Why no fish?

Thread: Why no fish?

Why no fish?

I spent Friday with a couple of mates fishing North Pine dam. One of the guys has recently got his permit has been four or five times and caught some really nice bass there.
    So I was all fired up for a great days fishing. Now not that I am complaining, it was a great day, and as we said maybe 40-50 times, "A bad days fishing beats" etc etc.
    We had live shrimp we used lures and soft plastics and everything else we could find in our tackle boxes and fished spots that had worked before and heaps of others, but could only manage 3 small jewies on shrimp.
    As I'm not complaining, but days off work with your leave pass stamped by her what must be obeyed aren't all that common.
    So I asking for advice from those of you in the know, where do you think we went wrong. Was it the fairly strong NE wind or the moon phase, we went on Fri the 23rd Sept or am I just jinxed and should sell up my gear and take lawn bowls.
    Any advice would be greatly apreciated.
    Cheers, Brad.

Re: Why no fish?

hi Brad
    For starters, don't knock lawn bowls
    My past 5 trips there have yielded one fish for me. Trolling's the only method that has worked at all!! And I hate trolling!! And I simply REFUSE to use bait for bass!!
    I think we need a good dose of rain.

Hey Mike.
    Not knocking bowls. Any sport that you can play with a beer that close at hand has heaps of appeal to me. Beats having to walk 6-8km (depending on how bad you are playing) like I do most saturdays before you can get one.
    So you don't reckon there is any pattern to it. We did look at the top few fish logging cards and there wasn't too much activity in the previous few days.
    I have an uncle who swears it a waste of time to fish on a whaning? moon (pardon the spelling). I thought some of the guys in the know might have had some thoughts on this.
    Anyhow thanks for the reply.
    Cheers, Brad.

G'day Brad,

I too have succeeded only with the trolling method using deep diving lures to follow along the edges of the old river bed and around the deeper holes. A few brands to try are Vipers, Voodoos, and Ultra Deep Boomerangs trolled very slowly. Purple, Brown, Red&Green, and Black&White colours have all worked for me.

The blokes who get out there every week seem to do best by anchoring up beside timber or the deeper weed beds and using locally trapped live shrimp.

A couple of guys also did okay a few weeks back by throwing lipless crankbaits along the bank of the southern perimeter.

The good thing about trolling at Samsonvale is that while you might have a few fruitless outings, when you do get them, they are usually big buggers.

Hi Brad and meoldchina
    Didn't mean to sound cranky in that earlier post. And while I don't like trolling, that lake's a great place to be.
    Just from checking out the catch cards it seems to me that most good results have been achieved by early starters. That doesn't necessarily mean they caught them early - it might mean that the early start gave them more time in the right places, given the leisurely pace of electric outboards. Who knows?
    I've never had the chance to start earlier than about 8.30 so far.
    I fished there back in late July and the water was so clear I could easily see the bottom in 4 m of water. I saw a couple of shoals of Tilapia, some of them quite large, and threw several lures at them, including soft plastics, with no result. Thankfully it's not as clear there now.
    I'd love to see the level rise about 8 ft and soon!
    Might see you out there some time - permit no. 9.

Hey MikeC and meoldchina.
    Sounds like I just need to keep trying. I'm thinking I need to find a small tinny to chuck the electric on and get myself a permit as well.
    I did a quick bit of math and considering what it cost me to go to Sommerset and how close I am to North Pine it might not be too bad an idea.
    Don't tell my wife though. My new (second hand) boat is down the side of the house, the old one is in the front yard with a for sale sign on it. I think I would might have a problem convincing her of the benifits of a third boat no matter what size just at the moment.
    However I will keep an eye out for you if I can wrangle a spot on the mates boat in the mean time. I still want to hook onto one of these 500 plus beasties I hear about. Caught a 360 off the bank in the Caboolture river on the way home from work yesterday arvo. Good to see the fruits of the restocking program out there too.
    Thanks for the info.
    Cheers, Brad.