4kg CatFish! -The Mother Of All Catfish- - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: 4kg CatFish! -The Mother Of All Catfish-

Re: 4kg CatFish! -The Mother Of All Catfish-

shaz mate great to see you didnt take the critism the wrong way ..i know a lot of young guys would get their backs up and tell everyone to p-ss off..encouraging to see a young guy willing to learn...
    i'm in nsw and absolutely hate set lines, droppers, springers,, whatever u want to call them,,and do my best to steer anyone i know who uses them away,even though they are legal,,nothing better then seeing that rod bend and fighting that big cod in,,then watching it swim away for another day...
    paz

Quote Originally Posted by Shazbanger
    Thankyou for righting my wrong and i will corect my self next time, Because i promise i never new 'setlines' wernt allowed and i wont use them again and by the way i thank U guys for telling me of for i have taken it all on bored thanks Guys!
    Your a great influence

-oh by the way could someone please remove that picture?-
    Good on you Shazbanger. You copped a bit of flack & took it in a good way. You'll go places mate.

Which picture did you want removed, the eel or the toga?

fitzy..

ps. settle folks
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

hi all,
    can someone tell me the difference between a set line and blokes fishing off of the beach with their rods in beachspikes while they are sitting on the ute waiting for a bite. what is the difference. while the fishing apparatus is different the method is the same- lines are left unattended. ??? ???

if i got a handline and threw it into the creek, river, surf stuck a stick through it and went and sat up on a sand dune/bank and waited as opposed to casting my line with rod and reel setting it up in a sand spike and sat on the bank.

well done shaz,
    you have learn't something. i hope you continue to enjoy your fishing. get a copy of the regs and study them and abide by them. you guy's are the future of our great sport.

to all you blokes who jumped down his throat - better him sitting on a creek bank trying to catch a fish than spraypainting the local supermarket, or knocking off your car while you are at the shopping centre

dazza

Set lines certainly aren't illegal in Qld. However many would argue that they should be. If the rules are adhered to ie lines are attended it shouldn't be a problem.
    Read rules from Qld DPI&F website.
    [hr]

Fishing gear restrictions

Fishing lines
    In freshwater areas, fish may only be caught using:

- a fishing line which is an apparatus consisting of a hand held line with or without a pole, reel or rod;
    - a trap, which can be a canister trap, collapsible trap, dilly trap, funnel trap or round trap;
    - a scoop or dip net; or
    - a set line.
    A person must not set a fishing line as a cross-line or use more than six fishing lines or set lines alone or in combination. Only one hook or an artificial fly or lure can be attached to a fishing line. Anyone using a set line should be no more than 200 metres from the line.

And

Marking traps, nets and set lines
    Anyone who uses a trap or set line for freshwater fishing, must have a tag on the trap or set line with the owner’s surname and address. If the trap is not fixed to something stationary above the water level while being used, it must have a light coloured float attached. The float must feature the owner’s first name and surname and be at least 15cm in each of its dimensions. A two- or three-litre milk container may be used as a float. A set line must be attached to a stationary object such as a branch, wooden stake or boat.

Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

PG

I reckon Shaz deserves a medal for keeping his cool after the hammering you guys gave him (undeserved too I might add). If he learnt anything out of all this I hope he learnt that there are a lot of people with very different opinions, some will offer their and some will try to shove it down your throat and back it up with mis-information.
    Shaz, enjoy your fishing mate !

Shazbanger.....your a truly remarkable young man mate!! Good reaction to the criticism you got. You are more than welcome in my boat anyday. We can go Toga hunting!!!!

(They taste OK if you run em through a mincer!!)

Randall.

Sportfish_5

Some of you X-spurts owe this young fella an apology

Dazza (and others),

I think there is a big difference between a 'set line' where you stick your rod in a holder, whether that be on the beach or from your boat, and wait for a bite - and the set line which is left out for hours or even overnight only to come back and check it.

Seems to me that we all do the former more or less regularly and to call that a 'set line' is stretching things a bit. To me the latter is cruel and unsporting and should be illegal, and it seems to me that it is from what Fitzy copied of the rules.

Anyway, I remember having alot of fun catching big eels in the Lane Cove river in Sydney in my younger days, usually on heavy handlines (but I was always close!).

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

well i think the two can be simaler
    how many of youz have seen a rod stuck on someones pontoon while they are inside watching tv or eating
    they only ever check the things once or twice aday
    now that is the same as setlineing!

but i agree that setlineing should be baned in all states it is something that is well and truly outdated and no longer needed
    BUT while it is still leagal then we really have no rights getting up someone for doing it
    it is abit like if i got up someone for smokeing in the street! it is leagal but i think that should be baned too

I won't apologise for being right.

Me neither, someone had to say something, specially if theres toga and god knows what else in his fishin hole (lucky lil bugger).
    Shazbanger did react very well though, very mature, youll make a great fisho. Look after that secret spot, youll miss it when all the fish are dead. MQ

Quote Originally Posted by Quinny69
    Shaz banger, Setlining is NOT ALLOWED, if any sportfisher with half a nut catches you youll cop it for sure. You dont want to be found out by the authoraties too boot, much worse. Have a read of the rules before you go fishing next, our native fish are not for"killin and grillin" and Setlines are only for Bumpkins that live further sth. Treat your self to some lures and a spin rod, MQ PS that fish is what every Setline deserves, A BIG SLIMY EEL

Looks like you need to check your rules before you shoot off at young fellas having fun. We were all young once. So long as he was within the right distance of his set line he wasn't doing anything wrong at all.

Ausfish New Member

SHAZ i would not take to much notice of a codcatcher from the clarence,
    where by the way it is illegal to target cod.

scott_b

Gday Shaz banger
    Mate welcome to the ausfish chat board hope to see lots of post in the future .
    wamjam

PS Hope all the perfect people who had a go at this bloke have never made any mistakes of their own .

yeh shaz dont worry about all these people who have nothing better to do than talk $H*T without knowing what theyre on about, but yeh that is an eel or when i first saw it thought maybe a lungfish.....