Thread: Connolly Dam: Warwick, QLD

Connolly Dam: Warwick, QLD

8) G'Day all!

Squiz and I spend a lot of time fishing Lake Cressbrook. [smiley=stupid.gif] Due to the issues well-documented on this site, [smiley=devil.gif] [smiley=angryfire.gif] we are looking for alternate venues. I have read and heard some good reports about Connolly Dam, ??? which is apparently situated near Warwick, on the opposite side to Glenlyon. I believe it is an electric-motor impoundment only ???, and there is no camping permitted. It is supposed to be very good yella territory. Can anyone tell me:
    1. Where is it exactly?
    2. Has anyone fished there recently?
    3. Are there any suggestions as to how to tackle the fishing there?

Folks, any advice you could offer us would be greatly appreciated! [smiley=help.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif]

Re: Connolly Dam: Warwick, QLD

Stupid is as stupid does!

Sorry folks
    Regarding my first post, I believe the other impoundment in question is Leslie Dam, not Glenlyon

My apologies

yeah just head towards stanthorpe after leaving warwick and there is a sign about 5-10km out thatsays connolly dam and follow the road about 15km and you will find it or pm me when you are comming over and i will show you

i am pretty sure that you have to be a member of the local fish stocking ass. to put an electric only boat on the water. and even those blokes are only allowed 1 or 2 sundays per month on the water.
    all of us who arn't in the fish stocking ass. have to fish from the bank. wich isn't really a big problem cause it is only pretty small.
    your other option is leslie about 10k west of warwick on the inglewood road. i have been doing a bit of fishen there lately but the fish arn't on the chew at the moment
    oh well thats why i got a bigger boat and am now heading down to the coast a bit.

cheers anyfish

yeah id agree wiht the stocking club thing, but thing is to be a member is only about $10 i think which is well worth it. im keen to try it out too some good green fellas in there too apparently! Gary is it a good time to come over for a fish one arvo yet?
    Luke

luke the weather is still a bit iffy cold oneday hot the next will leave a pm for you when they realy start to fire, i hope to get down there this week sometime after getting 1 already i'm pretty keen just gotta convince the missus that its the most important thing

yeah cheers mate i look forward to it, im sure youll do the right thing you know what your priorities are