PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Cressbrook on saturday
Headed out to cresbrook yesterday with me mate and scored a heap of small bass around 20 cm or so. Got some big(60cm) eel tail catties too. Best bass went 32 cm and they were biting best on live shrimps and worms didn't do too bad either. Beautiful day out on the water with plenty of fish to keep us entertained.
good to hear mate, if ya go out with live bait you will score heaps and heaps of small bass, rarely get any quality though. Bait could be worth a bit more of a go atm because the yellas are starting to appear again.
Went to cressbrook yesterday no luck with spinners or lures, but I'm new to dam so don't know any areas to target, heaps of fish showing up on the sounder sitting right on the bottom, also tried the down rigger but no takers. Had a great day out on the water. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Big-L: As far as lures go we have found that they are only keen on chasing pumpkin seed sliders around the edges, we spent a couple of hours throwing everything and they only took a liking to the pumpkins(and one took and ausspin spinnerbait in garfish, but he was a confused fish i swear ). We've been throwing them on 3/16 or 1/4 oz heads, as close to the weed as you dare.
Craigie: The last few trips have been really slow compared to what we usually get into, last trip only yeilded 7 bass between 2 anglers, this is a very slow arvo for cressbrook. But on returning to the ramp the reason was revealed as to why, the ranger informed us the dam had rolled over, turning the normally clear water to a slightly dirty colouration also bringing a lot weed and crap off the bottom.
I don't know if the other fella's fishing the dam noticed the differance in the water? it should be getting back to normal by now coz this was just over a week ago, and the hordes of little bass not take much to bounce back.
The big ones are in there, there is just a bit of water between them, something of interest to some might be that certain techquies consistantly pull better quailty fish.
Surface lures/flies for example often pull better then average fish, just look at the big bass for past years Cressbrook Classic(not sure about this years but I know that the 2 year previous had big bass taken out by and angler fishing surface offering) I have also watched my boss get smoked twice in two cast one afteroon by a couple of horse bass, far larger then the 40-46cm speicmens already encounted that evening...
Also suspending lures account for there fair share of big bass. I have found fly to be another way of extracting better quailty fish.
Bait-fishing and trolling hard bodies are the best way to get involed in the pre-school activities in my mind...