Best lures for dam barra

Thread: Best lures for dam barra

scott_b

Best lures for dam barra

Going up to faust dam in oct ,just wanting to know your favorite lures for dam barra.
    Thanks wamjam

Re: Best lures for dam barra

Everyone has their favourites & there's stacks of lures that will catch fish there, no doubt about it.
    The first 5 that I know work at Faust are:
    Bomber
    Husky Jerk in 12 & 14cm
    LaserPro
    Arafura Barra in 13 & 15cm
    B52

Recon the lure that you will have most success on is the one you are using....... make some sense out of that.

Fitzy..

Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Other lures you might want to try are.

DK scale raiser (floats verry fast)
    Storm Deep Thunder (Slow float and bullet proof)
    RMG (fast float, but lots of noise)

scott_b

Thanks Fitzy and Andy. Andy looks like your right in the thick of impoundment barra fishing .
    Thanks again wamjam.

Hi Wamjam.
    Agree with the other blokes on lure choice.
    Wouldn't hert to have some of the original timber 100mm Koolabung bonies.
    Have a look at fish of a life time by swano in the freshwater photo's.Bonies with big barra at Faust.Did well on them last oct as well.
    Good luck with your choice.
    regards george.

Big_George, ive heard some real good stuff about those koolabungs, whose selling them now ? How can I get some ?

AK

G'day BC.
    re the Koolabungs.
    There's servo station that I cleaned out the other day.Ended up taking 150 of them off his hands.Collecters items now.May pass a few on for the right money. .
    Regards george.

Thanks BG, is it true that if I buy 5 or more koolabungs off you, i'm entitled to a complimentry BGL barra rod ? How long does this special offer last for ?

Andy

Hi BC.
    Not quite right.
    When you buy 5 rods i pass on 1 Koolabung bony. .
    BG

Halco RMG 125mm Scorpions with 4 Mtr bib.
    New molded Koolabungs are OK if its not to windy.
    Killalure River Rats.
    Peter Newell original Bonies must be OK as them big silver fish have 5 of mine.
    DK scale raiser fish love em. (but not Barra proof)

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

scott_b

Thanks fellas. Looks like I gotta order 5 rods to get hold of one of these Koolabungs.
    Thanks wamjam

Wamjam.
    Not that bad mate.
    Have about 70 left.Selling them for $15 each.remember,timber .not plastic.
    BG.

to me " rapara skitter pop " 1st choice

Ausfish Gold Member

So far we have

Bomber
    Husky Jerk in 12 & 14cm
    LaserPro
    Arafura Barra in 13 & 15cm
    B52
    DK scale raiser (floats verry fast)
    Storm Deep Thunder (Slow float and bullet proof)
    RMG (fast float, but lots of noise)
    Wood Koolabung
    Moulded Koolabungs
    Halco RMG 125mm Scorpions with 4 Mtr bib.
    Killalure River Rats.
    Peter Newell original Bonies
    rapara skitter pop

I think it might be easier to ask "is there anything they won't eat?".

They will generally eat anything that will fit in their mouth and a lot of time stuff which is even too big for them.....
    If hes hungry and its decent enuff in size he'll eat it ,and I aint talking about Brett Finger ..

PS take some bill bugs fizzers....by far the most fun way to catch them on lure.

Poony