be fishing it saturday arvo you little beauty!! Tell me of your experiences there bomber!!

Bazzaman,

You will catch a mullion trolling but find this pretty boring if you troll near the buoy line at the wall at faust along with everyone else you will catch a Barra of all sizes saw quite a few meterys come out of this area around the comp time last year.

This to me though is a little boringg though, if you want a real experience head straight from the boat ramp to the timbers find the old creek beds and fish the edges in around 1 to 2 meters of water and hang on we were getting smashed more often than not useing 50 lb Bionic the lures I love to use for impoundment Barra and now use exclusively are Lively lures Arafuras in Bleeding mullet and also the Gold with the red stripe. Make sure you take plenty with you though I also use a 70 lb 10 x leader and make sure your taking good quality gear particularly if you are fishing the sticks if your trolling you can get away with most gear even saww a metery landed on a $40.00 combo trolling.
    But be prepared to lose a few before boating one hope you have a good time, if in doubt go and talk to Lindsay or Jason at Prossie bait and Tackle very helpful guys who love to see and hear about people catching Barra in their local dam.

THE BOMBER

Bazzaman, I have 5 words for you mate.....WHAT THE F--K WAS THAT!!!!!

Knock yourself out mate. Do what Bomber said and I can just about garauntee you will get BIG BARRA. Be prepaired to lose lures.

Randall.

Men!!!!!!!!

You re just making me wanna leave right this second maybe i will!!! HAHAHA......Is a week long enough for this great dam!! I just cant wait to get amongst the timbers and hold on for dear life.....Yeah have some good gear to take takin some back up rods too just in case!!....Thanks for the great info it helps i appreciate it....Nice fish randall.....Do they encourage you to eat ANY of these fish as id like to take one for the camp for dinner and one for home....You reckon thats all right the rest will be catch and release...Good Fun .....You guys have done well to fire me up even more than what i was!!

Cheers and thanks

By the way any red claw at prossy at all?? Wouldnt mind a few!!

Brett_Finger

Bazza,
    yep good redclaw mate,last time i was there anyway.
    Hookin,Brett

Beauty Brett thanks for that mate!! Wouldnt mind a feed of em.....Whats the limit not that im gunna take the limit just thought there would be some sorta limit!!

any redclaw in monduran??

Brett_Finger

Quote Originally Posted by bazzaman
    By the way any red claw at prossy at all?? Wouldnt mind a few!!
    Baz,
    we had a big feed up there last time,as i have stated.
    the guy that cooked them had a sauce to dip then in "wasabi" i think it was called,bloody beautyful!!!!

Bigfish,
    'not to my knolage mate.
    Hookin,Brett

Wasbi Brett wouldnt that be called BLOODY HOT!!! Takin a sweet chilli sauce for them.....should be nice!! Cant wait leavin midnite tonight! Ill eat a few for ya! thanks for the info! Be fishing morrow arvo......Ill post a report when i get back!!

Bazza, ill probably be lurking around Monduran!!

p.s. look for the black and silver pajero with a saggy ass from so much fishing tackle in the back