Ausfisho;s.
Plan to chase some sooties at faust and Teemburra this September on spinnerbaits.
Any one used spinner baits with success.???
If so. What brands/weight/blades and colours
regards george.
Ausfisho;s.
Plan to chase some sooties at faust and Teemburra this September on spinnerbaits.
Any one used spinner baits with success.???
If so. What brands/weight/blades and colours
regards george.
Hey Big Fella,
While I aint done Teemburra, I've done the odd spot of sooty casting with spinners. I prefer 1/2 - 5/8th Oz tandems in white most times. However talking to a mate whos done more sooty work than me, He swears by purple so figure that out.
I recon the most important thing is to put em in the right place at the right time. I think sootys are one agro fish, toughest & meanest native going IMHO. If you put something past em I dont think they can resist. Have been lucky enough to get onto a mob of em at times & I have seen them wise-up fairly quickly tho. Think they key is to change spinnerbaits or keep moving if you suspect this.
fitz..
Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au
big_george
saw a pic in a magazine of a sooty caught in one of those dams round Mackay it had a kakoda lumo spinnerbait hangin out its gob.
Kia Ora Big G
It's no secret which is my fav colour
One point I would like to make regarding Sootys and spinnerbaits is the little fellas belt em just as much as the bruisers and I would recommend flattening down the barb. Coz the hook rides upright it will do a fair bit of damage around the eye.
Don't be surprised if something big and silver sucks one in
Oy Nel
Ow's dee fushing mit.??.What brand was that SB you emailed so long ago.White n koolabung colour. A.
BG.
It was a Stanley Wedge mate eh.
The fishing here will pick up with the colder weather, I shouldn't have packed shorts ??? I haven't worn em yet
We've caught one and dropped a couple in last few days, early days tho
Have a good Easter and a safe drive.
did well late january on teemburra sooties best results on 3/8 oz tandem kokodas with the purple/black skirt
cheers les
Colour doesn't seem to matter much. As Fitzy said all you have to do is put it in their territory and they will have a swipe - that is until they wise up.
Had an experience on Sunday with some sooties (on fly not spinner bait) where there was a good school sitting under an overhanging tree and chewing on insects and berries falling in from the "gentle breeze" that was blowing - every decent gust there was at least 10+ swirls on the surface. I managed to land 4 and drop 3 before it went dead quiet - and I mean dead - not a flash, swirl, looker - nothing. This is just backing up Fitzy's comment about then moving on. It was fun while it lasted mind you with a hit on every cast for 7 in a row.
Thanks guys.
going to toss some spinner baits at the Burumba toga's.
happy easter every one .
Big george and family.
Hey George,
Tell Forrest Gump to bring one back for the new location we're stocking.
Have fun,
fitz..
Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au
Fitzy.
No worries mate..
i'm still in dubbo.Poor bugger thinks I'm gunna be there tomora morning. .Poly fumes i guess. .
Hope we get some.have a heep of Sb's.Do ya reckon the stinger hooks the go on them as well for the toga's ??
Regards george.
PS.Will call in and see ya MSM next week.Will have a whisper in Ben s ear as well.
G'day George,Originally Posted by big_george
Can't hurt to run a stinger for toga, I would be using them. Did you get some Siwash hooks yet?
Call in for sure, will have to ask for me at reception cause I'm in another building. Told Ben you'd be calling in for a chat.
fitzy..
Hi George,
Hows things?
It's been bloody windy here for over a month now, but you would have heard that.
Are you comming up for the World Sooty Championship this weekend? It's at Eungella on the 18th, April.
Did you hear about Voysey's recent boat adventures in darwin? Sounds like he is doing exploring the hard way.
Catch you later.
Andy.
Didn't here about George's adventure.Do tell.
Didn't fish the champion ships as the better half and kids wanted to do other stuff around Brissy.. .
How did you fair in the comp.??
What did you use.???
BG.
gold shad 1/2 ounce venoms worked well for a mate there recently.