Jungle Perch

Thread: Jungle Perch

Barrymundi

Jungle Perch

My good fishing mate and I went for a short stroll today, walked for about 5 hours, chasing Jungle Perch at Keel Bottom Creek

I caught 2 that were, lets says, too small to show up in the camera.

Gary caught 5 and here is a picture of one.

We could only raise one fish per pool, the fish were very flighty.

Heaps and heaps of fingerlings around, should be a lot better in the next couple of years. Two years of drought has really taken its toll on the freshwater fish.

Al

cHiCo

Re: Jungle Perch

what lures were you chucking at them? Cheers

Barrymundi

I was using a lure from the markets on the gold coast, gary was using another no brand.

They hit straight away on the small lures

Ausfish Gold Member

Were they glowing in the dark? [smiley=sick2.gif]

Queensland, Australia - A small creek near the Minatome uranium stockpile at Ben Lomond in Northern Queensland showed radiation at twice the acceptable level during heavy rain in February 1981 according to State water Quality Council tests. State water officials said yesterday that the leak occurred when a cement cover cracked during extremely heavy rain. Tests taken on 17th February showed unacceptable radiation levels in Keel Bottom Creek a tributary of the Burdekin River which feeds the Charters Towers town water supply. ("The Age", 20/5/1981)

Sounds fun, me and fishing mate went exploring out abagowrie way today and found a river that was chockers full of sootys and jp. The average sooty was about 35cm and average jp was about the same id say. There were even small tarpon smashing our lures all over the place. We were going to head out to kell bottom today to try it out but decided against it. Deffinetly beats fishing down south, sadly ill be back down there in a few days.

I wonder if you've got the Creek Name right? (Not that it is unusual to use a false name when talking about pet Jungle Perch Creeks!!) Keel Bottom Ck - i.e. on Hervey's Range behind Townsville has sooties but no JPs as it is a tributary of the Burdekin and flows inland and over the Burdekin Falls Dam, George Weir and Clare Weir before it gets to the coast - JPs being estuarine breeders have no chance of getting to it. Looking at the granite in the background of your photo I'g guess your at one of the coastal creeks to the north of Townsville - would that be right?

Regards - Jim
    'Stick to fishing instead of fighting' - JC

Barrymundi

Pretty sure it was Keel Bottom

Mad_Barry

So that's what you get up to when you've got a flash new boat and it's been blowing 30kn for the past few weeks, (or is that months ?).

Went waaaaaay up a big salty creek on friday with a mate lookin for a stretch of river out of the wind. We didn't find it. 2 of us, 6 odd hrs, final score : zilch, nil, nought, not even a touch, or a look.

It was funny seeing heaps of 6m + reef boats anchored up in the creeks fishing the snags

Barrymundi

We did think about the creek, but, 6 metre boats are hard to anchor side on.